We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why go anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“Why go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Colonial in three different occasions. Not once have I been disappointed. Reasonably priced, clean, very nicely done suites. Staff excellent and its owner, a delight. The breakfast was more than I can eat, and so delicious. Enjoyed the pool. I will be returning in March and I am looking forward to staying there again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Nora

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. We are looking forward seeing you again in March.

With kind regards from Granada towards Seattle

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
135
218
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently visited Granada, and really enjoyed this little city, but our accomodations far exceded our expectations. The Hotel Colonial is a very beautiful and comfortable hotel, in the area of Parque Central. The rooms are very clean, and the court yards with pools very enjoyable. Jacqueline and Remo were great hosts and very friendly, and had a very competent staff. They made a point of greeting you at breakfast every morning. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh, and the hotel was very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay here again...one of the many treats in the Beautiful country of Nicaragua!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeGuinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Diane

Thank you so much for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Knowing that our guests are happy while their stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you.

We hope you will come back one day to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With kind regards

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We've been all over Nicaragua for the last 8 years so we've seen a lot to compare to. This hotel is by far, the friendliest and most down to earth experience. Rooms were clean, air conditioned and nicely maintained. They provide in-room safes for your valuables, they are strict with their security, and blessedly, they have hot water in the showers which not all Nica hotels have (and they do have water back up storage when the town water is out. Lights and electricity is not a "given" in Nicaragua). Breakfast is huge, fresh and delicious. The surroundings are lovely with the interior open courtyards and 2 pools. We had space to entertain my godson and his family around the back pool without disturbing anyone else. Ramon was gracious and inviting and there was not one staff member that didn't go out of their way to help in any way they could. They only complaint I have is not with the hotel but the guests. This hotel is non-smoking however, there are those who do not seem to think this rule pertains to them. Oh well, what are you going to do???

Room Tip: First floor to the back was so quiet and peaceful, didn't hear a thing except the fountains in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Leslie

It was a pleasure reading your comment about Hotel Colonial. I am happy that you did like your stay with us.

Yes, you are right. Sometimes smokers do not care too much whom is around them. While breakfast hours it is not allowed to smoke in the areas where guests are eating. In all closed rooms it is not allowed neither. In other outdoor areas guests are allowed to smoke. It is very difficult for us to check if smokers respect non smokers in these areas. I was a smoker too (very happy that I did quit) and took always very much care that I do not disturb nobody when I smoked outside. I would say that most smokers act like this, but ...

Thank you Leslie for staying with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we hope that one day we'll see again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards towards New Hampshire

Remo & Jacqueline Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just left Grenada and will miss this little hotel oasis. I had hoped to stay at the Colon, but it was sold out. After having a drink on the patio of the colon, I realized staying there could be an issue due to noise and lots of bus traffic.
The Colonial is right around the corner and when you walk in, you get away from noise and are greeted by the friendly, very competent staff. The manager Remo, made a point to walk around and greet everyone and was like the rest of his staff very helpful when needed. Our room, #35 a suite, was comfortable and inviting. WiFi was very sketchy, TV OK, air conditioning very good, and room very clean. Bed was too firm for my liking but tolerable.Breakfast was OK, but with so many options within a short walk, it was nice to experience different places.
I would recommend it and will stay there again. A nice, warm inviting spot.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandiSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Sandi

Thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you did choose Hotel Colonial and would look very much forward welcoming you and your beloved ones again.

Kind regards towards California from Granada

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel Colonial is a beautiful, old world building with lots of lovely courtyards and porches to sit on. We loved the outdoor spaces, Raymond, the general manager, is wonderful and so accommodating, the cooked breakfast is delicious. But......there were some glitches: there was no water when I went to shower and no answer when I called. It took a trip to the desk by my husband to get the water working. The lights outside the rooms weren't on the two nights of our stay, so I turned them on, only to go back outside and find them off again, leaving the staircases very dark. I trust that Raymond will continue to work out these issues and make this a first class hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gagardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hi „gagardener“

Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. I am happy that you liked your stay with us.

Sorry for the two cases you got disturbed:

Unanswered phone call:
I was talking to our Recepcionist who remembered the moment she "could not" take the phone and you came to the Recepcion to let us know that there is not enough water pressure. I told her that if in future, even if somebody talks to her at the Recepcion, taking the telephone has always very first priority. It should not happen anymore that the phone is not taken on our 24h occupied Recepcion.

Light off by the stairway:
This was definitely a mistake of our evening or night guard who did switch off this light. Our regulations are clear that lights have to be on during the night. Especially lights on stairs and walk ways for safety reasons.

It was tough to get a three star quoting (would be happy if you would correct it a bit upwards) as you did like your stay very much and gave us the note: „Lovely Hotel“, but of course I do accept if you keep it that way. (it helped made us falling from place 6 to seven)

I wish you both a great time and hope to see you one day again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards towards Georgia

Remo Aere
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We own a hotel in Costa Rica and understand the challenges of operating a hotel in Central America. The owner, managers and staff at Hotel Colonial have woven modern day expectations with old world charm. The hotel is actually new construction, however we thought it was a revamped old building! They recreated the charm and character of old Granada. The location is perfect on a narrow, cobblestone street off Central Park. Horse and buggies going by...it all blends together, creating an historical experience with the modern day comforts. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very attentive, including the man that took our luggage from the curb to our room.
Cheers to them and for their continued success. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms face the inner courtyard and the 2 separate pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaSteveandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Steve

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With our kind regards from Granada towards Costa Rica

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent three nights in this charming hotel adjacent to Parque Central. After checking in we noticed a transom style window over the door and no window covering. My wife's sleep is easily disturbed by light in the room so this was a real concern. We spoke to the person at the front desk and she cheerfully replied that although she wasn't sure how, something would be done to rectify this situation. When we returned from out tour of the city about 3 hours later, the window was covered and we had no further problem from it! A true representation of the service from the cheerful and personable staff of Hotel Colonial. The one minor drawback at this hotel is strength of wi-fi in rooms. We worked around it and are hopeful that this well managed hotel will soon find a fix for the wi-fi. I should mention that it worked well in the common areas by pool and bar, just a few steps from the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Peter

Thank you for your nice comment. I will forward your compliments to our Front Desk and Maintenance Staff. I saw a few days ago the towel fixed on the door window. Did not know why it was there, but now happy that it was a good extra service for you.

Receive our kind regards from Granada and we hope to see you one day again. Be always welcome

Remo & Crew
General Manager
Hotel Colonial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing