We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Half a block from the central park, this is a great value in Granada. This hotel reminds me of something from Antigua, Guatemala, with its colonial feel. The staff is great. The food is OK. The rooms are comfortable. I stayed here 2 nights and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua look forward to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada to my favored city in the US, San Francisco :-)

Remo
General Manager
and the Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    147
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
138
222
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The price is reasonable and front desk staff are friendly, but you get what you pay for. The access into the hotel is difficult, with traffic zooming by inches from the steps into the hotel, with no handrails, and no bell service to help with luggage. There is no elevator if you are not on the main floor, and stairway is steep and tough to manage. They advertise WIFI but it is only available in the lobby area and in the restaurant/pool area on the main floor. The breakfast ($7.00 per person) was ok but the service was extremely slow and the servers were at very best indifferent. They certainly didn't seem to enjoy their work, and the girl who waited on a group of us in the cocktail lounge during the evening cocktail hour didn't have a clue about types of alcohol, mixing drinks, etc. She clearly didn't 't belong in that position. The rooms are rather outdated in terms of decor, and the bathroom shower varied between burning hot and cold water over the course of the 4 minute shower I took, but at least it had hot water available, and clean towels. We will stay at the nearby Hotel Colon next time, instead. That place costs a little more, but service is reported to be excellent and breakfast is included, whereas at this hotel, breakfast (with it's lackluster food and service) cost extra, which ends up being more expensive when is all said and done.

Room Tip: The street is very noisy, so be sure to close the balcony door and use your air conditioner to drown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Good morning

Please let me know the dates (date of check in and date of check out) you have stayed at Hotel Colonial. Like this I can speak with the respective people who worked that day. Concerning your other complaints I will get in touch with you with a entire response on this Tripadvisor platform.

my e-mail is: remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com

Thank you and kind regards

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel Colonial is really well run. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are super clean, and the breakfast was very good (and reasonably priced). At my request, the hotel staff arranged for a car to pick us up from Managua. The ride was flawless. The hotel staff also arranged a tour of Las Isletas, which was a perfect way to enjoy an afternoon. The pool is small, but very clean and an enjoyable place to relax. The hotel is ideally located just steps off the main square.

My only comment is that based on the pictures of the rooms on their website, you might think the beds might be really old and dusty because of the old school decor (four post beds and hanging fringe). It was the opposite. The mattress felt brand new and everything was immaculate. I slept like a baby for my entire stay.

I highly recommend staying at Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Alex

I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments about Hotel Colonial. I am happy that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Yes, you are right, if some looks at the pics of the rooms (Colonial Style) some could think that it is a kind of older Hotel. Thats what we have to accept. It's quiet difficult to get this impression away just seeing the pics. I will talk to a Photographer if this impression can get pictured away ... Maybe he has a solution. Anyway, better this way than the other way around and you had a positive and surprising experience.

We all are looking forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial

Kind regards

Remo Aere
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night in Granada. The hotel is very central, and the service is attentive and helpful.

The room we stayed in however was dark and dank, with only a very small window onto the courtyard. In addition, we felt overcharged for our taxi to the airport. That said the room price was competitive.

This is a fine hotel to stay in, in Granada. It is just not outstanding.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Rooms 14 or 15. The rooms are right behind reception, and are very dark. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear James

Thank you for commenting us on Tripadvisor.

Your room: Room 14 is a quiet big room with 2 queen beds and lots of space to move. It is facing the main pool and has a small window to the courtyard. As Granada is a Colonial City and all houses and hotels are mainly constructed towards the courtyards, you very hardly get a very bright room, except you have one in the second or third floor or a room towards the street. Anyway I am sorry that you would have preferred staying in another room. As we where fully booked while your stay, a room change would note have been possible.

Transfer to the airport: Regular rate is US$ 50.-. (New car, A/C, and in safe conditions) This is what you paid. If you catch a taxi on the street (mostly old and not very safe cars without A/C) it is possible that you get a rate in between US$ 35.- and US$ 40.- for the 1 hour ride to the airport. Please let us know if the quality of the transfer was not OK. (remo@hotelcolonialgranada.com) We would act in this case right away.

However, it seems that you liked your short night stay with us. We try hard to get better and better and are never just satisfied when guests are happy. Thank you for your comments and hope to see you one day again in Granada.

Kind regards
Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We took a one-night tour from Costa Rica to Granada, and the tour company booked the Hotel Colonial because their first choice (The Best Western Al Mirante) was booked. We really lucked out! Everything about the Colonial is charming. It's a relatively new hotel designed in the hacienda style. New means everything works! The managers, a delightful Swiss couple, were cheerful and greeted guests. The front desk staff was gracious and efficient, and very helpful when we needed directions, maps, etc. There are two swimming pools (both deliciously warm). Breakfast in the courtyard offered several options, including waffles and a fruit plate, but we had the tipico breakfast with eggs, rice and beans. Convenient location a few steps from the central park meant lots of people watching, photography, and strolling. We'd happy stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoupchickRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our hotel. I do appreciate that and it shows me that we are doing most things correctly. Comments like yours make us happy, but not sleeping. We try all to get better in little and big things.

I hope to see you one day again in beautiful Nicaragua and would be happy if your choice would be again Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards

Remo and Jacqueline
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a review, so I'll be brief. Everything about this place is exceptional: the staff, the decor, the accomodations, the bar, the pool. All well maintained, beautiful, helpful. Just great. Only one teeny tiny downside and I'm not sure it's attributed to the hotel... we arranged to be picked up at the airport with the hotel and waited over 90 minutes for our driver who never showed up...UNTIL we were about to hop in another taxi. Probably a misunderstanding. So just get yourself there and relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: I had room 30 which was at the way end of the hotel, but there is a somewhat private pool there, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinzgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi

Thank you for your very nice comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you liked your stay with us and we hope that one day you will come again.
Sorry for the confusion at the airport. This was a mix up with your friends who arrived 1 ½ hours before you did.

Kind regards towards San Francisco (one of my favored places of the world - great city!)

Remo
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little jewel with all the things needed for a relaxing and peaceful retreat. Sitting at the pool in one of the patios, listening to the sounds of water and feeling the soft breeze, creates a perfect atmosphere to read a book, write your diary or just let your thoughts wander.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Google Translation
Liebe Simone, lieber Thorsten

Ganz herzlichen Dank für Euren netten Kommentar auf Tripadvisor. Es war eine Freude Euch bei uns zu haben. Wir hoffen, dass es das nächste mal ein paar Tage sein werden damit Ihr Granada noch ein wenig besser kennenlernen könnt.

Ganz herzliche Grüsse an Euch und an unsere Heimatstadt Basel

Jacqueline und Remo
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#2 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing