We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and good location.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

It's very attractive with beautiful courtyards a lovely clean pool and spacious, comfortable rooms. The location is very convenient for the central square, but still very quiet and peaceful. There were a good choice of breakfasts and they were very enjoyable. There was a computer with internet and wi fi for guests to use. Our only problems were with organisation as the hotel email address we used when booking had changed and they forgot to pick us up from the airport. When we managed to contact them and ask them to collect us from the then closed airport, they put us in the wrong room for the first night. However, they made the necessary changes and gave us a meal at one of their other businesses to compensate and we enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    38
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
43
63
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

It is a pretty place and private. There are only a few rooms. We stayed in Volcano Mombacho room upstairs and it was nice. We could sit outside and relax a bit. The hotel is only few min away from the main square on a quiet street. Breakfast is ok - meets the Nicaraguan standard. There is also a small pool. Didn't see anyone using it though.

The hotel itself is lovely but the room was quite basic. There was nothing wrong with it but I guess I expected a slightly better standard. Good for Nicaraguan standards though.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs as they are more private. There are only two. We stayed in a room called Volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Visited this place early in February. Has WiFi and so much more! What a special atmosphere this place has. The bathroom in the room I was in had A blue and a scarlet Macaw painted on the wall. The stucco was comming apart from the wall which was sad as the painting was on this wall. i took a photo. Wished I had of taken more photo's. Right outside the room is this pool and the water is a beautiful clear blue and it is inside the hotel. Down stairs there are only 4 rooms and this place costs from $80 to $120/night. I just can stop thinking about this place and I want to go back next year for a week. I feel like a Roman in his palace while I'm here.

Room Tip: Walk in the door and pick one. None of the rooms down stairs around the pool are bad. It is so sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel was so perfect in every way. I usually do not write reviews...I'm much too lazy. However, I promised the hotel that I would sign up for tripadvisor simply to write them a review, because our experience at the hotel was so fantastic.

For the amount that we were paying, I wasn't expecting much more than a few notches above your typical hostel, but we were in for a wonderful surprise.

The accommodations were so beautiful. It had all the local quaintness with all the modern conveniences. We stayed in the Volcan Masaya suite. Walking in, there was an open area with a chaise and small table. Then, turning to the right was the sleeping area. I feel like these rooms were designed to make the best use of natural light. The bed was comfortable and clean (which doesn't happen as often as you'd think in Nica). As for the bathroom...it was roomy and gorgeous. A nice bathroom isn't usually on my list of requirements for a bathroom...but it certainly doesn't hurt! The A/C actually worked and we even had Wifi in our room.

As for the breakfasts, they were so delicious. We ate breakfasts in other towns in Nica and none of them came close. The juice was fresh and changed everyday. Passionfruit, pineapple, orange, and papaya - and every single one of them was delicious. The eggs were also exceptional. Overall, so so so good.

The location is close to main areas in Granada, however, it's located on a quiet street. You get the best of both worlds. The hotel also closes its gates once all the guests are in their rooms. There was actually a man waiting for us to come back before he closed the gates.

The front desk service was also fantastic. They helped us with whatever we needed. They made reservations for restaurants for us and helped us find reasonably priced transportation. (Random Tip: Go to Las Colinas and get the pescado in garlic sauce. Amazing)

I wish this wasn't the first place that we stayed at, because the subsequent hotels didn't even hold a torch. Great hotel, great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndinh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was a very nice B&B with only 6 room and a staff of 12 we never wanted for anything. The room was neat and cleaned daily breakfast was hot and very tasty (we had the Nicaraguan breakfast each day) The pool was clean and inviting abut a little chilly for my liking although my wife did swim. We were offered special rates for the in house spa and a restaurant in town. All in all it was a very pleasant experience, our only negative was the country of Nicaragua was covered with litter and trash.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms so you can't pick a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located walking distance from all major attractions. The pool is inside an inner courtyard and refreshing. The hotel has a quiet and serene atmosphere. The staff is friendly, was very accommodating, and the airport shuttle was clean and on time. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colibritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have stayed in Granada about half a dozen times, generally at a different hotel each time but this little gem will likely be my new go-to spot in town.

First, it's conveniently located. About three blocks back from the central park. Close enough to everything, but set back enough to be on a quiet street. The inside opens up into a lovely interior courtyard with a clean and refreshing pool with seating around it both table and chairs as well as lounging chairs for relaxing poolside.

The room are very spacious. Despite the fact that the room(s) on the first floor do not have windows, the room still feel light and airy. The bathrooms are very uniquely designed. They are open air, yet still private. As well, at night they are wonderfully dark and quiet. Excellent for a good night's sleep.

The hotel offers cable, wifi, air conditioning, locking cabinets in the rooms and breakfast. the staff is very friendly and courteous and is safe and secure. For Nicaragua, the price is at the higher end, although that is only about $100, very reasonable for a hotel of this quality. We will absolutely be returning and returning often!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Estrada
Hotel Estrada
#23 of 43 in Granada
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 43 in Granada
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Consulado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Consulado

Property: Hotel Casa del Consulado
Address: Calle El Consulado 105 | From Banpro, 30 Feet West, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Consulado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa del Consulado is a unique and modern Hotel concept, where you can feel the passage of time in the city of Granada. Ideal for couples who enjoy the small details and great experiences, or people who come to do business and need a suitable place to rest and work. The 14 luxury rooms are fully equipped and each has been designed to reflect the wonderful country that is Nicaragua. Our mission is to exceed expectations, never forgetting our commitment to the environment. The Hotel also has a private pool, big screen TV with satellite (SKY) to broadcast live sporting events and movies every night. We have a Spa where massages are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa del Consulado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing