We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, poor kitchen!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Entre Amigos
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good room, poor kitchen!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at this place for 4 nights.

BAD POINTS
- The kitchen is dirty, there is not enough cutlery to cook and to eat either. We were lucky cause we have all we need to cook with us. But for those who are planning to use their facilities, wait for problems!
- On the bathroom, the water which flows in the tap is really, really, really, REALY, weak! It was hard to brush our teeth! We called the guy in the reception and he told us that it's to save water!!! I think that the water is on our bill and we should have enough water to wash our face and brush our teeth, right?
- The room has an open space at the top of the wall. So, when there is somebody smoking on the chill out area the smoke gets into your room! It's not that much, but you can smell it!

GOOD POINTS
- Location: pretty close to the center, but in a quiet street
- Atmosphere: there is a really nice gift store in the entrance. There is a couple of tables in the chill out area and also a TV with a sofa to see a movie they provide.
- Shower: is cold, but is really good!
- price: good!

I think they have a few improvements to make this a great hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_Ferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hostalentreamigos, Owner at Hostal Entre Amigos, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks for your comments,
it is true that I said we should save water but especially due to local problems every day and the ridiculous high prices for this service, it must be stressful for you not to make your daily habits but was even more stressful for me not to have pleased your needs, but this was beyond the reach of my hands.
For me it is difficult to deal with situations like this one because I am against the irresponsible consumerism as you could see in our side project The Cooperative, we do a lot of Recycle and promote this in the community, so I try in my way to offer the tourists the options like free purified water to stop using plastic bottles that pollute our environment.
Every suggestion is welcome as we are still learning, so thanks again for your comments, believe me, we have a long road ahead.

About the Kitchen, if the kitchen is dirty is because there are tourists who do not know how to share with others and have no sense of coexistence and leave everything dirty,
We clean as often as possible but if you do not cooperate then you can not keep it clean.

This year I have bought more than 10 knives for the kitchen and when you came there was none, so I had to buy two more and literally chain them to the wall, I also had to buy more forks and spoons because there were none, can you tell me who is travelling collecting spoons and forks please?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    37
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
35
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I LOVE this hostel! The dorms are very comfortable and far more luxurious than most, the kitchen is great and kept very tidy, there is free water (and when I was there free mangos), the owner is lovely and very helpful, and to top it off its at the back of a beautiful artisan shop that sells handmade jewellery, bags, clothes and more! Definitely worth staying in, it was really really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My girlfriend and me were staying in Granada for one week. After one night in another hostel we moved here, we found the rooms slightly more luxurious than other hostels (great ceiling fan + normal fan). The hostel has a roofed reading area and a small patio with 2 parasols over 2 tables and 4 comfortable chairs around each table. It's possible to watch movies as well and there is a free water refill and coffee all day service. Be advised though, the rooms are not soundproof so if you make a lot of noise other people will hear it (as we heard some other people stumble around when they got back late). Also, a kitchen plus a fridge to stash your stuff in. In other words, a fine hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michahell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we came to this hostal by chance and were excited. Everything was clean, we had a well-appointed, good priced private room with comfortable beds. There was a nice yard to hang out, a kitchen to use and the owners were really nice. It was a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed the first 2 nights of our trip in 'entre amigos'. we found it because the hostals of our guide were full. But we are very happy luck brought us there.

The owner and staff are very kind and relaxt and there english was perfect which helped us by planning our further trip. Rooms were decent and clean. With a nice kitchen to use to make our own dinner. Hostal is relatively small so its easy to make some new friends. Good Price!

Thanks for getting our traveling started!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoosEnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed a few days in this hostal, and we will certainly recommend it to people who want to stay in a quiet and relax place. There are a lot of amenities offered in the price you do not find in the other hostal: water refill (avoid buying too many plastic bottles), free coffee, good kitchen and well equipped, and the hostal is really well located. on top of that, Cesar is a really nice person, and if visiting Granada, one has to stop by just to chat with him and visit his shop at the entrance of the hostal. really inspiring.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg_and_Rikke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend loved this hostal. It's really quiet and peaceful, the owner is lovely and the jewellery he makes is beautiful. We had a private room with a bathroom, it was clean and comfortable and never really got too hot. I really recommend this place. It's so cheap too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaaikePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#5 of 64 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Entre Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Entre Amigos

Property: Hostal Entre Amigos
Address: Calle 14 de Septiembre | De La Iglesia La Merced 2.5 blocks north, Granada, Nicaragua | Green & Orange House Upstairs - Reception at the Giftshop, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Entre Amigos is a comfy place to get off the road, in a friendly and accommodating atmosphere. The Reception doubles as a Cooperative Craft Shop filled with recycled gifts from local artists at good prices. There we have a Book Exchange section, Postal Service and Other Services/Facilities for Our Guests. It has a great location, just outside of the hustle and bustle so that you get a good night's sleep but close enough for a pleasant walk, on the same street as La Merced church where you can get great views across the city. It's on a calm street and you are close to all stores/banks, and very close to the Chocolate Museum where you can have special prices in the Spa, The Swimming Pool, The Breakfast Buffet or for any of the workshops they offer - if you are one of our guests. There are fans in the rooms, enough to cool down the heat. The kitchen is clean and well stocked for cooking. There is free coffee and free purified water at all times. The Wi Fi is consistent and available in the whole house. We use organic soaps for our sinks as we have a concept eco-friendly we also offer Free Purified Water so you can refill your bottle instead of buying more plastic bottles. There is a locker for every bed in The Dorm but you have to bring your own lock, all the beds are new with new mattresses. The TV area has lots of DVD's to choose from, a nice spot to chill out on the couch and watch a movie and free guide books to borrow. Outside the common areas are great for socializing and relaxing, there is a nice court yard for eating or just reading a book. Any help you need be sure to ask the staff. We have Free City Maps, Free Info & Travel Tips and Shuttle Service to different places in Nicaragua to make your stay more enjoyable. We are a Gay-Friendly, Eco-Friendly, Solo Female Friendly. A place where you can meet other travelers & feel like home among friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing