We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Casa Xanadu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Xanadu
Ranked #9 of 75 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our family stayed at Casa Xanadu for three nights in December/January. What an incredible place to stay. The location is perfect as it is very close to so many restaurants (and a great bakery a few doors down) and many of the amazing sights in Granada. The rooms were amazing and so large. The room we had was equipped with air conditioning and ceiling fans. However we never used the air conditioning as the fans were enough to cool the room. The beds were very comfortable. We couldn’t get over how gorgeous the surroundings were. The swimming pool/dining area was cozy and beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our daughter loved going in the pool each night, it was a saltwater pool with no chlorine which we really appreciated.

The best part of staying at Casa Xanadu would be the people that worked there.
Douglass who owns Casa Xanadu was there when we arrived and chatted with us as to what we wanted to do while in Granada. He is such a nice man and was incredibly helpful, he is very knowledgeable about the area. He has done an incredible job renovating this colonial house into the gem that Casa Xanadu is now. Douglass took us on a tour of a new development that he is working on. It was so great to spend an afternoon with him.

Marlene Rivas is an amazing woman who organized & negotiated all of our tours and transportation. Thankfully we had her as our tour guide for the Islets of Granada boat tour, took us shopping in the old market of Granada and organized everything that we did while in the city so that we did not have to worry about anything. Marlene is bilingual in Spanish and English and was so friendly and efficient. Dealing with Marlene meant that we had a worry free stay in Granada. She is a super star!

Miriam prepared our breakfasts and a special lunch of her famous fresh fish! Words cannot even describe how great a cook she is. She even gave us the recipe for her fish! Miriam is always smiling and so happy, just a delight to be around. The breakfasts were delicious with traditional Nicaraguan food as well as other types. We especially loved the gallo pinto and scrambled eggs. Our children adored her home made pancakes. We couldn’t get enough of the fresh fruits and fruit juices and smoothies that were offered. The coffee was so delicious, I couldn’t start my day without it and I am usually a tea drinker!

Maria and Veronica helped in the kitchen as well and kept Casa Xanadu spotless. The laundry was pressed and folded and put on our beds each day. The rooms were so clean! Maria and Veronica were smiling all the time and so kind and sweet. They were so great with our daughters! Just seeing these ladies smiles brightened our day.

What we loved was the fact that everyone who works at Casa Xanadu really seemed happy. The truth is we did not want to leave and that was mostly because of these fantastic women who we now consider friends! My advice to anyone visiting Granada would be to definitely stay at Casa Xanadu. Once this secret gets out it will be difficult to book a room here. I can guarantee you that when we are in Granada again, this is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed in Casa Xanadu for a week with my husband and 7-year old son and my sister-in-law and her family. We travel differently now than we did pre-kids, and this was a perfect place for our two families. The rooms were beautiful and spacious, and the common areas - just outside the rooms and the pool area - were so comfortable for us. The pool was spectacular, and the kids were in it for hours. It was great in the evenings after the kids went to sleep that we able to sit outside on the cozy sofa or rocking chairs to read and chat with other guests. The location was perfect - just a few quick blocks to great restaurants (and just a few doors down from a new bakery - yum!).

But Casa Xanadu is more than just a beautiful place to stay. What really differentiates it from other places is the staff. Marlene was incredibly helpful, friend and knowledgeable, and she arranged all of our tours and transportation. Miriam is a wonderful cook and in addition to making us delicious breakfasts each day, we had her make us two delicious dinners that we enjoyed around the pool. Maria and Veronica help in the kitchen and also keep the place spotless. They are the friendliest group I've encountered, and they seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and each other - and making the guests feel comfortable. It's rare that we kiss staff goodbye at the end of a trip, but in this case it was the most natural thing do to! I can't recommend Casa Xanadu highly enough, and we all hope to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our family had a wonderful 6 days in the Granada area and Casa Xanadu had a lot to do with that. Marlene was very attentive at answering all our questions on what to do and what to see, and helping us to arrange (and negotiate!) transport, tours, etc. Miriam's breakfasts were wonderful and she even helped us with an amazing Thanksgiving supper (butterball turkey included!). Veronica/Maria were also available to help us when needed-- Veronica even accompanied me on a wild goose chase to find sage for the dressing! You can tell that Douglass is very passionate about Casa Xanadu and making sure his guests are comfortable-- the place itself is beautiful and well-kept, and the pool is so refreshing after a day of hiking the volcano or walking around town. A definite recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shilpa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent nine nights at Casa Xanadu in April of this year. It has taken me this long to sit to write the review as such wonderful reviews have preceeded mine and I thought it had all been said. However, I feel I must add our appreciation to all the others'.

My husband and I spent 5 weeks in Granada and it was by word of mouth that we eventually found Xanadu. Our son was coming for a one-week visit and we booked a room there for him as we were staying elsewhere. He had a wonderful stay and was treated like royalty. He couldn't understand why we weren't there as well! We did end up moving in for our last days in Granada and it was wonderful. (He is a world traveller who enjoys his comforts and he couldn't say enough good things about his stay.)

Douglass is the ultimate host and Maria is always anxious and willing to please. There are enough areas in the Casa for a person to find privacy. The rooms are lovely, to say the least. The location is excellent and surprisingly no street noises are heard inside either the common areas or the rooms. Douglass has put much consideration into comforts for his guests. This lovely accommodation is well named!

For a welcoming, beautiful, clean, comfortable, reasonable, well-located accommodation in Granada, you need look no further than this lovely home. You will be very comfortable here. We still feel a very fond attachment to our host and his beautiful haven and hope to return.

Room Tip: We loved the Kubla Khan (sp?) room for the two of us. Other rooms can accommodate families and that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The second you enter the doors of Casa Xanadu a sense of awe, peace and serenity envelops you. The house staff, Maria, Marleni, and Fatima take care of your every need. We stayed with them in Granada for five nights and then ended up returning to Nicaragua for our final two nights in Nicaragua after traveling to Playa el Coco for some beach time. Douglass has created a splendid escape from the hustle and bustle of the city of Granada. Nothing is better than after a day of hiking Mombacho to slip into the pool for a refreshing night time swim and then fall asleep under 1200 thread count sheets. Wow!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Can't say enough about Xanadu - house itself is beautiful, with all the amenities; location is great; owner Doug and support staff Maria wonderful to deal with. Gave us great tips on restaurants and places to visit, and even called on our behalf which ensured great service (Doug and Xanadu are well-respected in the Granada community). When I return to Granada Xanadu is where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was a privilege to stay in such colonial house breathing in passed times with a flair of modern time. For one time it makes you feel the owner of such spectacular property since it has only three rooms, so much of the time you are on your own. The housekeeper, a very nice sweet lady, takes care of your needs.
As for the interior, I would describe it as beautiful ethno-tropical style, all different styles coming together in nice balance. There is an interior swimming pool though with a look at the stars above...in the rooms all fine materials, bed linen and great soft beds, mmmm. What you waiting for??!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAVoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Xanadu

Address: Calle El Arsenal # 307 | Historic District, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious colonial mansion has been restored with all modern amenities yet provides its guests with a glimpse of what had once been the residence of wealthy Spanish families of centuries past. Guests enjoy lush tropical gardens & king size suites in an atmosphere of elegance and quietness. Its architecture, antiques, paintings and other art give an air of enrichment, beauty & authenticity. Xanadu is a destination in itself for your relaxation throughout each day. Like your own home it is a residence and you are its invited guests . Hotels feature a lobby, restaurant & a room but nowhere to relax & hang out. If you are planning a stay Xanadu Mansion provides tropical gardens, a spacious & private pool with comfy secluded places to relax and do nothing. Xanadu is centrally located in Granada's historic district only steps from Calzada Mall, Central Park & Plaza Convento and easy walking distance to all historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Xanadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing