We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than a hotel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guesthouse El Carmen
Ranked #37 of 66 Granada B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

After staying in hotels for 5 weeks I was ready to have a kitchen.
This place is great,everything you need to make meals,full size fridge,4 burner stove top,pots and pans,blender,microwave,coffee pot, plates and silverware,cooking utensils etc.The studios are large and have a ceiling fan and stand up fan kept it nice and cool.Comfortable beds, large bathrooms,great outside ares to hang out in.The place is a great deal and very comfortable.Arnold is very nice and can help you out with any questions you have.The area feels very safe and its just a few blocks to the central park.2 large markets are 10-15min walk and pulperia 2 houses down. I ended up staying 3 months in total and feel like it is my home in Granada!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindainLA4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    9
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
15
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had a great stay at Hostal El Carmen. Arnold and Donaly were great hosts. The price was amazing and the accommodations were superior. They have a great patio to lounge in and a couple of hammocks for complete relaxation. I highly recommend calling them when you come to Granada. Within walking distance to central Granada. Nice colonial atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 3 nights so did not make use of the kitchen facilities, which looked very good. Our room was large, and the bed comfortable. The shower pressure was low but not really a problem. The grounds were pleasant, with hammocks and chairs to hang out in. Arnold and Donnely were warm and gracious hosts, and we particularly appreciated the airport pick up service, and help organising a taxi on our departure. The location was fairly central - Granada is not big, so it was not a problem walking back and forth. And we always felt very safe. This would be a really good place for a longer stay, but is also very good value for a short visit and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a nicely done Hostal. The rooms are spacious, clean and airy, tucked in the back of a beautiful garden. I enjoyed the quiet and the calm of my stay. There is a nice bar in the front of the old sala where you can chat with other guests or Arnold and Donalee, who are warm and welcoming. In addion the location is a perfect distance from the main town, allowing one to enjoy the quiet of Calle Consulado and at the same time walk a few short blocks to the action. And, you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAdventure58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hostel Carmen is a nice clean hostel, the value is good, the location is good, the staff is nice, I felt very safe there. Only down fall was no hot water not even in sink to wash face. Also it would be nice if they could offer toast and coffee for breakfast but what can you expect you get what you pay for. A clean bed in a safe place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pologirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold_Jensema, Owner at Guesthouse El Carmen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Sorry, but you can't please them all.

No hot water in any $12 room in Nicaragua, nor a free breakfast, I can tell you that. No A/C either if you might wonder. (And believe me people write me to ask if the $12 room comes with A/C).
We usually offer fresh coffee in the morning but you have to ask and you obviously didn't and rather save your grievance for an anonymous review on the Internet.


One advise: There are some very nice hotels in Granada with all the amenities and they charge $80-$100 and an additional $6-$8 for breakfast, book one of these, it would suit you better.

regards

Arnold Jensema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed two nights here and had a great time. Arnold is very welcoming and the rooms have been recently redone. The garden is really nice and peaceful and there are lots of places to relax and hang out, and to enjoy the wifi.

It's nice that there is a small bar in the front where you can hang out with Arnold and other guests. It also keeps the rooms quiet because the bar is all the way in the front while the rooms are in the back.

It's just a few blocks from the main square, and is a very easy walk (of 10 minutes or so). Granada is small and you can walk the entire distance of the town in 15-20 minutes, which I have done several times.

I would definitely recommend Hostal El Carmen and would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: There are suites and then smaller rooms. If you're just staying a night, the rooms are great. If...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Denver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This quiet hotel has clean rooms and helpful staff. comfortable beds, nice courtyard, good amenities. A really nice way to ease into the Nicaraguan way of life. we stayed in a non ac room and found it cool enough, considering we had just come from -20 in Canada.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Silas B & B
Casa Silas B & B
#5 of 66 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#32 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse El Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse El Carmen

Property: Guesthouse El Carmen
Address: Calle Consulado Casa 420 | Frente la Farmacia San Fransisco, Granada, Nicaragua (Formerly Hostal El Carmen)
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse el CARMEN is a large private house in the Historic Center of beautiful Granada. We rent out studios which are located around a beautiful courtyard and are recently constructed. It has solid walls and all units have a ceiling fan, windows overlooking the garden, that can be opened and a private shower and toilet.One of the studios has air conditioning. The studios are well furnished. A dining table for four, 2 rocking chairs, a wardrobe, cupboards and a Queen-size bed.The kitchen is also well equipped: A stove with 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker, juice maker, refrigerator, pots and pans, plates, cups, wine glasses, cutlery etc for 4. Towels and sheets are provided and the room is cleaned once a week.The house has a nice garden area with abundant tropical vegetation. Pick your own mangoes in the season or see the Sacuanjoche blooming, Nicaraguans national flower. We have two terraces with a couple of hammocks to linger in or enjoy an ice cold beer. The neighborhood. We are located 3 and a half blocks from the main shopping street and 4 and a half blocks from the Central Park. Thanks to our location everywhere you want to go to is within walking distance while at the same our location is quiet and away form all the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. This building used to be a hotel but it closed in September 2013. We are now a private house renting out rooms at times. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing