We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical hotel!”
Review of Casa Xanadu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Xanadu
Ranked #11 of 72 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Tomorrow my travel partner and I check out of the place we referred to as our palace. We were fortunate enough to stay at Casa Xanadu for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The rooms are spacious, with very comfortable beds and pillows, clean and nice bathrooms with hot water and great water pressure, air conditioning, lovely art and relaxing neutral tones. The hotel itself is beautiful, has a lovely garden, and out door area with a large pool and plenty of seating.

To start, the owner Doug made us feel right at home. He wanted to ensure a carefree and relaxing stay, while also making sure we got a good feel of everything the city has to offer, from day trips to night life. He gave us excellent recommendations on restaurants, one in particular being The Garage; yet, we were also given the option to use the very clean kitchen, with all the essential cooking utensils. One of the best parts about vacation is of course eating out, but with longer travels (such as ours being a total of 5 weeks), 3 meals a day is not always ideal to dining out. The kitchen also included filtered water and ice cubes, which made a huge difference in comparison to having to buy so much bottled water at some of our other stays.

A great addition to the kitchen is Maria, the breakfast chef! Every morning we have woken up, to have unique breakfast served with a smile on her face. In addition to the great food, the coffee and daily fresh made juices were a wonderful way to start the day. Not only does she cook, but along with a couple other women, our room and bathroom were cleaned spotless daily and they offered extremely cheap laundry services.

Marlene, the house concierge, has been taking great care of us. She is quite the encyclopedia on the entire city of Granada and its surroundings. Every question we have had she has either known the answer, or willingly looked into it. Going far above and beyond, such as taking us to the local market and helping us plan our bus routes for upcoming travels. She can also set you up with a great massage, with the choice of going to the spa or the spa coming to you.

You can tell the staff here truly takes pride in everything they do and their number one goal is to help assist in the vacation of your dreams.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to take a little peak into each of the 5 rooms. They are all unique to fitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

What an incredible stay at Casa Xanadu!! We were in Granada for a little over a week and I can't say enough about how wonderful the experience was. From the hot showers and water pressure to the fresh delicious breakfast cooked by the lovely Maria every morning, Xanadu is a special place. Located right in the heart of the historical district of Granada, we were able to walk to all of the restaurants and cafes, and really got a feel for the city. The pool was an added plus that we enjoyed tremendously to cool off in during the heat of the day. After coming from Costa Rica with no AC in our previous hotel, we relished in having air conditioning at night.
The service was truly outstanding! Marlene (the hotel concierge) helped us plan our day trips to the volcano Mombacho and the thrilling Zip Line tour through the canopy of the rain forest. We also took a boat ride around the 365 tiny islands formed by the volcano eruption, and we explored the city taking lots of pictures and finding little gifts for friends and family. Any questions we had Marlene was able to answer them! We needed to ship a box home, find the bank, schedule a massage, hire a car to take us to the Ometempe Ferry, she arranged everything and we were so grateful to have her help!
Also having a wifi connection, filtered water, ice cubes, all of the things you take for granted in the US but come to miss when traveling in Central America, really made Casa Xanadu like a home away from home.
The rooms were always clean with fresh towels daily, and another plus was having access to the kitchen. We grew tired of eating out every night during our travels, so having a kitchen to cook in if we wanted to was a treat. Casa Xanadu felt more like a grand Colonial casa rather than a hotel, and Douglas (the owner) clearly took pride in making sure all of his guests were well taken care of. He gave us some fantastic restaurant suggestions, and told us about the banana bread baked daily in the bakery just up the street (WOW SO GOOD!!).
Granada is an undiscovered gem, with brightly colored buildings and churches, friendly people, and a vibrant culture. What a gift it was to discover Casa Xanadu, Granada & Nicaragua!!
We will definitely come back again soon!!
Devon P. - Denver, Colorado USA

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Casa Xanadu are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dparker111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Even better than the website portrayed. Spacious rooms where modern decor meets old world style. Plentiful and varied typical Nica breakfasts prepared by Maria each morning with the best coffee we had in Nicaragua. Refreshing pool, beautiful artwork, pet turtle and great location. We felt extremely welcomed by all the staff, especially Marlena.
Marlena suggested various outside/activities during our visit to Granada.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family of four stayed 2 nights at Casa Xanadu at the end of June. We absolutely loved this hotel. It is extremely beautiful, and the staff is very sweet and attentive. Marlene (the host) was great about helping us organize side trips, which we really enjoyed, and then returning in the afternoons to relax around the pool was perfect. We felt like royalty :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 91heelncville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When I initially booked Xanadu I was amazed at the speed with which the hotel staff (Marlene) contacted me with confirmation. Within minutes of my email I received a phone call reviewing my needs. When I later responded to Marlene saying how impressed I was, her response is: "You are special to us and you deserve special service." That pretty much say it all.

When it comes to accommodations, there seems to be two kinds of thinking; there are those that say, "the room is not all that important - it's just a place to sleep," and then there are people such as myself, where the accommodation is an integral, even essential part of the overall travel experience. That is Casa Xanadu.

Xanadu is not simply a luxury, affordable and gorgeous property - it is a destination. Our air conditioned room was enormous, lovely appointed right down to extraordinary fine imported sheets and furnishings, a staff that seemed almost in competition to make you're comfort a priority, and an owner that kept in touch on a regular basis to confirm all was well. The public areas are simply lovely, with the long atrium foyer with fountain, along with the incredible pool, and a central location an easy 2 block walking distance to the center of town, makes Xanadu a worthy "destination" while visiting Granada. A wonderful travel experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent a week at Casa Xanadu, and it surpassed our wildest dreams! The Casa is a converted colonial style home, it is beautifully built and decorated with high quality finishes. You feel like you are living in a palace. The staff is not only efficient and talented, they are a pleasure to be around...the smiles are genuine. We got to know Doug, the owner, and Marlene the marketing manager...they both treated us like family. We learned so much from Marlene, she is so knowledgeable about Nicaragua and its history, as well as all the nearby points of interest. She helped us book several outings that were wonderful. Both Doug and Marlene added a personal touch to our visit. We felt well cared for always, and would definitely recommend Casa Xanadu to anyone traveling to Granada.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our room was truly a spectacular colonial experience, with tall ceilings, nice bed, beautiful art, jacuzzi tub, very clean room, strong A/C, large flat-screen TV. On top of that, it was very quiet--the quietest room we've ever had in Nicaragua. There are only 5 rooms in this hotel, so not too many people. The pool was nice to cool off, although a lot of debris floating in it that we had to dodge when swimming. Marlene and the staff were super nice and helpful. Unlike most hotels, I wasn't able to book online, and had to make phone calls and send in a deposit to hold the room. The location is one of the best in Granada because it's a quiet street across from San Francisco Church, and still only 3 blocks to the main restaurant area--just far enough away not to be bothered by the noise. The only disappointment was the lack of hot water. The "hot" water was tepid, at best, not actually hot like all the other hotels we've stayed at in Granada. With such a wonderful Jacuzzi tub it would have been nice to have a warm bath, but alas the Jacuzzi turned out to be mostly more for looks rather than usefulness. I leaned toward rating it a 4-star because of the lack of hot water, but it had enough other positives going for it that I decided to rate it as excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kublai khan suite. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Consulado
Hotel Casa del Consulado
#15 of 45 in Granada
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Xanadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Xanadu

Address: Calle El Arsenal # 307 | Historic District, Granada 00000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £65 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Xanadu 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious colonial mansion has been restored with all modern amenities yet provides its guests with a glimpse of what had once been the residence of wealthy Spanish families of centuries past. Guests enjoy lush tropical gardens & king size suites in an atmosphere of elegance and quietness. Its architecture, antiques, paintings and other art give an air of enrichment, beauty & authenticity. By comparison hotels are unequipped to provide what Xanadu takes for granted: A destination in itself for your relaxation throughout each day. Like your own home it is a residence and you are its invited guests . Hotels feature a lobby, restaurant & a room but nowhere to relax. If you are planning a stay Xanadu Mansion provides tropical gardens, a spacious & private pool with comfy secluded places to relax and do nothing. Xanadu is centrally located in Granada's historic district only steps from Calzada Mall, Central Park & Plaza Convento and easy walking distance to historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Xanadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing