We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilling in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Chilling in Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were so glad to arrive at this welcoming hotel after a busy few weeks. The manageress was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Then we chilled out in our room which was very comfortable and spotlessly clean,while the rain fell on the trees and bushes surrounding us.
WiFi was ex, we got a good rate booking through their website, breakfast was good too, lots of choice and delicious. There is a locked box in the room to use, and the property is well secured with gates and monitored by staff.
The walk from town didn't bother us - we felt safe coming home at night, although might want to take a torch if you are out very late, or a taxi which are cheap. The walk is through the main street market which is interesting too, and they are repairing the road at one part.
Excellent value, and a relaxing stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 13 March 2016
Thank you so much for your possitve review.

Colaboradores y Yexira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    44
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
66
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kratie, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The owner has a totally different concept of tourism, she is very social conscientious and honest. If you are looking for parties and noise this is not your place. If you look for an extra clean and relaxing hotel this is the one. The staff is very friendly and polite. The quality of the beds is awesome and at night there is no noise at all. They also have 2 nice dorms and a small kitchen for guests use. The garden is wonderful, specially in the mornings when the birds sing. You can relax in their hammocks while you enjoy their fast internet connection.They serve nice dishes and there is a laundry service. The hotel is 3 minutes walking from the main market, 4 minutes from the Maxi Palí supermarket and 15 from the Plaza Central. Some people complain about the location but this is Nicaragua, this is a typical Nicaraguan neighborhood. Sometimes people forget this. We would recommend this hotel without any doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aitoreve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 13 March 2016
Thank you so much for your possitive review.

You know where is you home in Granada We will be here. :)

En nombre de todos los colaboradores y yexira de Hotel Casa Barcelona les decimos muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, the thing that lets Hotel Casa Barcelona down is its location. You're basically in suburban Granada and the walk into town takes at least 15-20 minutes. The area surrounding it is really dirty, especially the river which has a landslide of rubbish falling into it. It's a very odd place for a hotel. We never walked back after 7pm either because it didn't feel safe. We both felt it was far too expensive given its location. We also paid an extra $12 per night for air conditioning but the unit was stuck on a freezing temperature and full force fan, so ironically it was too cold to keep on for very long. The rooms themselves are simple but very clean and the garden area is nice with a few hammocks. The owners are also friendly too and they make big breakfasts for $5 if you want to eat there. Like I said, it is a nice enough place to be at but we wouldn't recommend it too enthusiastically to anyone.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Fritha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Owner at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Google Translation
Aprovechamos la oportunidad para indicar:
En la actualidad se desarrollan obras de progreso en estas comunidades como el drenaje, mejores carreteras, más alumbrado público todo ésto conlleva a un proceso.
Este proyecto es desarrollado gracias a fondos donados de Alemania, y otros países donantes. Así mismo ENACAL, El Gobierno Municipal-Alcaldía de Granada para instalar alcantarillado en muchas partes de Granada que antes de hoy no existían. Tambien se desarrollan campañas para sencibilizar a toda la población en escuelas, barrios y comunidades para contribuir a tener una ciudad limpia. Entre este proyecto se encuentra www.fundenic.org.ni bajo el lema "yo no tiro basura"

El hotel está establecido en esta zona por tener prácticas singulares, amigables y de respeto al medio ambiente, a la naturaleza, la riqueza de observar la Biodiversidad en el Jardín Verde; es por ello que conservamos más de 700mts2 de jardín verde. Ayudamos de la mejor manera a las comunidades y sus pobladores de gente humilde, generamos plazas estables de trabajo a los pobladores. El hotel está a un paseo por la ciudad de 10 a 12 minutos hacia el Parque Central.
Recordemos que en una Ciudad Colonial que fluyen las visitas turísticas también genera de forma positiva gran progreso para sus pobladores; Los propietarios pagamos mayores impuestos con mucho gusto porque van destinados a mejoras y beneficios de todos los habitantes y los viajeros que nos visitan.

En esta zona el viajero encuentra la esencia del poblador real del granadino que trabaja de sol a sol, su verdadera vivencia, amabilidad y espontaneidad.

Es por ello que decimos "Bienvenidos viajeros del mundo a nuestra ciudad más antigua del continente Americano"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

While in Costa Rica for work, we had to leave after 3 months to renew our visas, so a trip to. Granada sounded like a good plan. This place had been well reviewed and it was as described. It is not in the smartest neighbourhood, but is also close to the middle of town, only a short walk through the markets to the main square. The main attraction for Granada for us was walking the streets anyway, taking in the wonderful architecture. Anyway, the place is spotless, breakfast is cheap and enormous! The staff kept the place sparkling clean and we're very friendly. We stayed for 4 nights, but in hindsight would have taken a room win AC rather than just a fan as it did get stifling hot with only a limited window opening and the rooms got full sun during the day, so by evening were pretty stuffy. Other than that we had a blast!

Room Tip: Consider air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
En nombre de todos los Colaboradores de Hotel Casa Barcelona,
le damos las gracias por su tiempo valioso al escribir su experiencia a través de un positivo comentario.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Every single member of staff was so pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful. Garden is immaculate and creates a peaceful haven. Only 10 minutes or so walk to town center and very cheap taxi ride back at night. Rooms were very well designed and maintained and felt more like a boutique hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
En nombre de todos los Colaboradores de Hotel Casa Barcelona,
Damos las gracias por tomar su tiempo y escribir su positivo comentario acerca del lugar porque en realidad así es.
Hotel Casa Barcelona es un lugar ideal para alojarse en pareja o familia con un hermoso jardín.
Abordar un taxi también es una forma de contribuir a mejorar la economía de las familias Nicaragüenses.
Muchas gracias,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at Casa Barcelona for 2 nights and enjoyed it. For the price we did not expect anything fancy but were pleasantly surprised. The staff is super friendly, the rooms well kept and the courtyard green with a variety of plants. We really enjoyed the tranquility of this place and it's only a few blocks from the main square which means a 10 min walk or a 1$ taxi ride. Breakfast is not included but they have a small restaurant serving it for 5$ pp.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anja_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
En nombre de todos los colaboradores de Hotel Casa Barcelona,

Les damos las gracias por su descripción positiva del lugar,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Granada is a beautiful little colonial town, I got there during a Poetry Festival which was a shock as it was like a Rock Festival. But with POETS!
Barcelona is just a little walk past the busy market but I always managed to stumble back after sampling the country's toxic rums in the main square.

Room Tip: Cold shower! But in that heat who cares?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiler_Grogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCasaBarcelona, Propietario at Hotel Casa Barcelona, responded to this review, 6 August 2016
Google Translation
En nombre de todos los Colaboradores de Hotel Casa Barcelona,

Les damos las gracias por su visita a nuestro local.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#14 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Fortaleza Granada Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Almirante
Hotel El Almirante
#13 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Barcelona

Property: Hotel Casa Barcelona
Address: Puente Palmira | 1 block east 1 block south 1/2 block east, Granada 43000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Barcelona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Barcelona is the perfect place to stay in Granada for your holidays or business trips. Our accommodation is clean, familiar friendly eco-and safe. It is also the perfect starting point for countless tours and explore the rest of this extraordinary country. This is a project for Granadian woman who want to provide for themselves and their children and improve their quality of life. Many thnaks to Arpon Flores Family from Spain were the official primary investors funds in this project, Fundation Centro Empresarial Pellas and kindom of the Netherlands provided academic funds resources for our employees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing