We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendliest hotel stay I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel stay I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, having a few days to look round Nicaragua before a conference.

The hotel itself is not at all fancy, but the service I received overall was absolutely exemplary, well beyond what one can reasonably expect. We pretty-much got a free travel-agent service thrown in, which dramatically improved the quality and enjoyment of our stay.

Having never been to Nicaragua and wanting to fit in some solid touristing during the 3 days we had, (combined with sharing my stay with a guy I had not met previously, who was arriving a week earlier), I asked a lot of questions about timing and transport and taxis and trips and prices. Everything was answered (in English) commendably promptly and fully both before we booked and arrived and during the trip. This was hugely helpful, and most appreciated.

I was picked up at the airport and transported to the door (which really doesn't look much like a hotel - it's in a normal domestic backstreet in a scruffy bit of town).

The room was tidy, mosquito-proof, with a working ceiling fan and power and a nice shower. As it was incredibly cheap this made it excellent value. It was quiet.

The hotel essentially consists of a set of rooms either side of a lush garden courtyard, with a breakfast terrace and foyer. It is small but beautiful. The garden is lovely, the rooms are nice and quiet. Eating breakfast looking out over this is glorious.

Breakfast was a choice of local (rice and beans), strange squeaky cheese, or more conventional cuisine. It was not at all fancy, but excellent value in a lovely setting, and an opportunity to feel just a little bit like a local.

We walked round the corner to the recommended local fish restaurant which didn't look like much with its (neat) dirt floor, but the food was absolutely top-notch - We were impressed.

The location is to the south-west of town, so is actually quite handy for getting out to visit volcanoes or nearby villages, but it's 15-mins sweaty walk into the town centre through either the absolutely heaving high street or the parallel satreet-market. It's, erm, very Nicaraguan - bit of a culture shock for the average European :-)

One day we asked about visting the nearby peninsula with its multitude of islands and a local eco-tour guide was procured. I went on one of the hotel bikes (which was pretty knackered with a rebar pedal, broken gearshift (I managed to fix that) and flat tyres - the hotel doesn't run to a pump, but you just go 100 yds round the corner and a guy pumps it up). My colleague went on the back of the guides motorbike - an odd procession. It seems we were this family's first ever eco-tourists, so the experience was a little random and the language barrier didn't help, but we had a great day out nevertheless: it was great to be dealing with genuine local people devoid of middlemen.

So, I would unhesitatingly recommend this place to anyone who wanted to visit Granada, especially if they value genuine helpfulness and a local knowledge over the 'posh hotel' experience. I liked the eco-sensibilties of the place: the way they deal with local drivers, and tour guides and the fact that bikes are available (They do need to keep them in decent working order though). Visiting a hotel isn't normally something you end up with particularly fond memories of - this place was an exception.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xWookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
Gracias por compartir su experiencia.

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    44
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
66
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My family and I (wife, three kids, and two dogs) have driven from California to Nicaragua in a 35 passenger school bus. We stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks. It is a short walk from the city center. I have had to sleep in my bus many nights because of people trying to break in throughout every country along the way. I have a rack on top and a rack on the back and nothing was messed with. I was able to sleep soundly every night in a room with a fan with my bus parked on the street without a single issue. The hotel has a large beautiful garden centered through the walkway that keeps much of the city noise out (they celebrate almost every night in the city for something or another). The staff keeps the place very clean. From tours to massages, the owner, was willing to help with everything. She helped get drinking water delivered to my bus before we left and even gave a group other viable hotels to stay at when her hotel had no vacancies. The owner is a local who works hard on her business and has good family values. Although very inexpensive, we did not allot money for eating at restaurants after the first week of the month. The owner allowed us to use all of her facilities to cook our own food and use her tables. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Although the room was pretty basic, the people who worked there along with the owner were awesome! They took pride in there hotel and were there to help with anything we needed. It is a little away from the main town but very easy to get to town, safe neighborhood and easy to get to the lake!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you so much,

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

My travel partner and I stayed two nights at this property. Our room had the option of ceiling fan and AC. Due to recently arriving in central america I used the AC having not acclimatised. The bathroom clean and the cold shower was just what we needed after exploring Granada on foot. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. They were able to offer advice on tours and safety advice on Managua too.
Yes this hotel is a walk from the centre of Granada (approx 15-20mins) but you get to see local life (the markets etc) on the way. I never felt threatened in Granada or the area of the hotel. Actually people were super friendly everywhere we went.
Value for money and secure!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENXIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank you for your review

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The owner was very nice and helpful!! !! Our bus arrived late at night, and the owner had a complimenrary taxi waiting to drive us to the hotel! The hotel has a wonderful, calm atmosphere! All the staff were friendly. The property was clean, comfortable and safe. The breakfast was good and only 5$. We walked to the center in about 10 min. I enjoyed the walk as it took us through the local market. The neighborhood appears run down but was safe. I would stay here again. PLUS the place is run by a local female entrepreneur!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario.

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Simple hotel. The manager was nice, but the rooms were pretty lousy with malfunctioning a/c. $35 is way too expensive for a hotel located this far off the centre of the city. The centre was about 35 minutes walk through dirty and unfriendly neighbourhoods.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Casa Barcelona for 3 nights and enjoyed it. It is a nice basic hotel for a really good price. It is basic but with a perfect atmosphere. The rooms are clean en have everything you need. The staff is really friendly and willing to help. Even late at night when we wanted to change rooms to a room with AC. That was no problem.The wifi is working very good and that is a important thing for us since we are working aswell.

The location is a little bit out of town, but you can easily walk into town. So good combination not being in the centre and the hussle of the town and sleeping in the quitness of Casa Barcelona.

If we go back to Granada we will go to Casa Barcelona.

Room Tip: Take a room with AC because it can get really warm out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annekeWijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Thank your for your positive review,

Hotel Casa Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Property: Hotel Casa Barcelona
Address: Puente Palmira | 1 block east 1 block south 1/2 block east, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly eco-and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. Many thnaks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing