We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old colonial style setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Granada, a block form the Parque Central, within walking distance of restauants, beautiful old churches, the lake, and even the baseball stadium. You feel like you are in your own private garden when you stay at this hotel. You walk out of you room to relax by the pool, or on the veranda overlooking the pool, or in a lovely bit of garden. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfas, served by the pool, is great. The staff at the hotel is friendly and very helpful. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. When we left I felt like I was saying good-bye to my family and my home.

Room Tip: the top rooms by the pool get a nice breeze on the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

At the Hotel Casa Consulado we enjoyed first class service whether it was getting transportation help or very early morning coffee. Casa Consulado itself is lovely, an old colonial home transformed into a warm and intimate hotel. Rooms were large and clean, with great showers. Breakfast wonderful and the pool small but very refreshing. Quiet and calm gardens and courtyards with loudest noises being the parakeets in the huge palm tree and the occasional church bells. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I liked the upstairs rooms, but all were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMWildMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

stunning hacienda about two blocks from main square, all 'the action' and many wonderful restaurants. the hotel has about dozen rooms -- mine was large, comfortable with wonderful walk-in shower with stone floor (intense foot massage!!). breakfast served in courtyard and varies day to day. staff very accommodating and friendly; true "colonial" experience!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel with an excellent location in Granada. They have a great breakfast. The staff is very attentive and quick to offer recommendations for other local businesses. I really feel like I am home when I stay here. I am in Granada frequently for work, and I prefer this hotel. Carlos the receptionist is very nice and receptive. Lenin the manager treats everyone like family and is a great guy. I highly recommend Hotel Casa del Consulado.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had mixed feeling about this hotel. The location was perfect - two blocks away from the center so it was quiet but a quick walk to everything. We also thought the hotel was very attractive - especially the common areas. The breakfast was delicious, and we were thankful that they arranged a 530am breakfast for us on our last day.

That said, there were some issues with our room. We stayed in the Gran Sultana room which is large and attractive, but does not have any windows. We found that it was not terribly clean - there were several stains on the linens. Finally, we did not have hot water. We told the from desk about this and they told us they took care of it, but we never got anything but cold water.

One final issue was that when we asked for suggestions about where to eat or buy certain items, the answers were always vague. No matter what we asked for they just told us to go to the Calle Calzada. That street does indeed have the majority of the restaurants, but we were hoping for a specific suggestion.

Room Tip: The Gran Sultana room is large, attractive, and has two beds. However, it does not have any windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AudreyK1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights here while on an OAT trip to Granada. The hotel is very clean with friendly environment. The hotel is well situated to the downtown square and the promanad to the lake and most of the resturaunts, which by the way are mostly all safe for gringos to eat. The breakfast is served at the inner garden and is tasty. Should mention that the Hotel is an historic hacienda with inner court yards.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somanyfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked a room here, my credit card was charged right away, but then 5 days later the hotel wrote me to tell me the room had already been taken by somebody else. However, they assured me I would get a prompt refund.

Several days later I contacted them to enquire where my money was, and they asked for my bank details and wondered if I had a bank account in Miami (I don’t live in Miami). When I was in Granada I showed up at the hotel in person demanding a refund. The manager said “it’s complicated” and went on to claim that my card had never been charged in the first place.

I had to show them my bank statement with the charges and threaten them with a chargeback before I was finally handed a check, five minutes before leaving Granada, conveniently. Of course I didn’t have time to wait in line at the bank! I bet they were disappointed when I managed to cash the check elsewhere in Nicaragua.

If I hadn’t been on the ground, spoken Spanish and spent a whole day fighting with them, I probably wouldn’t have gotten my money back, and it certainly put a damper on my holiday!

This could easily happen to you. I wouldn’t risk it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 45 in Granada
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Consulado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Consulado

Address: Calle El Consulado 105 | From Banpro, 30 Feet West, Granada 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa del Consulado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa del Consulado is a unique and modern Hotel concept, where you can feel the passage of time in the city of Granada. Ideal for couples who enjoy the small details and great experiences, or people who come to do business and need a suitable place to rest and work. The 14 luxury rooms are fully equipped and each has been designed to reflect the wonderful country that is Nicaragua. Our mission is to exceed expectations, never forgetting our commitment to the environment. The Hotel also has a private pool, big screen TV with satellite (SKY) to broadcast live sporting events and movies every night. We have a Spa where massages are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa del Consulado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing