We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Attentive”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Attentive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a very well located, beautiful hotel with very attentive service. We stayed in a Jacuzzi equipped room with a small swimming room right outside which made for a very comfortable stay. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the deconstructed pricing with ended up adding about 10% to the bill. Not a lot but just felt nickel and diming. Would have preferred an all inclusive pricing. Otherwise, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear "D F"

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you did like your stay with us.

Concerning the pricing I have to say that hotel rates in Granada never include taxes. I would love to comunicate and include them from beginning on, but as all Hotels in Granada have the policy to add taxes on their room rates, we are obliged to make the same. Anyway, we always communicate the taxes or while reservations by mail, or for walk in guests while informing them about our room rates. Our reservation office and receptionist have these directions and actually always do so as far as I know. Sorry in case if you did not get this information.

Please send me a copy of this email to: remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com and I will forward you a voucher and offer you a 10% discount for your next stay with us. Please mention this voucher while making the reservation directly with: reservations@hotelcolonialgranada.com.

We are looking forward welcoming you next time at Hotel Colonial

Me and the whole crew wishes you a merry christmas and a happy, healthy New Year

Remo Aere
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
219
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here in August and I was blown away with this hotel. Right in the middle of where all the action is at in Granada. But the best part of this hotel is when you walk inside, you suddenly feel as if you are far away from the action as it is silent and peaceful. The rooms are very bright colored, authentic Central American decor. With dark cool comfortable and beautiful rooms. I am never one who likes to stay in a typical Americanized hotel when I travel abroad because I like to dive completely into the culture. There is a beautiful pool with a fantastic bar and all the rooms are slightly different for different guests. And just when I thought this was a quaint little hotel, the owner was kind enough to give us a tour. Somehow they have succeeded in making this larger sized hotel very quaint and somehow completely peaceful. They have rooms for families with attached kids rooms, rooms with jacuzzi tubs and there was even a second pool. The place was built perfectly to make you feel as if your staying in a 15 room place off the beaten path, but yet there were plenty of rooms with different options. The staff was incredible and breakfast was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I never really sleep well outside of my own bed and I travel quite often.. here, I slept a full 8 hours each night without waking up! The owners are incredibly kind people and Julien, who drives for them, was excellent as he drove us back to the airport in Managua. I cannot think of any hotel in the 14 countries I have been to where I just wanted to hang out at the actual hotel. And you cannot beat the rates either. If you stay in Granada, this MUST be the place you stay! Worth every low cost cent! <3 Cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear "sunnyaroundthe ....."

Thank you very much for your very detailed comments about Hotel Colonial. It makes us happy knowing when people feel like being home and feel like splurging around somewhere special. Notes like yours give us the energy to go forward and always trying to do a bit better than before.

We all are very much looking forward welcoming you and your friends again at Hotel Colonial in beautiful Granada.

From sunny Nicaragua to sunny Florida with our kindest regards
Have a merry Christmas and a very happy New Year

Remo Aere
General Manager

and all the staff of Hotel Colonial (will let them know about your compliments)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I always stay here when in Granada. You can't beat the location, literally steps off the main plaza. Very safe area for walking even for a single woman. Short walk to restaurants and the market place. Everything is right there and yet it is quiet inside the hotel rooms. The rooms are very large and clean. The beds are very comfortable. There are two pools and a nice courtyard area. Everyone was very accommodating. The only thing that was slow was getting waited on for breakfast as they didn't seem to know when people came in. Everything else was great, as always. I recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allpartoftheadventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hi towards Montrose from Granada

Thank you very much for your kind comments about Hotel Colonial. Especially thank you for your little complaint about waiting time to get served while breakfast. I did speak creatively with the Breakfast Crew this morning and told them to check more frequently if new guests arrived at the tables beside the pool (from the main restaurant is no direct visibility, so they have to walk from time to time out of the restaurant to check if new guests arrived at the three tables beside the pool) Thanks again to let us know about that.

We look forward seeing you again at Hotel Colonial and we all wish you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year

Kind regards

Remo
GM
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Right off the park/square,. this is a great spot, quiet and calm for a peaceful nights sleep, but close enough to be right in the action. Easy to get to all the tourist spots from here, a great home base. The restaurant has good food, and the staff is definitely ready to get you whatever you need. Everyone from the bellman, front desk staff, to bar tenders, and maids, make a big effort to attend to all your needs. We were on the second floor, it was really quiet at night, even with loud fireworks going off in the square. The pools are little chilly as the sun doesn't hit them for very long, but both pools have a swim up bar and great lounge chairs. Definitely worth a few extra dollars. Its a great place for people passing through on business, or people looking for a "home base" to explore Nicaragua from.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms seem to be quieter, but if you have bad knees, stay on the first floor, the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americangirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Hello American Girl from Big Corn Island

Thank you very much for your kind comments and compliments concerning Hotel Colonial. I will let the staff know that you (and many other guests) are very happy with the way they host our guests. Thank you for staying with us and be always welcome at Hotel Colonial in beautiful Granada.

With my kindest regards to the beautiful Caribbean Big Corn Island

Remo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent three nights here, paid for two and got one night free with a deal. I wish we'd spent 10 nights! The rooms are wonderful, housekeeping was great and thorough. The lovely little pool is a great place to unwind. Location is great - right at the downtown square. But the best thing about Hotel Colonial was the staff. Each and every person we encountered could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had tons of questions each day about attractions, directions, etc. And every question was thoroughly answered with an enthusiastic smile and a great attitude. They treated us like family. I don't think I've ever been at a hotel where people were nicer and more accommodating.

Parking is a little dicey, but that's true all over Granada. We were able to park immediately out front of the entrance most times, but the street is narrow and your car is at a bit of risk for damage. The other option is a pretty long walk. But that was a small price to pay for such a lovely stay. I'd definitely come here again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Jim

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. I will forward your compliments to our employees with great pleasure.

Yes, parking space is not too much in Granada, but we have two blocks away a new 24h guarded and in-house parking. Costs per night is US$ 2.-. Most of the time guests are able to park their car just in front of the hotel.

We are very much looking forward seeing you again in Granada and happy welcoming you at Hotel Colonial.

Remo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This hotel is a treasure. The rooms, the decor, the pools, the breakfasts, and overwhelmingly the caring of the personnel-from owner to the person who makes up your bed. Don't miss it. The proximity to the square and restaurants is an added feature.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hsilverphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear "Hsilverphd"

It was a pleasure reading your lines. Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My husband, daughter and I have now stayed at Hotel Colonial three times and it is our home away from home. Excellent attention is paid to all details, the rooms, the breakfast, the cleanliness, and most especially the staff. They are wonderful, kind, helpful and friendly, no matter who or what they do. They feel like family. My special time is early mornings, sitting outside on the terrace by the pool and breakfast room. Peace and relaxation - not something I've been that familiar with at home. My husband and daughter enjoy "hanging" at the bar late afternoon and evening, meeting wonderful people from all over the world and trying out their Spanish with Claudia, Jennifer, Arlen, Lara, Luis, Mario, and Maria. They are all determined that we will learn. The hotel is perfectly located to enjoy and experience Granada - a city to be treasured.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Lynda

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards to you, your husband and your daughter

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing