We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #7 of 77 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

internet pc, 2 ipads. cool courtyard areas and seating. tiny kitchen. seems to be only 2 bathrooms for the whole place! inconvenient at times, poor lighting in the bathrooms. beds good. quiet after midnight. 24h front staff person. well located.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your response and we are sorry that your stay was not completely satisfactory and that you have not been given all the information that you should have been made aware of.
We are not sure which room you slept but we are thinking it was one with the bathroom separate as we actually have 5 bathrooms in total.
The dorm has a bathroom and 2 privates have a bathroom each and then the other 3 privates share 2 bathrooms, we are sorry if this was not made aware to you when you checked in at reception.
The lighting in the bathrooms use local bulbs which can take a while for them to heat up and become bright, not like bulbs in Europe or North America.
Regarding it being quiet after midnight, we are not sure if you liked this or not but as we wrote in another post we either have a hostel with a late bar and party atmosphere or the opposite and we have gone for the latter, we cannot do both because we are going to upset many guests this way.
We would love to make our kitchen bigger but as we are the owners of the hostel and not the building this is something that is out of our hands, that is why we made the outside ceramic tables part of the kitchen to give guests more room to prepare their meals.
Thank you for your review and hope your stay in Nicaragua is enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a great hotel with very relaxing atmosphere. Chris is a very accomodating and considerate manager. My girl friend and I booked for a private room for 2 but somebody end up needing our room. We were upgraded to an even larger room for the same price. And Chris even sent me an email beforehand to confirm if it is ok to "upgrade" our room. We arrived earlier than our scheduled arrival. And Chris took care of our luggage and belongings with great hospitality. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the main plaza, which makes everything convenient. The common area is nicely decorated and is a very comfortable place to hang out. I will stay here again if I come back to Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonytsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your review Tony, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay and did not mind switching rooms. We felt that is was important to keep you informed as we know communication with our guests is vital to being successful and for this we always ask for confirmation by email so we can keep in touch with future guests.
Chris,Maria and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice hostel with comfortable common areas. There was Wifi, ipads, kitchenette, washing machine etc. The dorms were a bit noisy and in particular very hot. Hard to get a good nights sleep with the hot weather and stuffy rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Hostal El Momento as we knew how much you wanted to come here when you made your booking with us online.
We are aware that dorm rooms in general can be very hot, especially in Granada as we have had guests leaving other hostels to come to us saying the same thing.
This month and next is the hottest time of the year at 95 degrees,even though there was a fan next to your bed we would have been more than happy to have gotten you another one if we had known. At this moment in time we have 7 fans in the dorm and the only other alternative is AC but this of course would make the prices more expensive.
In regard to the noise we know a group of 5 arrived at the same time but we did not hear from other guests or yourselves if it was them making the noise or others. If a certain person or group is a little loud then we would ask them to respect other guests. It is very difficult for us to know unless we are told and if someone was being disruptive every night then we would ask them to leave.
As we have written in our introductory book to the Hostel it is important for us to get feedback whether it is good, average or bad so we thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

very friendly staff and owner, great relaxing place very close to the main square, stayed there for 1 week, DVDs, computer and 2 iPads for use

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piscomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Clean, comfortable beds, helpful staff, food and drinks available, comfortable and pretty common areas...This hostel has it all. While I was there, it also attracted a quieter, older crowd. It was quiet and peaceful at night. Several of us who were staying there bonded and went out to do things together. Additionally, the hostel is in the best possible location. It is close to the town square (2 minute walk) but it is on a quiet street. $7 for a comfy, new dorm bed--can't get better than that. This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your wonderful response and we are that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as meeting lots of like minded travelers who you could go out with. Sometimes we have a really young crowd and then other times we get an older crowd, it seems to depend on the time of year and what events on happening in the city.
We hope that you come back and visit again.
Chris,Maria and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

very nice place to stay , closed from the central park , dorms are amazing big beds, electric plug and safe case for each, the aera on the garden , chilling place , amzing , wifi walks fine , the staff is very sympatic , red curry at the restaurant very good , so shame they don t do natural juices and breakfast is not the best, but alright , i ve pleasure to stay there

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Is that I can't give this place a 10 out of 5 ... Chris and his staff are just awesome... the place is very very clean... I love the common area it is beautiful with ample room for everyone to have their own private space if they want...I stayed here for several weeks this winter and saw people I met before, back again... I never heard a guest say anything but WOW this place is great... When the electricity went out Chris made sure he kept us all up to date on when it might come back on... The food here is just awesome... from bacon and eggs in the morning to Chris's Red Thai Curry with Shrimp... my mouth waters thinking about it... Thanks Chris, Maria and all the staff... you you guys sure know how to treat people right... Jan

Room Tip: Room 2 is great by yourself... for a couple book room 1... both have private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Jan thanks for writing your review and giving out some tips for our future guests so they too can enjoy.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and my only worry was the electricity and internet cut outs which affected the city when you were here and all that we could do like you said was keep you informed.
We now have green curry and Malaysian curry too to add to the menu, hope to see you again.
Chris,Maria and the crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
Hotel Maharaja Boutique
#24 of 45 in Granada
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#19 of 45 in Granada
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing