We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything, clean, quiet, convenient and nostalgic...”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial in July with mi Chica and can't say enough nice things about it. Perfect location, walk to everything or a $2-3 cab ride for the discotheque Cesar, a great local club. The rooms are large, well appointed, A/C works well, hot water, flat screen TV, canopy bed, closets, what more could you ask for?? The building is a historic site that has undergone a full renovation and all systems are updated. Clean, well staffed, good restaurant for breakfast (only meals I ate there), 2 pools in the courtyards, just a lovely old place with a really nice feel to it. Price was moderate, parking could be a challenge I guess but Karma smiled on me and I had a space directly in front of the main entrance and never needed to move my car, truly in the middle of everything you need. Granada is a beautiful city with local artisans plying their wares, historic cathedrals to tour, excellent food and drink and good nightlife. I have to say, Granada is on my short list of best places to visit in Nicaragua and I don't think I'd stay anywhere other than The Colonial...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here twice on our last visit to Nicaragua. The rooms are amazingly spacious with classy, tasteful decor. The courtyard has two pools, and is equally attractive and a great place to hang out, even has a poolside bar!! The receptionists are friendly and bi-lingual, and even offered to help us make a reservation at a hotel in SJDS as our spanish was not quite good enough. Very close to the Parque Central, but amazingly quiet. Restaurant serves a great breakfast if you don't feel like venturing out (Kathy's Waffles is also a great option a couple of blocks away). The price is perhaps a bit high end for Nica ($65 for a double), but for what you get, I think it's an exceptional value. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

The entire staff in this hotel know the true definition of service. Every single time I saw a maid, a front desk person, a manager, a wait person I got a smile and a warm greeting. Everyone took the extra step to ensure our needs were met and surpassed.

The rooms were good (not great) but well appointed and quiet - and dark. I much prefer a dark room for sleeping, but can see how someone else might find the rooms a bit too dark and dreary.

The pools and gardens were well maintained and very clean. The breakfast included with the room was excellent - full Nicaragua breakfast!

We truly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to anyone. Get the blind massage next door if you do go. Juan Carlos and Marlon are the best.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
Thank Northof401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Like many tourists arriving in Nicaragua, we headed straight to Granada and to the Hotel Colonial. The front desk staff were helpful and courteous, and helped us get settled right away. We had a rental vehicle, and were confident that it was safe during the time we were there because of the attention of the evening security guard.
Our room (up front on the street side) was clean and comfortable - good bed and fine shower. Even though there was music and partying all evening, things got quiet at 11:00 and we slept well. Breakfast was quite good - we ate it by the pool and enjoyed our first glimpses of the sunny warmth with wonderful Nicaraguan coffee and fruit.
Located right next to the Central Park, which made it easy to access all sorts of amazing activities - we were there in the midst of the international poetry festival (brilliant) which brought all sorts of artisan vendors into the streets.
We would definitely stay at this bed & breakfast again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeKay_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Bang on the central square but both rooms we've stayed in were quiet. Showers aren't great but the rooms are generally well appointed and pleasant. Plenty of helpful staff about. Pretty uninspiring for the price compared to what you can get elsewhere in Granada, but a still a perfectly pleasant place to stay. Wifi didn't work.
Breakfast is poor quality - go to the Euro Cafe next door.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

after backpacking through costa rica and nicaragua I checked out this hotel with my girlfriend and a very nice room was shown to us for a very reasonable price. we immediately made a reservation with a very friendly concierge for the room with a credit card to come back in 2 days.

on our checkin day a woman was at the reception who first had some trouble finding our reservation and then gave us a keycard and told us to go to the second floor for our room (18). we went there and the room was not prepared at all. there was all kind of garbage from the old guests and it smelled. also the bathroom did not look anything like the bathroom in the room that was originally shown to us and the room also did not have a flatscreen tv (it does not matter THAT much, but still it was a completely different room).
so I went back to the reservation and asked if the room could be tidied up, after some misunderstanding from the woman at the reservation she called a guy to check out the room. he went up to the room with me but just went passed it and vanished. I waited in the room for 10minutes with my girlfriend until she said "let's move back to our old hotel".
but I did not want to give by anymore and went back to the reservation and demanded another room and said that we made the reservation for the nice looking room in the back of the hotel. after a little discussion another employee was called to show me a really nice room in the back of the hotel. I think those rooms are newly built and hence much nicer.
in the new room we spent a few really nice days!

the pools are very nice, not crowded, but pretty cool and the floor tiles could need some scrubbing from time to time.

the bar could be nice, but it opens sometimes at 12, sometimes at 1,2 or 2:30pm and in the evenings theres sometimes no one there for longer times (you could probably serve yourself, but I am not that kind of guy) and you've to ask at the reception for someone to come to the bar and serve you something.

the breakfast is not a buffet but served. you are not allowed to take anything yourself. seems nice but can be a bit bothering when you're on a schedule and would just like to drink a coffee and a juice real quick (the service there is not the fastest)

the location next to the central park is very nice but also very active

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n0rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

A perfect stay near everything. The rooms are big and there is hot water. The breakfast is well served.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing