We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Bargain.”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
133
Reviewed 31 July 2005

I went to Nicaragua in January to escape the unusual rain and the winter cold. Did I mention I live in San Diego, California? Yes, San Diego is hard to beat, but the sunny warm weather of Granada, the bilingual employees at Hotel Colonial, the charming appeal of the hotel, the beautifully kept pool and site, and the easy check in and check out was quite welcoming for me. And the price, my gosh, I paid US $75.00 per night for what they call an apartment on the second floor with a view of the pool, and a full kitchen, and A/C.

In addition, the hotel is centrally located, just steps from el Parque Central and the Catedral. Overall it was just an incredibly pleasant experience in a small hotel with a lot of character just like the Nicas (Nicaraguans).

I would go back any December or January.

Rick

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2005

Very well appointed rooms were clean and large with a small balconey. Staff were helpful and the pool was great

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank inuvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2005

We found this hotel to be very nice for the price. Room was very large and quiet. We would stay there again if ever in Granada

11  Thank Terrylee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2004

A great location just off the main plaza and three blocks from the municipal market, the Hotel Colonial has large rooms, canopied beds, and a wonderful breakfast with a choice of traditional Nica food or American style. The beautiful tiled pool sits in an inner courtyard and has a bar you can order from while sitting in the pool.

10  Thank dustycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, Michigan
116
Reviewed 12 April 2004

I think the Hotel Colonial is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed at. Luis at the front desk was extremely helpful. He gave us ideas as to where to eat and what to do. It was very clean and our room was furnished well. It is centrally located in Granada, so it was easy to get just about anywhere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to vacation in Granada.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcolonialgranada, Director General at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Granada
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: Calle La Libertad | Central Park, 25 mtrs to the West, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Family Hotel in Granada
#7 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £66 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is your tranquil oasis in the very heart of Granada. . It is the perfect base for you to explore the rest of this wonderful country. On the shores of Lake Nicaragua, Granada is the oldest Colonial City in the new world. Hotel Colonial was built in 1999; it was created having in mind the colonial style of the older houses in Granada. We have 37 rooms. Ten of them are Suites and two are Apartments. All rooms have king size bed or two queen size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom, cable TV, direct phone. Our front employees are all bilingual trained. Our restaurant prepares you a complete la carte breakfast with many options to choose from. We guarantee our team will always work hard so that you spend a wonderful time at Hotel Colonial. Welcome, Bienvenido, Bienvenue, Herzlich Willkommen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing