We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mediocre”
Review of Hostal Mochilas

Hostal Mochilas
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Mochilas
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very mediocre”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February, because we heard it was nice. It's very close to the main square, so that's a big plus. Most things you need in a hostel are there: wifi, some hammocks and a kitchen. No lockers in the private rooms btw. Unfortunately, there was no cool hostel atmosphere at all. People were just minding their own business.

We stayed in a double room next to the entrance, which was very noisy. The guy behind the desk had very loud music on his phone till late, so we couldn't just chill on our room. Also, the walls between the rooms are so thin you can hear conversations literaly. The showers are the bare minimum, with no showerheads available.

Next night we transferred to another room in the back of the hostel, but still very noisy. I don't know what the staff was doing with the garbage bins, but it woke us up a couple of times in the middle of the night and early morning.

Staff behind the desk was ok, but not very helpful.

Overall: a very mediocre hostel, but cheap and not too bad.

Room Tip: Not the one next to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
24
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I was recently traveling with a group of students and we needed a reasonably priced place to stay in Granada. I've been to Oasis (several times) and wanted to try something different. The website for Mochilas is appealing and we called to make reservations. All in all pleasant interactions on the phone, reservations made, all looked good. We called a day or two later to confirm everything was set and were assured things were all arranged. Upon arrival 3 days later - surprise! that reservation? well....sorry, we put someone else in that double, sorry...these things happen.

After that the whole experience was tainted. For me, being able to take, and honor, a reservation is one of the basics, a fundamental concept in innkeeping. And lockers, in the dorm room? We don't have the keys, sorry.

Wish I could say something more positive but I can't.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTreadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

Brazil
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed there for 2 evenings, it is nice, pretty yard, kitchen, rooms can be very hot, but you have the air conditiong option when they're avaiable! just off the main square and market, close to everything in granada as it's not a big city! would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreFranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hostel Mochilas. The location is great, just off of the main square in Granada. The market and grocery store are not too far away. The rooms were big and clean. The common areas were large and inviting and well maintained. Kitchen was large and well equip.

we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Nicaragua Mia
Hospedaje Nicaragua Mia
#18 of 64 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal y Restaurante La Mexicana
0.2 mi away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Generalife
Hotel Casa Generalife
#25 of 67 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mochilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mochilas

Property: Hostal Mochilas
Address: Calle Morazan 407 | 2 1/2 cuadro de casa Pellas al lago, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Mochilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing