We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great management and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great management and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed with four other friends at Hotel Colonial in January 2014. It has a perfect central location enabling us to walk everywhere. We had a situation at the end of the trip come up and the Swiss owners were very accommodating and understanding of the situation. They were friendly and extremely personable. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and clean. We had a room facing the street and surprisingly we did not hear any street traffic! The balcony area was a great perk as well. The staff was also exceptionally friendly. The pool area and swim up bar were magnificent and the food was great. I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Emma

It was a pleasure to read your lines. Nice to start a sunday like that :-)

I am very happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. I will forward your compliments to our employees. Comments like yours give us the energy to go forward and trying always to make things tomorrow better than today. Thank you!

Have a wonderful summertime and see you hopefully soon again at Hotel Colonial

With kind regards

Remo
General Manager
and the whole Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    146
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
136
219
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Colonial in 2013 ... and fell in love with Granada during our stay. The hotel is perfectly located right off of Central Park so all of the best sites are only minutes away. The rooms are clean, air conditioned and very comfortable. The prices are very reasonable for Granada ...not the highest or the lowest ... definitely a great value! The pool is inviting with a swim up bar which connects to an actual bar where you can relax and enjoy the day. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Granada.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Marti

Thank you very much for your kind reply. Happy to hear that you liked your stay in 2013 and that you choosed Hotel Colonial for your stay this time in Granada.

As you are living now in Granada, we unfortunately will not have you as a guest with us, but be always welcome at our Pierrot Bar for a refreshing Mojito or a glas of wine.

Kind regards and all the best
See you soon
Remo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff and manager of this hotel were extremely wonderful and helpful and made you feel very welcomed. The hotel was nice and clean and had a wonderful pool. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Edwin

Glad to hear that you liked your stay with us and thank you very much for your kind comment.
Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a quaint, beautiful hotel tucked in a busy neighborhood. The pool was refreshing, very clean, and the atmosphere beautiful. The pool bar and servers were very nice. It's a quick walk to the main street with all the restaurants an the main square. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was very delicious and hearty. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are exploring Granada.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfultraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This air-conditioned hotel is super clean, beautifully decorated with all the modern comforts we needed. It is perfectly situated right off the square in Granada and near coffee shops, restaurants and all the sights. The rooms are extremely spacious and well-appointed. Ice-cold bottled water is readily available and reasonably priced. The staff (all of them) are absolutely wonderful. They provided fantastic service for us at every turn from help with the bags (in and out), directions, restaurant recommendations, and everything in between. Attentive management and super wi-fi. We are highly recommending this property and staff to our family and friends.

Room Tip: The family suites are particularly wonderful. The loft is great for the kids leaving a nice private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BankOpsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear "BankOpsGuy" - funny name :-)

It was a pleasure reading your lines. Thank you so much for your kind comments. Knowing that you where happy while your stay at Hotel Colonial, gives us the energy trying to make everything as pleasant as possible for you and our other guests.

We hope you will come back to beautiful Granada and would look forward welcoming you again at Hotel Colonial.

With our kindest regards to you and your family

Remo and Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel got nice old world charm and a lot of character. it is beautiful decorated.
The room was very nice and comfortable.
Wonderful staff and great service.
The location is great. close to the central park and the main touristic street.

Really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Dafna

Thank you very much for commenting on us on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward seeing you again in beautiful Granada/Nicaragua and hope to welcome you again at Hotel Colonial.

Kind regards from Granada

Remo
General Manager
and the Hotel Colonial Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love this hotel. This was our second trip to Granada and second hotel. This hotel has a great deal of character and is very beautiful inside. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the service is amazing.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and if you want to be close to the bar and pool, select a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurence_baird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Laurence

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are happy that you liked your stay at Hotel Colonial. Be always welcome and we hope to see you again.

With kind regards from Granada

Jacqueline, Remo and Crew
Hotel Colonial
Granada, Nicaragua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
4.7 mi away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing