We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite Hotel in Nicaragua” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Padrino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Padrino Hotel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Favourite Hotel in Nicaragua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Prime location right in the heart if everything. Walking distance to all the attractions and best restaurants. Wonderful rooms with open glass doors, friendly staff, wifi, and the cutest puppy ever spot. Can't say enough about this place. For the price you can't beat it. It's a mini oasis in Granada

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJNiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    31
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
79
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

To sum up deserted hotel, reasonably nice rooms and an owner that was high on something.

We got to the hotel and there was no one there but the cleaning lady. We stayed in the back room no5 which was nice but very warm. rooms were spotless.

The owner a young British guy seemed to be high on something the two times we met him and we found him asleep in a blanket on the sofa in reception one morning.

Strange hotel, didn't feel that secure there, the rooms were nice and the atmosphere was laid back to the extreme.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanDonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Il Padrino Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I am Stephen Crickmar, Toby's father whom you would have met as the owner. I am undergoing cancer treatment in the UK and have left Toby in charge.
Toby gets very anxious when I am undergoing treatment and some tines drinks a little too much as a result. I will be back shortly.
I am sorry your stay was not as good as it should have been and, should you happen to be back, we shall try and make it up to you. Normally people like staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by a very friendly lady (I think her name was Gaby), she was very helpful.
The rooms are nice and clean but have a few shortcomings. First of all the shower was wetting the entire bathroom. Secondly, the (glasswindow-)door is blocked by the luxaflex. Thirdly, the wifi doesn't reach the rooms. Finally, we met the owner twice when he was stoned or had a hangover (or both). We tried to ask him any information about things to do in Granada. He seemed ignorant.
Anyway, we had a good stay and the room was fine, but not worth 5 stars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C, Owner at Il Padrino Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
I am Stephen Crickmar, Toby's father whom you would have met as the owner. I am undergoing cancer treatment in the UK and have left Toby in charge.
Toby gets very anxious when I am undergoing treatment and some tines drinks a little too much as a result. I will be back shortly.
I am sorry your stay was not as good as it should have been and, should you happen to be back, we shall try and make it up to you. Normally people like staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The owner makes it worth staying here! Made me feel like I was at home, not pushy, really mellow! the little puppy there was definitely a bonus, who doesn't love playing with puppies?! Rooms were BIG and was able to arrange through the hotel an amazing massage and I would definitely recommend for you to indulge in this service while you are there! Great location as well. Will remember this place for a long long time!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kboyl6901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and must say I was reluctant to leave.
Firstly, it is quietly located but withing very easy walking distance of lots of the best cafes, restaurants bars in Granada.
Secondly, the owner was a really great source of local advice!
As I was on this occasion travelling alone that was very important to me.
It has a real homely feel but I whenever I wanted privacy I was left alone.
Rooms were spotless, wifi, Cable TV and the a kitchen at this price was great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

So this place was about as good as it gets for under $40 a night in Granada. The room was big and clean and the bed was comfortable .. these are the best things it has going for it.
The bathroom is spacious but the shower is absolute rubbish. When I mentioned (twice) how this could be fixed (easily) there was no attempt to rectify.
There is great art and furniture everywhere here, all done by Toby, the guy running the place. The wifi does not reach the rooms so you must sit in the common area to use the internet. The common areas though are lifeless and there is no vibe at all. The guest kitchen is unusable due to the amount of mosquitos but Toby was great about letting us use his kitchen and fridge.
The mosquitos are an absolute nightmare in the entire hotel but especially near and in the rooms.
There is a lovely sweet dog here named Spot who will melt your heart and a lazy cat who sleeps all day and lives the life we can only dream of. They both add to the homely feel here but as with all else here they need more love and attention.
This place was once a gem, I am sure of it, and it can be again(!) but Toby seems disinterested and so the vibe of the place is heavy. He is a really sweet guy, I hope that he can find a way back to putting his heart into this place because it truly could be the best place in Granada with a little love and attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harquer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This clean, nicely appointed boutique hotel seems to be flying under the radar when it comes to Granada hotels, which is good if you like low-key --- which I do! Il Padrino is just a half block north of Convento San Francisco and around the corner from the more expensive Hotel San Francisco. It's ideally placed for convenience,being close enough to the main tourist street (3.5 blocks) yet far enough away to be out of the tourist stream. The rooms have fantastic king-size beds and private, tile baths with piped hot water (not the hazardous electrical gizmos usually found here). Though the rooms don't have air conditioning, they have modern ceiling fans with high-speed motors capable of generating real wind (fine for the hi season climate. Always spotless, the people who run Il Padrino are wonderfully hip & easygoing, so as cliche as it sounds, one really can feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#17 of 43 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Padrino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Padrino Hotel

Property: Il Padrino Hotel
Address: Calle Miguel Cervantes | 1.5 blocks North from San Francisco Church, in front of Sports Gym, Granada 10000, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel la Mesa del Padrino)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel, in the centre of Granada, close to the main entertainment area in a very secure part of town. The rooms are located at the back of the building overlooking a tropical garden (an ongoing project). The hotel is across the street of a fitness centre, free for our guests. Nearly all Granada's main attractions are within easy walking distance. We can arrange transport to and from the hotel from anywhere in Nicaragua at very reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Il Padrino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing