We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kayaking las isletas”
Review of NicarAgua Dulce

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
NicarAgua Dulce
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Awarded for Tourism Excellence by Nicaraguayan Tourism Institute. This local Tour Operator offers beautiful off-the-beathen paths Day trips & Overnight stays at Zopango private Island and owns an ecological fleet of Electric-powered silent boats & also Sit-on-top Kayaks. It specializes on Birdwatching trips but also offer options for families, couples, students groups & team building events. It operates daily in the Asese Bay archipelago, Granada, Lake Nicaragua.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kayaking las isletas”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really wanted to get over to Ometepe, but this trip was going to be too short. Next time! So we went to the corner of the main square and rented a couple of sit on top kayaks to get us out on the water. They gave us a good price, threw in a taxi to take us to the marina, and then PFD's and sunhats too. Very pretty, self guided paddle for about 3 hours, lot of birds and feet dangle in the cooling lake. Boats were super basic but just what you need for a leisurely paddle, plus, you'd have to try pretty hard to sink a sit on top. The onshore breeze at the end of the afternoon basically blew us all the way home!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieAvignon, Propietario at NicarAgua Dulce, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Cheers Sam! Saludos de NicarAgua Dulce :-)
Next time come & stay at our beautiful island Zopango!
Have a nice day.
Flavia Bersani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cashew and kayaks in Paradise”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If the Mombacho volcano is the Mouth of Hell, then Zopango Island is the gateway to Heaven in Nicaragua. The owners of the island and of NicarAgua Dulce made us feel completely pampered and at home on one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. And then there was Cashew the monkey - who created a day for my 13-year-old son that he will remember for the rest of his life. Kayaking there was wonderful and our guide Connie pointed out dozens of different birds and beautiful sights. And the island itself...you have to see it to believe it actually exists as the pictures can't begin to do it justice. Plus, the owners and staff there were delightful and I learned so much about the area from them. This adventure would be my number one recommendation from all of the amazing things we got to do in Nicaragua.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicaraguadulce, Owner at NicarAgua Dulce, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for the post Melanie!
We hope to see you again someday, in fact i might visit Madison again in the future on my way to Montana and Wyoming :-)
Take care.
Cheers from the tropics!
Cashew says hi too :-)

Flavia & Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful day on Zopango Island!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I spent an amazing day on the private island of Zopango. The owners of the island, who also own NicarAgua Dulce, picked us up at our hotel, drove us to the boat, and transported us to the island, all the while pointing out birds, sharing local history. The island is the most peaceful place we have ever been. We were treated to a delicious lunch of just caught fish and fresh fruit. We relaxed, bird watched, wandered, and had great conversations with the owners. Kayaks are available but we chose to simply relax and enjoy being there. The day flew by. We can't wait for a return visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia-Bersani, Owner at NicarAgua Dulce, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Karen & Paul, thank you for taking the time to post :-)

It was nice meeting you and we all hope to see you again some day!

Cashew is looking forward to it too jaja.

Best regards & Take care,

The Bersani's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Kayak, yes! NicarAgua Dulce, no!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The kayaking experience in Las Isletas is outstanding and was one of the highlights of our trip. I would recommend finding another outfitter, however. Here was our experience...

At NicarAgua Dulce e said we would like to take kayaks out for a couple hours. The staff was friendly and recommended a route we could do in that time. On a map they showed us a spot we could stop for a swim and a place we could go for lunch. We paid $40 for two kayaks and paddled away.

We had a great paddle and followed the staff's exact itinerary. We lost track of time, and the 2 hour trip they recommended actually took 3.5 hours. (To do this trip in two hours, one could not stop at the recommended places and paddling would have to be at a race pace.) When we returned, we were asked to pay an extra $40! They wanted a total of $80 for two kayaks for 3.5 hours... to put this in perspective, we rented much nicer kayaks for a full day on Ometepe for $15 each/$30 total.

We tried to negotiate something more fair, but they would not budge. Having already paid $40, not being able to reach an agreement, and being unwilling to pay the extra $40 they demanded, we walked away. When we returned to our B&B the owner was there waiting for us! Her communication with her staff was not so good... she was under the impression that we had paid nothing. When she called to confirm that we paid $40, she seemed a bit embarrassed at the scene she had made. I offered to split the difference and pay $20 more. She then refused to take this money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dguikema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia-Bersani, Owner at NicarAgua Dulce, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Kema,

This is the first issue (and last one we hope because we'll act for that) that we have with clients.

But this issue is making me sad cause it comes from a misunderstanding and especially a bad will from your side.

I know very well my team as i am the one in charge of coaching them so as to receive and give advice to our clients in the most clearly, nice and professional way.

So i perfectly trust them and i know that what they say to clients is right when they are asked by them what can be done in for example 2 hours of kayak RENTAL (without guide and with a detailed map of the Bay).

THERE CANNOT BE an ''EXACT ITINERARY'' to follow with a rental, this is impossible.

We always say that you, the client, MIGHT go close to this or that place in the 2 hours, DEPENDING of you, your speed & your interests :-)
We don't know the client, so when they ask us where they can go in two hours (for example), we reply with an approximate, and not an exact trip to follow because we know it's not possible as they go on their own.

WE ACT LIKE ANY OTHER RENTAL COMPANY such as car, bike, surf rental etc.

Then, when and if the client comes back after the return time that had been agreed and paid for, he/she will be charged for the extra time done. Perfectly normal.

As you say it in your comment Kema, you ''lost track of time''.
What we understand can happen, and we never charge for the possible extra half an hour :-)

But your case is way different. As you say it in your comment ''you took 3.5 hours instead of 2 hours''.
So then you should had perfectly agree to pay extra money for the (big) extra time you did.

And any of the rental companies wherever they are in the world will accept wrong excuses and bad will like yours.
They will just charge you the extra time you've done. Final point.

But what i, Flavia, did, was a nice action to you.
I am of good will and so i came personally to your hotel that day to see the issue directly with you and try to understand better.

At the end of the conversation, i acted in your favor, I decided not to make you pay the extra fee. And this is an important note that you're not acknowledging here and it really is a pity.

This extra fee you should had pay us legitimately there at the office of the harbor before you left, arguing out loud and almost running away with a taxi, another Rental company would had make you pay for it!

To end this reply to you, my words of conclusion will be a reply to your title's words:

''Clients are the Kings, YES!'' (we like caring for them and it's normal), ''Dishonest clients and clients of bad will, NO!'' (why should they be?? where is the point for them? Save money at all means? It’s mean, that’s all and that’s very sad)

Regards,
Owners & Managing team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
“A little piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A very beautiful place, with a good welcome (in many languages!).
You can just rest for a moment or go for a visit of the lake with kayak or boat and discover the birds.
I think it is one of the most peaceful places I ever went!

If you have the good idea / chance, to visit Nicaragua, I really recommand you to go to Granada and take a moment to visit Zopango Island and the lake.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flavia-Bersani, Owner at NicarAgua Dulce, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Google Translation
Hello Julia, Bonjour!

Merci pour votre commentaire sympathique, ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir sur notre île Zopango.
Cashew guette votre retour :-)

Passez le bonjour a Paris et a Menilmontant pour nous :-)

Bonne semaine a vous et a la prochaine!

Tropicalement,

Les Bersani & Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NicarAgua Dulce also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to NicarAgua Dulce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing