We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing place, with gracious owners and staff.”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this place, and the people who work here. Beautiful and relaxing spot right in the center of Granada. We were there in early May, and the hotel was peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Reva

Thank you for you kind comment on tripadvisor. We are happy that you did like your stay in Nicaragua and with us. ... and if one day you should come back: be always welcome at the Hotel Colonial. We would look forward seeing you again.

Kind regards towards New Jersey

Jacqueline & Remo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here April 14 & 15 and then went back for another night. Place is beautiful great pool large rooms. Staff speak English and are very helpful. The owners are always around and gracious and entertaining. Great find in grenada

Room Tip: Room 15 was great. All. They need are hooks for wet suits and towels and will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Riva

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor and are very happy that you did like your stay with us.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo & the whole Hotel Colonial Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Five of my family memebers visited me in Granada in March 2013. I had never stayed at this hotel but I had visited many in Granada so that I might send them my recommendations and to verify availability. Thankfully, the Hotel Colonial Granada had space. It is situated right off the central park convenient to some of the best restaurants. Their rooms were beautiful and comfortable. But it was around the pools and courtyards that we spent most of our time together. When you pass the front desk towards the rooms and suites the first thing one sees is a pool with the most beautiful and largest bouganvillea I have ever seen. Stunning! All beautifully landscaped. There is a second cozy pool at the rear for the lovers. The restaurant and bar all beautifully appointed. Raymond, the manager (with his lovely wife), told me it was owned by a designer. Staff was professional and so sweet. Food and drink perfect. My cousins had a problem with air in their suite and it was immediately remedied. I was so pleased for my family. I can not say enough about it. But In a word...divine!

Room Tip: All seem good. Maybe more towards the rear of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Dan

We are happy that you did like your stay at Hotel Colonial and we look forward seeing you hopefully one day again.

Kind regards towards up north

Best regards

Remo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

"Overnighted" on the QT. Jacquelyn and Remo could not do enough to accommodate my impulse stay... , Great room, great breakfast, great location, great hosts, great company... will certainly do again...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orquideadelsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment.

We look forward visiting you with our parents at you beautiful place at Playa Yankee - Orquidea del Sur.

With my best wishes to southwest

Remo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here on my last three nights in Nica. I felt like the $70 a night that I paid for the room was a great value. The pool/pools were great. The property is really charming and the breakfast that was included was terrific. I really can't say enough about how great the staff are. The manager is on site and gave me some helpful advice on where to go for cigars.

My only complaint would be the low signal strength of the wifi which was almost non-existent in my room. That might just be how it goes in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Thail

Thank you so much for your nice comments. We are very happy that you did like your three day stay with us. Hoping that the recommendation with Mombacho Cigars was a good one and the recipient is happy with the ones you bought him.
Wifi: just some days ago we changed the company for the wifi signal. Everywhere outside the rooms is now happily very fast access. As the hotel is new constructed in 2000 and has thick walls, some rooms can have (depends where you surf in the room) a less fast access. But all over the open areas you surf now much faster than before.

We hope you'll come back one day. Would look forward doing so.

The whole Hotel Colonial Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The pool is truly gorgeous and ...that bougainvillea! We loved our stay here. It's the perfect location right off the main square but still quiet and peaceful. The management goes out of their way to make sure you're happy, offering up restaurant suggestions and arranging tours. The wifi was upgraded just before we arrived so we had good connections by the pool and in most common areas. it was spotty in my room but once i walked out to the terrace it was fine. The airport pickup was easy and hassle-free. Love this place and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Marthalena

Thanks verymch for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we look forward seeing you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Granada towards up north

Management
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We started off our visit to Nicaragua this March in Granada, and were happy to find the Hotel Colonial, which we had pre-booked for two nights, such a lovely place. The manager and owner came up to greet us as soon as we checked in. The staff at the hotel's bar and breakfast café were just as friendly and accommodating. We were lucky to have perfect weather during our stay so we used the pool quite often, and thoroughly appreciated the poolside bar, which opens daily around noon, for ordering quenching Toña beers and rum drinks. Though the hotel was just built in 2000, it definitely has the air of an old world colonial building. From the antique furnishings and handcrafted tiles to the vibrant bougainvillea climbing up the walls by the pool, the aesthetic is spot on. The hotel is exceptionally clean and tranquil. Since our room, on the main floor, didn't have windows, it was a bit dark, but all the better for sleeping. As soon as you walk out the door and onto the patio, you're in the hot sun, so it's all for the best to have a cool room to escape to. If I come to Granada again, I'll definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Madeline

Thanks a lot for your lines commenting us. We would very much look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial. If next time you wish to have a room with more ligt and bigger windows, just let us know. We will be glad arranging that for you.

Hope you have a good time back in New York.

Looking forward welcoming you again in Granada

Remo
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#13 of 45 in Granada
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condo Hotel Xalteva
Condo Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing