We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paceful, breathtaking oasis”

Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve
Ranked #17 of 73 things to do in Granada
Attraction details
Santa Fe, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paceful, breathtaking oasis”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We found out about this place by accident and I'm so happy we did! It is a great escape from busy Granada. There is plenty of beautiful, colorful butterflies flying around. You can sit on a rocking chair, admire them and let them sit on your body... Doesn't that sound like a piece of heaven?

The guy who works there is great. He told us all about his work and we could hear the passion for this job in his voice. He explained us the butterfly's life cycle, showed some cocoons and catterpilars, told us a lot about the wildlife in Nicaragua.

It is definitely worth visiting, but it desperately needs more advertising and easier access.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Superkoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    6
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great butterfly reserve”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We had a great time here. Many species of butterflies. The workers there are very friendly and informative. We were also able to see many species of birds.

It was a fun adventure to get out there. You need to taxi out to the cemetery then take a tuk tuk out to the reserve.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“butterfly reserve”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

It is an extraordinary place to have a view of all the different species of butterflies that exist in granada and part of nicaragua. It is a picturesque spot to relax and to have a wonderful time. I feel so surprised to run into this kind of beauty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank juan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They are not working”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We doubled back to go to the Butterfly Reserve and found out that the Butterflies are not working today.

how do butterflies not work?

super disapointed

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dottie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oshawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excelelnt chance to see exotic butterflies”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

as the butterflies were captive in a large net covered enclosure there was a good opportunity to photograph the many specimens. It is a short bike ride past the cemetary to the reserve

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank touristoshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Been to Nicaragua Butterfly Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing