We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all places could be as great at this”
Review of Hostal El Momento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Momento
Ranked #7 of 63 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If only all places could be as great at this”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here over Christmas and wish I had had more time there. Chris and all his staff are super friendly and knowledgeable and really make you feel safe and welcome. The garden patio is also a great place to hang out for a drink or dinner. Really good value too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalElMomento, Owner at Hostal El Momento, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we always try our very best to take and pass on what we know so thank you for this comment. We try to keep our prices down and we do get many comments on this because of what we offer and our location.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    91
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
96
105
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My brother and I stayed here our first time in Nicaragua and we really didn't know what to expect. It was a great place! Right away you notice how comfortable and cozy the place is, with bright colors, comfortable places to sit, and an outdoor patio in the middle. The staff was super friendly, spoke perfect English, and gave great recommendations on where to go and walk at night. The were always willing to help and able to answer any questions, it was very nice.
We stayed in the dorms which were very clean and comfortable. There were also two iPads and a shelf of books in the lobby, so you could never get bored. It was in a great location and just a great place to be for a few days =)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great time at Hostal El Momento. The reception guy was very helpful and informative. I appreciated the warnings on the doors about thefts in the city. They were very helpful about tips when walking around to avoid any problems. In the lobby there was a computer and two iPads to use. We had a private room off the kitchen. It was clean, a decent size and was good value for the price. I loved the actual hostel itself. It was a funky place with a beautiful courtyard in the middle. Staff were all friendly. I would recommend to anyone travelling to Granada!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I initially booked 5 nites and ended up staying almost 2 weeks! Not only was it clean, comfortable, centrally located and friendly they went out of their way to make us welcome and feel like we were at home. The staff was the best! They knocked themselves out to help us with anything we needed and a wealth of information about anything we wanted to do or anywhere we wanted to go. I cannot praise the Hostel and it's staff enough! I was sad to leave! Keep doing what you're doing because you're the BEST!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Initially having planned 3 nights in Granada we kept extending our stay not only because of the city but because of the combined package of the flair in town and in the hostel/hotel. As the private rooms here get booked alot we had to go to a different room almost every night as we kept extending which made us move our stuff daily but also gave us a good overview of ALL the private rooms. with exception of the dark little room next to the kitchen (which the owner told us upfront would not be as nice as the others, but also the cheapest) we liked all the rooms for what they are. The atmosphere here is so mellow and relaxing, especially for couples I would say. The staff always has a smile on their face and helps you with everything. That includes the few but amazing dishes on the menu. At any given time any member of the staff (including the owner) can whip out a hummus plate or the amazing green curry to pleasure your taste buds. Do-it-yourself laundry for 80C or the full service at 90-120C is the cheapest in town. Only thing missing for perfection is a pool, which in the heat of Granada can be missed dearly (there is the mombacho beach club nearby though, which charges 5$ for pool access. Tip: Book a 30min massage for 12$ and get all-day pool access for free - thats what we did at least). Even without the pool, this place is a clear recommendation!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, laidback hostel with an OUTSTANDING staff! They went the extra mile calling companies for the best mombacho rate. Very helpful! Good food at competitive prices. As a middle aged traveler I liked that it was also peaceful. I will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lloukx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hostal El Momento is in a wonderful location, and is very beautiful in a sincere Nicaraguan way. Me and my travel partner, however, found it unwelcoming, in a way that discouraged social activities. The walls of El Momento are plastered with rules, and every time the manager walks by it feels like your being watched by the police. I am not saying it is a bad place, it may be perfect for the type of traveler who wants their privacy and independence, however if your the type that likes to walk into a common room, say hello, and make a few new friends, this might not be the hostel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#17 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Momento

Property: Hostal El Momento
Address: Calle el Arsenal 104, Granada 0010, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 yr old Colonial House in the heart of Granada and a 2 min walk to Calzalda St. There is a bank on the same street and the others are less than 1 min away. We have a beautiful garden in the centre of the house with the bar, cafe, spa and all rooms surrounding it. We have used local artists and furniture makers to keep with this style of house.All privates have free Wifi, cable tv and secure safes.The dorms have lockers for all bags.All the bathrooms have new tiling , the beds are new with new mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing