We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hostel in Granada”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #6 of 65 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top hostel in Granada”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for a few nights in Granada. What the other reviews say is indeed true, this raises the standard for hostels. The staff is very friendly and always willing to answer questions and help you out. The hostel is clean, the beds are good and the overall vibe of the hostel is very nice. We went a few days to the Isle of Ometepe and decided to go back here because of the good experience! If you are travelling through Central America this is a nice change of scenery!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    92
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
96
107
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hostel is going to be the one to beat in Granada. It was thoughtfully designed and really is a comfortable, clean, and beautiful place to stay. It has an excellent location, great cafe, and helpful staff. Really not missing a thing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

So glad we found this oasis of a Hostel in Granada! The two main backpacker hostel are horrendous, and for only one more dollar a night you can stay at Momento! The best, thickest mastresses I´ve seen in all of Central America, they have dvds you can watch on their tv, a great laundry area, very clean kitchen, enourmous showers, and even ipads to use! Definitely stay here! There is not a better place in the whole city! It´s certainly the best buy .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This really is a top notch hostel and will probably be one of the very best hostels you will stay in while travelling through Central America. The owner Chris, who is a really great, helpful guy, has really thought of everything when designing this place...comfortable beds, great cafe with amazing food, free iPads to use, great communal area to meet fellow travellers, clean rooms and amenities, friendly staff, lounge area with big TV, great location close to the centre, information board...the list goes on! And of course, it's really reasonably priced. We had an amazing time here, Chris and his staff went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and I'm sure he will do the same for you! Don't delay and book your bed now!!

Room Tip: We travelled as a couple and stayed in private room, but we would have been happy to have stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2012

For a start, whilst the only reviewer who has given it less than 5 stars has a point about the need for more showers (though as the owner Chris mentioned in his response they are fully aware of this), I feel the need to give a slightly different slant on their comments.

Personally I was extremely impressed with how much pride the staff take in keeping the place clean and tidy and I had not come across a hostel that clean in 2 1/2 months of travelling through Central America. And yes there probably are other hostels in Granada which have more of a lively atmosphere but I prefer to go to a local bar or club to have fun and go back to the hostel to sleep off my drunkeness! But up until about 10pm they play good and varied music all day (anything from 60s soul to pop to electronic and I even heard a few hip-hop tunes!) and they have a huge plasma TV so you can watch films or cable.

The owner Chris is extremely friendly and helpful, as are the rest of the staff (especially Zach on reception), so if you have any problems or requests you know they will be happy to help. I could go on, but like my title says, what more can I say that hasn't already been said?!!

It is one of those places where everybody seems to stay much longer than they had anticipated. I was originally going to stay for a few days, ended staying more than a week and returned a week later for a few days!

I have a feeling this is going to be one of the most popular hostels in Nicragaua for years to come. I hope their success continues.

P.S. The fish sandwich on their lunch/dinner menu comes highly recommended. Oh, and try the Jerk mayo as well - incredible!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
As we have only previously responded to one of our reviews we felt we needed to thank Micheal for his wonderful review and all the others that have passed through for either a day or those like Micheal who spent many more nights here than they expected.
Even though we are new and getting many great reviews there will always be touches to be added to make everyone's stay more pleasant and over the next year we will try to do that and listening to your comments will help us.
We hope to see many more like Micheal who enjoyed our hospitality and returned to us again when revisiting Granada.
Thank you again to Micheal and all those previous comments who are helping us... give you a great experience.
Chris,Maria and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Brand new hostel, just opened in Dec 2011. We were hoping for a private room but they were full so we stayed in the dorm instead. After 5 weeks of travelling we had the best sleeps of our trip so far here in the dorm beds. The bottom bunks are all double beds and have super comfortable mattresses. Each bed has its own personal fan which makes it that much more of a comfortable sleep. Rather than moving to a private room once available we ended up staying 3 nights in the dorm as it was cheap, quiet and very comfortable. The dorm has its own bathroom and the shower is massive! It might make sense for the shower to have a separate entrance from the toilet area so both can be used at once but we never waited long for the bathroom.
There is a kitchen for guests to use which was basic but had everything you would need; although it could do with a bit better lighting for those cooking after dark.
The common areas are well kept and lovely; very condusive to sitting & chatting with other guests. The iPads and TV in the reception area were a nice luxury!
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even calling around to local doctors and recommending farmacia's when I came down with a throat infection.
Overall we had a great experience staying here and would highly recommend it. The only thing missing is a pool for those hot, hot Granada days! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

El momento is a beautiful hostel. Clean, new and central in Granada. The owner and staff are more than helpful. I would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anocarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 43 in Granada
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 43 in Granada
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#18 of 43 in Granada
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing