We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Granada”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I've been staying at this hotel annually for nearly 10 years now. My experiences continue to get better and better. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate and the pool is an oasis. It doesn't get better than this in the beautiful city of Granada!

Room Tip: I recommend room 19. It includes a balcony that overlooks part of the pargue central
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Fabian

Thank you very much for making promotion for beautiful Granada too. It is definitely not only the oldest city of the Americas, but as well a beauty itself. So many interesting attraction around Granada you can reach easily all in between 15 and 30 minutes.

We are happy that you liked your stay with us and hope to have you one day back again.

Best regards from ramada to Denver

Remo and the whole Crew of Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Colonial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights for the third time in 5 years
Probably the cutest hotel in town
In the center , nice colonial architecture pool and a small bar downstairs
Rooms are spacious clean and the owner Etienne is very helpful
I forgot the place seems very secure

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear "Jcbga"

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial.

Best regards from Etienne too

Management
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at the hotel Colonial for 5 days. We found the location a perfect place to have as our base camp, easy to get everywhere from the hotel. We also appreciated the staff- they helped with restaurants, taxis, and translating when in peril. The rooms were adequately appointed, especially enjoying the outdoor patio to take in their morning sun. The only negative is that the beds are hard as rocks- something we have found common at many hotels. Overall we came back to end our trip here again because of the staff and great location.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank AndreaPALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hi

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you liked staying with us.

Concerning our mattresses: more than 95% of guests prefer harder than softer mattresses. We tried to find a good solution and bought top quality mattresses.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Genersl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is one of Granada's jewels! Adjacent to the Parque Central and the Cathedral this little beauty is full of old world charm and first class service. The staff are extremely efficient and friendly and the rooms are impeccable. Remo Aere, the new manager as of last year, ensures that each guest is comfortable and encourages customer feedback.
This is my home away from home!

Room Tip: All the rooms are uniquely decorated with bright colours and furnishings.Try and get a room facing t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Mary

Thanks for your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are glad you liked your stay with us and we hope to see you again at Hotel Colonial. As you said: home away from home

Best regards from Granada

Remo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

For the second year in a row we have thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful facility, great accommodations and friendly/helpful service at the Hotel Colonial. I am one of more than a dozen members of a mission team serving in Nicaragua. Our last evening treat 2 years in a row has been to stay at this great hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed, colorful and so welcoming and inviting! This year I was fortunate to meet and spend time speaking with Remo Aere, the GM. With his enthusiasm and knowledge of the attractions in the area, I hope to come back before our next mission visit to spend more time here and fully enjoy some of the natural attractions of Nicaragua - including more time at Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Doug

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It was really a pleasure having you and your group at our hotel. An easy thing to serve so nice people as you are the best way possible. Thank you for promoting beautiful Nicaragua and Granada. As you said: some can spend many days in Granada to discover the beautiful and interesting surroundings and attractions "must see".

We are looking forward welcoming you again

Kind regards
Remo & the whole Crew of Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This place is beautiful, the interiors are stunning, great tile work. Room was quiet, everything else was excellent. Front desk VERY helpful! We were a bit worried about street noise as it is so close to the main square, but...not a problem!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear KJ

Thank you so much for your kind comment.

Yes, you are right, we are just 25 meters beside the main square and a 100 meters beside the Cathedral. Inside the Hotel you hear nothing from the rushy life outside. We are very happy about this sjtuation. Guests just love it coming back after a nice day tour to spend relaxed moments beside the pool in our lush gardens.

We are looking forward seeing you one day again at Hotel Colonial. Please let your friends know what a beautiful city Granada and beautiful country Nicaragua is.

Kind regards towards San Diego

Remo & the whole Hotel Colonial Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Upon arrival in Granada in January 2013, we had reservations for a 2 night stay at another major hotel located nearby. Due to an oversight, our room was not available. They did however, do us a favour by steering us to the Hotel Colonial Granada. And we were glad they did! We were accommodated with a large colonial-esque room with king-sized 4-poster bed. How romantic! Breakfast was included. And the rate was under $100/night. Management was exceptional (english-speaking from Switzerland). We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJcomingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada. We look forward welcoming you next at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards

Remo & the whole Hotel Colonial Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £63 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing