We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Ciudad Lounge

Restaurante Ciudad Lounge
Ranked #23 of 155 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our menu is small in quantity, but big in taste. 6-7 Appetizers & 5-6 main plates, ranging in price from $10USD-$28. We are changing culinary style and service in Granada, Nicaragua. We are possibly the most expensive restaurant in Granada - but we do not compete with any restaurant in Granada. Warning: if you are traveling on a tight budget, please do not come to Ciudad Lounge as you will be terribly dissapointed and we will be sad that you couldn't enjoy our full range of offerings and this - what is almost 100% of the time a wonderful dining experience - will end up on this site as an experience from hell, due to the economic shortcommings of a client, that should not reflect on the style and performance of our restaurant. Average style-lounge-dining experiance is about $40/pp We assure you that your meal and time spent at Ciudad Lounge (average 3 hours) will be among your top 5 lifetime restaurant experiences. Welcome to the New Nicaragua Your Hosts Noemi & Chef Puro
Chichiriviche, Venezuela
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Because of reviews on TA i went to this place on night with a woman and i can say i got a mixed feeling. Its a nice place in respect of ambience. WE where there the whole evening 7.30 to 9.30 the only guest. WE ordered water and wine...Water never showed up after 30 minutes i ask again and than the water came. The menu is small and i expect that if we order there something that they will have it...As my counterparty ordered shrimps they didnt have it that she ordered something else which they also didnt have it finally the third order they had it..I expect in this price clase from a waiter that when he showes the menu that he will tell before hand what they have or not have. (Especially i expect this if you make marketing like best of the best no excuses come for a special dining experience etc..) The food was good but i can not say great...I had beef in other places in Granada which cost the half and where as good. Food is very pricy. In general i got a mixed feeling,,,service bad , food good but overpriced location ok,
ambiance good.

For all this reason i can give only a average review.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank salta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIUDADLOUNGE, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Reader.

There has been no shrimp in our menu for as far as we can remember - We were either mistaken by another restaurant; written by a competitor, or a sympathizer to a competitor. So, unfortunately, we are sad we can't answer this one. Would have been fun.

But because we can't resist: regardless of the review standing - we sure definitely are glad this gentleman was out with a woman.

Elegant.

Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    27
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
311 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Posh restaurant, very snob and self-conceited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Our guide rates this restaurant as the best in town. It is a nice place though kind of pretentious. I'm accustomed to very expensive restaurants in London and never I feel so uneasy. The food is good but not memorable and it is presented in nouvelle cuisine style. I'm not a wine fan so I cannot judge the wine which seems to be one of their highs. It's not easy to get a menu, it seems that people either know or don't care about the prices. The furniture is quite peculiar. There are no regular tables and you're compelled to eat leaned on your knees which are at the same level as the table.
The price is European standard for good restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIUDADLOUNGE, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Highness.

If service personnel from a third world country can give the impression of snobbish, or conceit, either our client is accustomed to severe reverence, a lack of self esteem, or just a case of feeling uncomfortable due to bad judgment of mood, place and budget. We don’t control how anyone feels – we simply provide the environment where anyone can feel successful, romantic, elegant, posh, conceited (why not – we get lots of those – the kind that loves to feel like “they made it in life” – rich and pretentious - and they deserve to feel like that, don't they?), friendly, or decide to feel miserable, or upset. It’s up to the client, which fantasy, or mood they choose.

“Ufff!!!!!!!!! CIUDAD LOUNGE is saying they don't want people to come to their restaurant unless one is a stuck up, rich cat." No. No. No. No. What we are saying is: know where you are at and gage your money situation accordingly, so you can relax about the bill and concentrate more on enjoying our space in style.

You may have confused pride about our establishment with conceit. Or, perhaps, our formal approach to service didn't match your mood. Our hostess will not interrupt your conversations with jokes, or unnecessary conversation. We are a sensual place for good food, drinks and cigars. If we feel we will enhance your mood by connecting with you and your group, we will do it – otherwise, we will remain big headed and alert, to make sure every aspect of your evening is taken care of.

We will not hide our extreme sense of excellence because that is exactly why we are leading the culinary style in Granada. If we make anyone uncomfortable with our arrogance, or sense of accomplishment, let us know so we can accommodate and tone it down during your visit, to assist your self-esteem and help ensure a fantastic evening, otherwise.

We have poured sweat and tears into creating a place with high amenities, comfort, style and taste - a difficult task in a third world country, to say the least. Anyone's budgetary plight, perception about the owner's, or their personal mood doesn't change the fact that CIUDAD LOUNGE is a very classy place doing revolutionary things in food and in style.

Come see for yourself if we are snobbish brats, or just a sexy couple doing sexy things with food, service and ambiance in Granada.

Welcome to CIUDAD LOUNGE

No Excuses.
Best for the Best

Noemi & William

PS> We sit our “dinning” customers at “regular” tables that are located throughout the restaurant, which includes a second floor, a Chef’s Table, equipped with air conditioner and regular dinning area – our client chose to sit in the patio and ordered no main dishes.

No main dishes, no regular dining table required. yes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Make the time to eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A great addition to the Granada scene. I had a superb steak, wonderfully cooked with a chef unafraid of cooking it rare. It was good but the Taro puree was excellent and a real eye opener, I didn't know you could make anything that edible from Taro! My desert was dissapointing (Nispero flan) but in no way diminished from my experience. Wonderful restaurant, unusual and with excellent warm and genuine service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benedictslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIUDADLOUNGE, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Benedict.

Too sad the Nispero bit was not to your liking. This fruit is fantastic, unusual and a unique taste.
We change our menu, including our introductory drink offer / martini / wine, every week, as do our dessert(s) - we trust we can meet you again, so you can try another.

It was our pleasure to have you in our restaurant and to serve you.
Glad you had additional time to enjoy a smoke after dinner.

Travel Well.
Best for the Best

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
granada, nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK country bumpkin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect food in relaxed beautiful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

For a special night out this would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Very relaxed but whole environment obviously meticulously designed and managed. We felt personally very welcomed. Service excellent. Food superb. My partner had a steak that was one of the best I've managed to steal a few mouthfuls from and my chicken was so tasty and veg just cooked to perfection. They really made an effort to accommodate my tastes too.
Pricey in Nicaraguan terms but very good value for quality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IguanaPhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIUDADLOUNGE, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Iguana.

It was our pleasure to see you enjoy your evening with company.
Our staff is attentive to the details for this very reason: Your experience and sense of style, while you are dinning with us, or enjoying the pleasure of a well made cocktail and cigar - we are delighted you both felt it. We did, too.

Style, Sir.
Style.

Best for the Best

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
granada, nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In a league of itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Chic restaurant with excellent service and food. Best ambiance. Wonderful hosts. Sophisticated in its simplicity. We went back a second time

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonVivantCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIUDADLOUNGE, Owner at Restaurante Ciudad Lounge, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Welcome to CIUDAD LOUNGE
It was our pleasure.
Great conversation.
Great Vibes.
Great Music.
Great Night.
Great Visit.

Best for the Best

Your Hosts
Noemi & William
CIUDAD LOUNGE
granada, nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ciudad Lounge also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Restaurante Ciudad Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing