We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colonial
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estrada(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dario(Granada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
496
156
30
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
156
30
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargreat locationthe main squarecentral parkhot waterair conditioningthe hotel is cleanhighly recommend this hotelrooms are spaciousdefinitely stay here againvisiting granadathree nightsbreakfast was includedcommon areasla calzadaan oasissmall pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Hotel Colonial is a beautiful, old world building with lots of lovely courtyards and porches to sit on. We loved the outdoor spaces, Raymond, the general manager, is wonderful and so accommodating, the cooked breakfast is delicious. But......there were some glitches: there was no water when I went to shower and no answer when I called. It took a trip to the desk by my husband to get the water working. The lights outside the rooms weren't on the two nights of our stay, so I turned them on, only to go back outside and find them off again, leaving the staircases very dark. I trust that Raymond will continue to work out these issues and make this a first class hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Hi „gagardener“

Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. I am happy that you liked your stay with us.

Sorry for the two cases you got disturbed:

Unanswered phone call:
I was talking to our Recepcionist who remembered the moment she "could not" take the phone and you came to the Recepcion to let us know that there is not enough water pressure. I told her that if in future, even if somebody talks to her at the Recepcion, taking the telephone has always very first priority. It should not happen anymore that the phone is not taken on our 24h occupied Recepcion.

Light off by the stairway:
This was definitely a mistake of our evening or night guard who did switch off this light. Our regulations are clear that lights have to be on during the night. Especially lights on stairs and walk ways for safety reasons.

It was tough to get a three star quoting (would be happy if you would correct it a bit upwards) as you did like your stay very much and gave us the note: „Lovely Hotel“, but of course I do accept if you keep it that way. (it helped made us falling from place 6 to seven)

I wish you both a great time and hope to see you one day again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards towards Georgia

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We own a hotel in Costa Rica and understand the challenges of operating a hotel in Central America. The owner, managers and staff at Hotel Colonial have woven modern day expectations with old world charm. The hotel is actually new construction, however we thought it was a revamped old building! They recreated the charm and character of old Granada. The location is perfect on a narrow, cobblestone street off Central Park. Horse and buggies going by...it all blends together, creating an historical experience with the modern day comforts. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very attentive, including the man that took our luggage from the curb to our room.
Cheers to them and for their continued success. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms face the inner courtyard and the 2 separate pool areas.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Steve

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With our kind regards from Granada towards Costa Rica

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent three nights in this charming hotel adjacent to Parque Central. After checking in we noticed a transom style window over the door and no window covering. My wife's sleep is easily disturbed by light in the room so this was a real concern. We spoke to the person at the front desk and she cheerfully replied that although she wasn't sure how, something would be done to rectify this situation. When we returned from out tour of the city about 3 hours later, the window was covered and we had no further problem from it! A true representation of the service from the cheerful and personable staff of Hotel Colonial. The one minor drawback at this hotel is strength of wi-fi in rooms. We worked around it and are hopeful that this well managed hotel will soon find a fix for the wi-fi. I should mention that it worked well in the common areas by pool and bar, just a few steps from the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Peter

Thank you for your nice comment. I will forward your compliments to our Front Desk and Maintenance Staff. I saw a few days ago the towel fixed on the door window. Did not know why it was there, but now happy that it was a good extra service for you.

Receive our kind regards from Granada and we hope to see you one day again. Be always welcome

Remo & Crew
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I recently returned from Costa Rica. Part of our tour included a stop at this beautiful hotel perfectly situated in the heart of the city. The hosts impressed us with their gracious welcome. I loved our balcony room that allowed us to look into the courtyard of the hotel and over the rooftops of the city. We were within a very short walking distance of the street nightlife and city square. Breakfast poolside in the courtyard was lovely. Would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves returning to Granada.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Linda

Thank you very much for commenting us on trip advisor. We are happy that you liked your stay with us. Be always welcome at Hotel Colonial.

Regards towards beautiful Vancouver from Granada

Remo & Crew
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We loved this place! Yes, the traffic was inches from the steps in, (true there was no one to take our luggage to our room and no elevator. True the rooms were darker (our interpretation was romantic!)as were the open air corridors leading to them. That said, we were enchanted by the decor, the furnishings, the old world ambiance, the bar area, the entrance area and the pools. Being overheated, I immediately made use of one of the two pools housed within the inner courtyard and relaxed in the comfortable lounge chairs in the very tranquil setting and just laid back and looked up to the open sky. The busy street outside was not at all evident! Our room was lovely and the bathroom was so cool. We were in the middle of the downtown and walked to the square area and dinner. Our breakfast was really nice and fast. We found the staff to be friendly and the owners to be kind and attentive. They personally greeted each of us as we arrived and talked to us as we were leaving. In English! My husband especially enjoyed Claudia at the bar as she was helpful with his Spanish. Our only regret was staying just one day. We were a group of 14 and all agreed!

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs, request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Searay91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear "Searay91"

Thank you very much for your very nice comment who covers a little another opinion that really did hurt the whole Crew of Hotel Colonial. Your comment makes us feeling a bit better now!
We all would look very much forward welcoming you again in Granada and hopefully at Hotel Colonial. Be always very welcome!

With kind regards towards Wisconsin and best wishes for you and your beloved ones

Jacqueline and Remo
General Manager
Hotel Colonial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews