We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is always good value”

Cafe de las Sonrisas
Ranked #14 of 168 Restaurants in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe of Smiles is staffed by deaf staff
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is always good value”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everytime I am in Granada visiting my friend who lives there I try to eat en el Garaje as the food is excellent . This visit was no exception with a great soup and a salad.To cap it all it is always good value. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful cafe with an even lovelier story”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was brought to Cafe de las Sonrisas by a friend. I had no idea what I was walking into but was immediately charmed by the cute cafe with palm trees and hammocks. I saw young people making hammocks in the attached workshop. I loved the peaceful nature of the place. Then I heard the story of the creation of the hammock business and the cafe that followed. The owner hires deaf and blind workers to create the "best quality hammock there is" and run the cafe. They also have programming intended to increase the usage of sign language and clean up the city. I feel even more in love after hearing the story and I hadn't even eaten yet. I had a vegetarian burrito and fruit juice for lunch- both delicious. Go to Cafe de las Sonrisas- there is no way you will leave without a happy stomach and a sonrisa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected find in the heart of Granada”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

One of the most popular items on the menu here for the hostel crowd is the brekkie special : a cup of coffee, a pastry and a cigarette.
Further down the menu there is another breakfast for the meat deprived traveller, all kinds of meat on top of a couple of scrambled eggs.
The owner serves the coffee and the chat with his native German accent still undiluted after years in the country. His stories alone are worth your while.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anamshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great place and a great owner”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

5 met with the owner who gave us a tour of the restaurant and the connected hammock workshop. Our lunch was very good. Had a beef burrito and it was good and filling. Some had smoothies which were very good. It is amazing that all the wait staff and cooks are deaf and mute. All ordering is by pointing at the picture menu or attemption sign language by looking a "signs" posted on the wall and trying to speak their language, very difficult. All the employees of the hammock workshop are also deaf and mute. The owner Antonio has given these people a reason to live and feel good about themselves. If anyone wants a hammock they are very well made and they will mail them to your residence or business. Great place to support people who are working very hard.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unforgetable and highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I would guess that everyone who comes to this unique restaurant will leave feeling happy. Housed in a colonial building, it is a small cafe with delicious food that is run by deaf mutes. The food is simple but very good. My Nicaraguan meal (rice, beans,fried bananas, queso de campo) tasted great and was a huge portion. I also liked the pasta with ham and cheese, chocolate crepes and the watermelon smoothies. We did not leave feeling hungry!
In the same courtyard as the restaurant is a hammock workshop which is interesting to see. The whole complex is run by the Tio Antonio charitable foundation, so the hammock makers are also physically challenged in some way (blind, deaf), but the hammocks are beautiful. It is a peaceful place with cats lounging on the old stone floors and a nice change from the chaos of the city streets.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitafromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe de las Sonrisas also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Cafe de las Sonrisas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing