We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Ford City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

The staff really made me feel special. Always asking if I needed anything. Owners were present and asking as well. Absolutely beautiful. If I am ever in Nicaragua again, I will make sure to circle around for a couple of days!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Marianne

We would like to thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor and look forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
135
218
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed everything about the hotel. More than helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, terrific breakfast and service. A flawless pick-up was arranged for us from the airport in Managua. The front desk personell and managers went out of there way to suggest restaurants and activities. So, inviting, we stayed additional 2 nights after a trip to Ometepe. If you are looking for a 4 star US hotel in Nicaragua you won't find one. After 2 weeks in Nicaragua, Hotel Colonial was the closest to luxury you will find and we highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nan241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear nan241

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Upon our arrival we had a problem with the reservations. Not the fault of the hotel, but Expedia. The managers went above and beyond to make it up to us. I don't think my family would have received even half of the service from another hotel. The hotel is very pretty and clean. It is in a great location and everyone who works here is thoughtful and professional. The managers lead by example which is a trait that is not found often anymore. We are sold on Nicaragua and we will return to this hotel. Please keep up the wonderful work it is rare to see.

Room Tip: Room 11 could have been an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Alicia

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

We drove in to the hotel at 5 pm and since there were 3 of us, we got a suite with 3 beds. It was lovely. It overlooked a courtyard where everything was in bloom. The hotel has 2 swimming pools, one of which is very secluded. We had breakfast in the courtyard that was beautifully presented. The hotel is right around the corner from the main square where the cathedral is located. There was live music in the square at night. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with my experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Nikki

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada

Management
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

A friend and I stayed there last night. Location and parking were good. Really has an authentic colonial look. The reception was helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable and the price was good value for the area. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was really good.
We were greeted by the friendly manager and his wife (I assume) this morning at breakfast and they were both charming. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Granada.
The only thing that I might recommend is better bed linens. I would pay extra for those, but for $70.00 per night that is really not a complaint.
Richard Ashley
Playa Langosta CR & Galveston, Texas

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear Richard
Thank you for your lines in Tripadvisor, and thank you as well for your comment concerning the bed linens. We will take care of it and include this comment for our next plans/adjustments.
We look forward seeing you again and having you as our guests again.

Kind regards to beautiful Playa Langosta from beautiful Granada.

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I live in Costa Rica and travel to Nicaragua frequently, but this last trip was the first time I stayed at the Colonial...I will now ONLY stay here. It may be a little pricier than some other options, but it is worth every penny. After stepping off the street adjacent to the main square, you are transported to a gorgeous oasis, with a lush courtyard, beautiful pools, and friendly, english speaking staff. We had breakfast at the hotel as well, and it was enough to keep us "fueled" up as we trekked around to all of the churches and landmarks. The rooms are clean, plush and warming. My next trip to Granda will be longer, just because I want to spend more time at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToroChingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear TC

Thank you very much for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and look forward to welcome you and your friends again at Hotel Colonial. Have a great time in Costa Rica.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just spent 3 weeks at the Hotel Colonial in Granada, Nicaragua. We were there for some time, since we were doing voluntary teaching. When we returned tired, late afternoon it was like coming home. Our room was very comfortable, we were lucky enough to have a swímming pool and a wonderful patio in front of our door. This hotel is so tastefully decorated.The staff were charming and could not do enough for us. In addition we met some charming and highly interesting fellow travellers there. Recommendation: that small snacks be served either in the restaurant or bar, from 12-14 and from 16-22 hours!
Our warm regards to Etien, Remo and the wonderful staff, Polly and Tomi, Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Dear Polly, dear Tommi

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial. We work on your suggestion concerning little Snacks served at Lunch and Aperitif time.

Kind regards

Jacqueline, Remo & Etienne
managers and owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing