We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly and Affordable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse El Carmen
Ranked #38 of 67 Granada B&B and Inns
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Friendly and Affordable”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a nicely done Hostal. The rooms are spacious, clean and airy, tucked in the back of a beautiful garden. I enjoyed the quiet and the calm of my stay. There is a nice bar in the front of the old sala where you can chat with other guests or Arnold and Donalee, who are warm and welcoming. In addion the location is a perfect distance from the main town, allowing one to enjoy the quiet of Calle Consulado and at the same time walk a few short blocks to the action. And, you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAdventure58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
15
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hostel Carmen is a nice clean hostel, the value is good, the location is good, the staff is nice, I felt very safe there. Only down fall was no hot water not even in sink to wash face. Also it would be nice if they could offer toast and coffee for breakfast but what can you expect you get what you pay for. A clean bed in a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pologirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold_Jensema, Owner at Guesthouse El Carmen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Sorry, but you can't please them all.

No hot water in any $12 room in Nicaragua, nor a free breakfast, I can tell you that. No A/C either if you might wonder. (And believe me people write me to ask if the $12 room comes with A/C).
We usually offer fresh coffee in the morning but you have to ask and you obviously didn't and rather save your grievance for an anonymous review on the Internet.


One advise: There are some very nice hotels in Granada with all the amenities and they charge $80-$100 and an additional $6-$8 for breakfast, book one of these, it would suit you better.

regards

Arnold Jensema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a great time. Arnold is very welcoming and the rooms have been recently redone. The garden is really nice and peaceful and there are lots of places to relax and hang out, and to enjoy the wifi.

It's nice that there is a small bar in the front where you can hang out with Arnold and other guests. It also keeps the rooms quiet because the bar is all the way in the front while the rooms are in the back.

It's just a few blocks from the main square, and is a very easy walk (of 10 minutes or so). Granada is small and you can walk the entire distance of the town in 15-20 minutes, which I have done several times.

I would definitely recommend Hostal El Carmen and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: There are suites and then smaller rooms. If you're just staying a night, the rooms are great. If...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Denver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This quiet hotel has clean rooms and helpful staff. comfortable beds, nice courtyard, good amenities. A really nice way to ease into the Nicaraguan way of life. we stayed in a non ac room and found it cool enough, considering we had just come from -20 in Canada.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for a few nights at Hostal El Carmen while in Granada in November 2012, and had no complaints about our stay. We really enjoyed hanging out in the courtyard - very peaceful.

We were able to easily walk around town, and were comfortable walking back to the Hostal at night. There were many places to stay closer to the main plaza in Granada, but we enjoyed being a few blocks off the square, as it remained relatively quiet at night (and trust us - it could get very loud at night near the center of town - Nicaraguans love to celebrate and there were fireworks late into the night nearly every night!)

Arnold, the owner, was very friendly and made us feel very welcome at his Hostal. You could also tell he took great pride in keeping up the Hostal, and ran the place very well.

The one slightly negative aspect of the hostal was that there wasn't a door on the bathroom (can only speak to our room). This wouldn't influence our decision whether or not to stay here, but just wanted to point it out in case you are travelling with someone you aren't very comfortable with (although it is also very easy to step out to the hammocks in the courtyard if your travel companion needs a few minutes of privacy).

We would highly recommend staying here (and you really can't beat the value - great price !)

Thanks Arnold! (we are a little late in leaving our review, but both my husband and I were so happy to see so many other people enjoyed their stay as well!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great place to stay! I don´t really understand the comment that some people needed to take a cab to the center, because I walked from there everywhere. If it was in the dark, or at sunset time, I didn´t feel any danger (solo female traveller). It´s just few blocks from the central park, not in a bad area.

I was staying in a "regular" room, which meant that I had loads of space for me, a nice bed, fan and a private bathroom. The breakfast is not included, but when I ordered the pancake one, I was overwhelmed by the size of the 2 pancakes, so even breakfast is good value for money! I met someone who ended up staying in the studio - and that was massive! which a kitchen corner and fridge...

It´s quiet and relaxing place and you feel good in your room, there´s space and it´s clean. If I´d have a chance to go to Granada one more time, I´d stay there again!

The only negative that I can think of, is that I heard in one of the mornings the occupants of one of the studios blending their juice. I was up already for hours, but I´m sure everyone else heard the machine too, because the mornings are so quiet. So it would have been an issue if anyone planned to sleep longer than 8am.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paragon_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

El Carmen is a little oasis in Granada,the room are spacious and extremely clean and set around a beautiful tranquil garden. Arnold and Donnally are attentive and informative and very friendly. The only downside for me is that is is a bit of a walk to the centre of town and it is advisable to get a taxi back at night for safety reasons. Having said that we stayed twice! They also have really good value studios.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value but the studios are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10_17_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Silas B & B
Casa Silas B & B
#5 of 67 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse El Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse El Carmen

Property: Guesthouse El Carmen
Address: Calle Consulado Casa 420 | Frente la Farmacia San Fransisco, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly Hostal El Carmen)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse el CARMEN is a large private house in the Historic Center of beautiful Granada. We rent out studios which are located around a beautiful courtyard and are recently constructed. It has solid walls and all units have a ceiling fan, windows overlooking the garden, that can be opened and a private shower and toilet.One of the studios has air conditioning. The studios are well furnished. A dining table for four, 2 rocking chairs, a wardrobe, cupboards and a Queen-size bed.The kitchen is also well equipped: A stove with 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker, juice maker, refrigerator, pots and pans, plates, cups, wine glasses, cutlery etc for 4. Towels and sheets are provided and the room is cleaned once a week.The house has a nice garden area with abundant tropical vegetation. Pick your own mangoes in the season or see the Sacuanjoche blooming, Nicaraguans national flower. We have two terraces with a couple of hammocks to linger in or enjoy an ice cold beer. The neighborhood. We are located 3 and a half blocks from the main shopping street and 4 and a half blocks from the Central Park. Thanks to our location everywhere you want to go to is within walking distance while at the same our location is quiet and away form all the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. This building used to be a hotel but it closed in September 2013. We are now a private house renting out rooms at times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing