We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Staff and Excellent Customer Service”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

A group of us stayed at the Hotel Colonial for 2 days. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. More importantly the friendly staff was available to assist with anything from directions to laundry to nice places to eat. They were able to get my laundry to me and even got out some gum from a pair of pants. The owners also took time to greet the guests. An exceptional staff person was Daniela - she worked at the front desk. Her smile, willingness to assist people, and genuine diligence for her job was outstanding. She definitely gets a 5 out of 5 rating. When I return to Granada I will most definitely stay there again and would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dgivray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear "Dgivray"

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

Your compliments to Daniela got already forwarded to her. She was very pleased reading your lines.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We arrived in Granada on Friday evening just before 6, and were warmly greeted by the receptionist who recalled my e mail confirmation and commented that we were able to arrive a bit earlier than expected. We had barely turned away from the desk when the manager, Remo, introduced himself, offered his assistance with anything, and told us about the quirks in Granada's water delivery system. He urged us to call the desk if we experienced any pressure problems at any time. Our room 6 was spacious and nicely appointed. The only thing I minded was a slippery mattress cover/ mattress pad combination that allowed the fitted sheet to pull off when you moved in the bed. Also, I sometimes like a little blanket in addition to the sheet when sleeping under air conditioning, and the spread is a bit heavy for that purpose. The room colors are vibrant and in keeping with the exciting flavor of Granada and Nicaragua in general. The style of the hotel is such that there are not windows to the outdoors, and sometimes only high windows for ventilation. It makes the rooms dark, which is worth noting if you need natural daylight. Some rooms do have larger windows open to the courtyards. The artwork around the hotel was very pleasing to us, as was the use of color on table cloths and chair pads around the pool. The effect was quite lovely.

We rearranged the end of our trip to return to Granada for 3 more nights, instead of spending days in Managua before flying home. We were delighted by our room 36, which featured more space, two bathroom sinks, a rain shower and jetted tub. When our TV was not getting all the channels we had a week earlier, we mentioned the problem to Remo, and a technician was at our room in 15 minutes, rescanning the television and remote. We found this to be a typical response to any inquiry or problem. The service was friendly, prompt and professional.

Remo and his staff are happy to make any recommendations for dining, tours and directions. On a Sunday morning, we inquired about a city tour and boat trip to the Isletas. The owner of the hotel made a call and we were treated to a guided day by the lovely and informative, Gioconda. She is simply spectacular and our introduction to her reflects the care with which we were treated during our stay at this hotel.

The breakfast area near the pool is lovely and the wait staff is wonderful. We found everything clean and always being attended to by someone to make sure everything is first rate. When you are standing in the lobby, it is quite noisy, with the location being just steps off the main plaza. However, when you get to the pools or your room, it is a peaceful, lovely oasis of comfort and calm. We loved our stay at Hotel Colonial and thank Remo, Jacqueline, and the staff for their many kindnesses and care during our vacation in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on our first visit and had a lovely upgrade to room 36 on our return a week later. Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camera425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We'll check the slippery bedsheet and will solute the problem as soon as possible.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your husband again at Hotel Colonial in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua

Kind regards and best wishes from the whole Hotel Colonial Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We could only stay one night due to other scheduled travel, but felt very welcomed from the start. The manager greeted us in the lobby, said to let him know if we needed anything. Rooms just the right size, beautiful tile in bathrooms, 4-poster beds, very clean & comfy. All staff very helpful, except for one young man on desk duty that night- argumentative about room temp, asking for a fan, & whether or not he could flag a cab for us. Wished I had gotten his name, luckily other young woman on duty took care of our requests without delay. Be sure to stay here if you get a chance! Territraveler62

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you Terri for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial. Of course as well for more than just one day. So many things to do around Granada!

Kind regards and best wishes

Remo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The general manager is a European and I could tell that the hotel staff has been well trained. The breakfast was excellent, served in a beautiful courtyard. The location is great; half a block from the main plaza and the cathedral and a block from the main street, La Calzada, where all the action is. A great value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 353Doug353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Doug

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada to Michigan. Hope it's not too cold up there

Remo

Management
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

a really great hotel with a swimmingpool in the centre. Very nice and helpfull staff. The breakfast is great. The rooms have airco and TV and are clean. Just on the block is the centre of Granada. You can walk to see the highlights of the town. It is a really cosy hotel, comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Johan

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada down south to Costa Rica

Remo

Management
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed one night and would stay longer. The staff (with one exception) were all courteous and friendly. The hotel was much larger than you would expect given the front, with lots of areas to sit and with two small pools and a bar. Breakfasts were great and my wife received a rose for valentines day. Our room was cozy. Not big but just what we needed. We were located less than a block from the central plaza. A real gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melrosian500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear "Melrosian"

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada and all the best for you and your family

Remo

Management
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you are going to be staying overnight in Granada, you can;t miss this hotel! The rooms are spacious and compfortable with fans and air conditioning - plenty of shower power and hot water - even a hair dryer in the bath room; english and spanish cable tv with movies - wonderfully decorated halls and lobby with paintings thoughout. Wonderfully helpful staff - courtyard pool and bar - breakfast menu great. This hotel is just pff the main square - like 10 steps. You just can;t miss with this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Doug

Thank you very much for your very good comment. We try everyday as good as we can making our guests an unforgettable nice stay with us.

Doug, we hope to welcome you one day again and send you kind regards to North Carolina

Regards from Granada

The Management
Etienne Remo and Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £80 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing