We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, nice people”
Review of GM Granada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
GM Granada Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice place, nice people”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here, the owner and staff are very friendly. Prices very reasonable. Bathrooms and showers are very CLEAN and smell like bleach. The pool is gorgeous and CLEAN. The hotel is quiet and within walking distance to everything or a quick cheap cab ride at night. I live in Guatemala and meet travelers constantly so GM Granada will come highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBaker529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    17
    15
    13
    3
See reviews for
15
57
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

GM Granada is absolutely amazing. I stayed here with two of my friends during July 2014. Over the course of our stay, the owners were devoted to helping us in any way they could. Our first day here, we were presented with an amazing summary of places to see, things to eat, and how to guarantee our safety. And with any of our requests to organize shuttles for a day trip to las isletas, laguna del apoyo, or our shuttle back to Managua, we were always met with amazing flexibility. To make things better, the owners are friends with different shuttle drivers so the prices were significantly lower than the people we met from other hotels. Amazing people, amazing service, and the opportunities to go to amazing places at a fraction of the cost. Also, with the amount of fans they give you in a room, you're going to be fine. It's Nicaragua. Unless you want to completely empty out your wallet, it is better to stay in a well ventilated and fanned room like the ones that GM provides.

Room Tip: Any room is great. There is a 3 person dorm room and many available singles, doubles, and triples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

You take a quick taxi ride from Granada to the boat launch, and then the Jicaro staff take over. Depending on the weather, maybe a 15 minute boat ride to the hotel? Yes, the boat is covered. Plenty of birds to see on the lake before you arrive at the hotel, where you're greeted with a drink and shown around. The casitas are spaced around the edge of the small island; all are free-standing and built from beautiful woods. The most you will hear from another casita is the outer door opening and closing. The casitas have two stories; the bottom contains a small sofa and coffee table area that open out to a deck over the lake; a few steps lead up to the closet and bathroom (very nice). Then, a full set of stairs leads up to the bedroom, with mosquito-netted bed. No AC, fans worked well and you can open the windows (they're screened). We went in October, I don't know what it would be like in summer heat.
The food is excellent. You are presented with the dinner options early in the day, so you can choose from that day's menu. Plenty of tours are available, all are going to require a kayak or boat to get off the island (yes, it's that small). We went to Mombacho volcano, the coffee plantation, Masaya, and a kayak nature tour. The staff are very helpful--when my husband became ill, they went into town to get medication for him. The do provide laundry service for a fee. They will also permit you to use their computer for email/internet, and wifi is available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Excellent place to stay in Granada!, it's a beautiful colonial style house, very well maintain, The shared kitchen has all the appliances you need and a couple of tables in the inner yard of the house which are surrounding by a few tortoises they look after very well.

Rooms are very basic but clean and confy. The main bathroom is beautiful and it's always clean!. Nice swimming pool outside and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. And last but not least, excellent price for value!!!

Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desirete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

20 dollars got us two double beds in a large room, nice pool, and the excellent wifi. The room is plain butIf your using tica bus it's right across the road.
Good walk into town from the hostel but straight road, we got lost on or first day and ended up in a dodgy part of town while walking back from the supermarket.
Taxi from town is a dollar if you don't feel like walking.
My only issue with this place is no netting for mosquitos over the windows and I got bitten a few times. It's something so easy to sort out- do it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We picked this hostel as it was in a good location and had great reviews. It was a short walk from the centre of town. The staff were helpful and kept the hostel spotless. Has a pool area, open until sunset. There is a bar in this area. Great pool to cool off. The room was on the small side, comfy bed, clean sheets and towels, there was a table as well as a sink and a toilet, which was very odd. They were less than a metre away from the bed. The shared bathroom which had a shower, was spotless. There was a fan in the room but it needs air con! The rooms are too hot and we found it very difficult to sleep. There was also gaps in the window area, which allowed the mosquitoes in! We were bitten more than ten times each. Wouldnt stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicargua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This place has basically just started out, but they've got it right so far. It's a great hostel providing a pool, a bar, full time staff so they're always cleaning, a great kitchen and even a mini turtle bay! The rooms are definitely spacious and the location isn't too far from everything. They've even painted a map on the wall for you and the staff were very helpful with directions. I would not be surprised if this would be one of Granada's popular hostel's in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#30 of 43 in Granada
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrasol
Hotel Terrasol
#15 of 43 in Granada
415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 43 in Granada
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GM Granada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GM Granada Hostel

Property: GM Granada Hostel
Address: Media Cuadra al sur del Antiguo hospital, avenida Elena Arellano | Casa Blanca y Azul, Granada 40028, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 minutes walk from downtown and directly opposite the Tica Bus terminal, the Hostel features a large swimming pool with a bar and relaxed atmosphere. We have a billiard table, large kitchen, turtle pond, Wifi coverage throughout the whole property and limited secure parking for a small car or motor bike. We offer free board games and yoga matt usage as well as free coffee in the mornings. The property has eight private rooms and one six bed mixed dorm. All rooms include fans and in all private rooms air conditioning is available for an additional fee. Ask our friendly staff to organize you tours or transportation to and from the airport. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your GM Granada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing