We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice people”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We spent Three nights at the Hotel Casa Barcelona in Granada. The owners are very nice people and the hotel and gardens are beautifull.. low prices too. Rooms are clean. Great value for the money ... will stay again when we are back in Granada.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Many thanks for your review

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    46
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
67
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights. The owner was super friendly and loved talking to us about Granada and Nicaragua in general. The rooms are reasonable value for what they cost (if you book by phone and pay cash it's slightly cheaper. The rooms are set around a courtyard with a beautiful garden. The security is very good. It's 10 min walk from the centre of town in an area that quite a bit more ramshackle than the manicured town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you so much,

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The owner and staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, attractive, and hot. The cable TV has BBC News and CNN International. Best of all, there was a very strong and reliable wifi signal inside the room. The owner sent a lemonade drink and some cookies to the room to welcome me and visited with me twice. She speaks better English than anyone else I have encountered in hotels in Nicaragua. Only two complaints--one a big factor for me and one small:

Big Complaint: Although the mattress was nice, it had a rubber or plastic cover to protect it. These always make me sleep too hot; there's just no air circulation between the sheet and the cover. Therefore, I did not get as good a night of sleep has I would have liked.

Small Complaint: Be careful on the toilet. It's easy to bump your head on the tile sink counter because of its closeness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you so much

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The staff was very nice.
they arranged our night taxi from Managua airport to the hotel, and it went very well.
we were greated with lemonade and cookies, and a friendly smile.
our room was clean and comfortable.
it was a bit on the outskirts of the central plaza and other tourist amneties.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreSo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por compartir su agradable experiencia

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The family who runs the hotel is super kind, helpful, makes you feel comfortable.
I felt at home, there was no need to lock the door!!!
Absolutly quiet, the cleaning was more than perfect.
Really kind and professional.
I can reccomend this,
Women travelling alone should consider that to reach the city center you have to pass through a long not well illuminated street that is not 100% save, locals recommended us in late time to use a taxi (what we didn't because we were two).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mari k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su experiencia en el Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Staff was really friendly. As soon as my girlfriend and I got in, the owner gave us a smelling tour of all the newly planted trees in her garden.

It's on the edge of town, which we loved. it gives you a chance to see the real neighborhoods and markets of Granada, not just the tourist center. Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you so much

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place was great. Beautiful courtyard, friendly staff, yummy $5 breakfast. I really liked our room, felt very cozy. The hotel is located in southern Granada. Some might find this to be annoying, but I much preferred this. During the night we could hear the loud ruckus off in the distance of the part of Granada that has most of the hotels, and I was very grateful we were in a more peaceful part of town. And it's a short walk to everything cool.

I will say though that we had trouble finding it. If arriving by car, you might look at a map and think to drive down calle atravesada because it is so close to Hotel Casa Barcelona. Tip: Do NOT try to drive calle atravesada during the day, it turns into a market. My suggestion would be to focus on getting onto calle nueva (the southern road that runs parallel to the creek) and follow the signs for Hotel Casa Barcelona. The turn that you need to make off from calle nueva will be decently steep uphill and near an iron bridge.

Overall, excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you for your review

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#18 of 43 in Granada
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 43 in Granada
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#26 of 43 in Granada
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#25 of 43 in Granada
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Property: Hotel Casa Barcelona
Address: Puente Palmira | 1 Block East 1 Block South 1/2 Block East, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly eco-and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. We believe in the culture of work. Many thanks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing