We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colonial
Nearby Hotels
US$74
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dario(Granada)
US$88
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Granada(Granada)
US$105
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
496
156
30
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
156
30
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargreat locationthe main squarecentral parkhot waterair conditioningthe hotel is cleanhighly recommend this hotelrooms are spaciousdefinitely stay here againvisiting granadathree nightsbreakfast was includedcommon areasla calzadaan oasissmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

After reading the reviews, we looked forward to our stay here. The pool was great for an afternoon respite from the heat, but the area was cramped, the room dark, and the staff though friendly did not follow through with the help they promised. In fairness, since all of the hotels follow the Roman courtyard/cubicles plan perhaps all hotel rooms in Granada are dark, but the Chocomuseo layout seemed more open and interesting, charged less, had spa options, and was only 2 short blocks from the square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear Solo California

We could so far not find out when you checked in and why you where so disappointed while staying at the Hotel Colonial.

Yes, you might be right that Colonial Style Hotels in the oldest Colonial City of the Americas are not the whole day full with sunshine. The rooms look inside the gardens ... and the pools.

Anyway, we take your comments for very serious and try hard to be every day a part of a wonderful stay people visiting Granada.

I have as well to say, that it is not very correct to compare a chocolate course with a hotel.

We would appreciate getting concrete suggestions of you that we can continue trying our best to make our guests stay a special one. (info@hotelcolonialgranada.com)

Thank you very much soloCalifornia

Remo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am not usually one to complain, but our room needed help. We stayed in a suit for two nights. Our huge suit was very dark, with only one tiny window that let in minimal light from our "balcony". I would classify a balcony as something that one could walk out onto and have some privacy, not a main hallway that everyone walks through. The next issue I had is the shower, at 7am we have NO water. When I asked the front desk about it they instructed me to wait 3 minutes and try again. Apparently you cannot take a shower when they are filling the pool at 7am. Who wants a shower in the morning anyway? When we did finally have water I was surprised to find the shower drain had a sharp metal piece that sticks straight up into your foot (room 13- how lucky was I). These issues could be easily fixed and I hope after my suggestion before we left they are. I expect better bathing for $120/ night- I got better bathing for $25/ night in Peru.
Finally that front desk staff was less than helpful on multiple occasions. We asked about booking tours but the clerk seemed to have forgot- so we almost missed a tour we really wanted to do. When we were told "they are not answering the phone" after several requests my husband called directly and took care of it in minutes (he doesn't even speak very good Spanish).

Long story short- staff was not helpful and bathroom was dangerous. (Hopefully they fix these hazards)

Bonus- AC worked really well and the rooms are dark enough that you could sleep for days.

Room Tip: Avoid number 13!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yva_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This will be a very simple review: hotel is in a beautiful building at central location in Granada, right on the main square. They have ACd rooms, nice pool and bar. Good service; hotel is very clean. Nothing extraordinary, but everything that you need to enjoy your stay in Granada.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We recently spent a week at the Hotel Colonial, and have only praise for the property and the staff. The hotel is clean, comfortable and attractive; its breakfasts and bar are a good value, and all the staff are very helpful. An excellent spot to hang your hat while visiting the fascinating city of Granada.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of their suites or apartments. Good value.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel offers a really lovely interior courtyard surrounding a small swimming pool. This is a delightful and relaxing place to wind down after a day of touring. The restaurant serves a very nice breakfast, though there are just three choices: fruit with bread, fruit with bread and eggs, or fruit with bread and eggs and pancakes. The rooms,however, leave a lot to be desired. Not terribly clean, kind of musty, and pretty small. Nonetheless,the location and fabulous interior courtyard/bar/pool make this a great place to stay for a couple of nights. A few other downsides: no elevator, noisy street (but this is necessary to be in such a great spot), wifi only in common areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews