We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Granada
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I arrived in Nicaragua in May and after travelling around for a week went to Granada where we had booked a two night stay at Casa Lucia.
Our jaws dropped when we walked through this beautiful hotel. Everything was just right, from the entrance walkway with the tropical plants and fountain to the main patio area with its swimming pool, lovely gardens and yoga platform. We wondered if the rooms would be as good as the exterior and we were not to be disappointed. We had booked a suite called the Heliconia. The room was very spacious with a balcony to the rear, a large bathroom and plenty of room for our clothes and bags.. What impressed us even more was the décor. It was so comfortable and tastefully done. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a large tropical fruit plate and several healthy choices. It was so filling I couldn't eat until evening. The cook was a delightful man from the Caribbean coast of Nicaragua who spoke perfect English. The staff were extremely helpful, especially the charming manager, a lady from Bermuda, who arranged a tour for us.
Later we relaxed by the pool with drinks from the hotel bar. That night we stargazed from the mirador, a viewing platform on the roof which has magnificent views of the Volcano Mombacho.The next morning we took the yoga class. My husband hadn't done yoga before but I have practiced occasionally. There were several other guests in the class and we all loved the setting by the pool beneath a huge palm thatch roof called a palapa. The instructor was very knowledgable and guided us through a challenging and interesting class. We decided to do the class every morning during our stay. We loved Casa Lucia so much we extended our stay with them for a whole week. We were sorry to leave this unique retreat in the heart of the town.
I would highly recommend Casa Lucia to anyone who wants to spend time in Granada.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites Heliconia or Marrakesh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Casa Lucia. We are delighted the hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed our yoga classes. It's always a pleasure when guests enjoy one of the main amenities like the complimentary yoga classes!
Our excellent staff are also the heart of the Casa Lucia experience, and being that we are a small hotel, we can deliver personalized service for couples like yourselves. I never get tired of seeing people return from a busy day of sightseeing with plenty of photos to show me!
I'm glad you appreciated the healthy breakfast options and tropical fruit plate, health and wellness are important to us.
Thank you for staying with us, and we'd be delighted to offer you the Heliconia Suite when you are in Granada again.
Best wishes,
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Absolute Must Stay in Granada.  

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel, home, boutique place..   truly a gem and hidden 5 star quality with a very personal touch.  The staff truly make this an outstanding hotel where you will have all your needs attended to in a caring and genuine way..  it's on a nice quite street, a quick and pleasant 5 min walk to central square.  We really enjoyed it being away from the chaos and noise.  Plus the walk gave u a chance to experience how the locals lived and interacted.  It's very safe and highly recommend.   

 All the staff are spectacular starting wit Eloisa.  Sweetest gal ever and will make u feel totally comfortable.  Every hotel, business for that matter, needs a Eloisa.  Extremely knowledgeable, attentive, caring and accommodating.  For example, one night my wife and I were exhausted and decided to stay in and order pizza.   Not only did she recommend a place but placed the order for us, did a nice little table set up by the pool and really made us feel special.  Above and beyond!  Her sister wit the cutest baby who takes of the breakfast.  She is a great cook wit a personal charm added to it..  The multipurpose pool boy is always smiling and helpful even when it's 100degrees and his drenched with sweat.  Keeps the property and pool in immaculate condition even though we were the ONLY guests there at that time.  Rooms are awesome, comfortable and cozy.  Breakfast is delicious wit a family feel to it.  Can't thank Eloisa and the staff enough for an outstanding job they did.   It's a MUST stay during your visit to Granada, you won't regret it!! 

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PoPoDb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for the really lovely review you wrote of the hotel. I can't say thank you enough for calling us a five star gem which is truly, deeply appreciated by myself and all of the staff of Casa Lucia. You and your wife were very understanding and patient guests and we appreciate the glowing review of the hotel and our services.
We strive every day to offer the highest level of service and true boutique accommodation.
t is true the hotel has a very warm feeling as we are family operated with good staff who are attentive to the needs of guests and they put their hearts into their job. I hope you had a fantastic time experiencing this country and its wonderful people. We would be delighted to host you again and we hope you will come back very soon.
Warm Regards & Best wishes,
Eloisa & Arantxa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife, two daughters (11 and 13) and I stayed at Casa Lucia for 3 nights (April 12-14), and would highly recommend it as a place to stay in Granada. The hotel is located a few blocks away from the central plaza so is quiet and peaceful, but it's a very short 5-10 minute walk to the downtown area. The hotel has been beautifully restored, and the 5 rooms in this boutique hotel are gorgeous. The bed and mattress were about the most comfortable I've ever slept on! The breakfasts were delicious with a range of options that worked well for the vegetarians and carnivores in our family. My wife and older daughter enjoyed the yoga class they went to, while my other daughter and I enjoyed reading in the hammock on the rooftop listening and watching an amazing variety of bird-life. After a long day of sight-seeing we all enjoyed a refreshing dip in the beautiful and clean swimming pool. All in all, this is a beautiful and tranquil oasis in the heart of Granada that we'd strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are really happy you were comfortable and enjoyed the hotel's beautiful setting in Granada. It is true we are not in the center of the town, but just a short walk from it, which gives our guests a chance to relax and retreat after a long day sightseeing away from noise and street vendors in a private location. We are very grateful you appreciate the beds as they are the best mattresses you can get in Nicaragua! I am also pleased the breakfast got high marks as we designed for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike :)
We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you again for staying with us. Best wishes to your family.
Warm Regards,
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I visited Casa Lucia and loved our experience. The property is charming and beautiful. The hotel is a few blocks from the calzada but we found the walk enjoyable. Our only somewhat complaint would be the Chef. He came across as quite arrogant and gave zero suggestions when it came to other places to eat in Granada. Aside from that, our stay was wonderful

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Casa Lucia. I was surprised to read your comments about the chef, however, I notice it also didn't impact your overall rating of the hotel, so thank you for the positive review. I apologize for any attitude from the chef perceived to be arrogant. The chef is also not the person to ask for restaurant recommendations as he will want to recommend his own cuisine. Hotel management have a list of recommended restaurants in Granada and I am sorry that you did not ask for them. We would like to let readers know that we have city maps in all guest rooms with restaurants marked on these maps and a magazine that includes restaurants reviews. We also can point you in the direction of some very good restaurants all within walking distance to the hotel, and are happy to arrange taxi transport.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes & Warm Regards,
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the chef to the ever accomodating owner Eloise, to the lovely lady that cleaned our rooms and the ever smiling pool cleaner and helper, everyone made our stay in this pristine, beautiful and quiet botique hotel an absolute pleasure! What a jem tucked away in the heart of Granada. When we return, we will definitly stay at Casa Lucia again! Reccomended to all who enjoy beauty a tranquility.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thijsnnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful, friendly review of Casa Lucia. We really enjoyed meeting you and we are always happy to have guests like yourselves who notice the details about the rooms, maintenance of the property and service, and appreciate them. Our staff work very hard, especially at a time of year when the dry heat and winds blow a lot of dust and dirt into the pool and sometimes balconies and rooms with our open plan design.
We hope you will come back to Nicaragua soon, and hopefully we will be fortunate enough to have you stay with us again. Best wishes to you both and best of luck.
Warm Regards,
Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed there for 6 nights and really enjoyed it. We were travelling with our 2 daughters, of 2.5yrs old and 6 months old, and they added an extra bed for them in our suite (large enough for a family). Everything was perfect, starting from the room, location, friendly and courteous staff, healthy breakfast, clean pool, common areas, excellent restaurant, complimentary yoga classes... It is a very relaxing place in Granada and we would go back on a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marie-LaurenceL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Casa Lucia. I am really happy you found the Heliconia Suite comfortable for your family and that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and amenities. Our staff work very hard and appreciate that you notice these details about the hotel. Please come back and visit us soon, Warm Regards, Eloisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Would highly recommend this charming Boutique hotel and Yoga retreat, good safe location, 4 blocks to the main square, rooms were large, clean, a/c, fan and well appointed, comfortable beds, tastefully furnished. Price includes a large breakfast, the excellent chef creates a variety of dinner options. The managers helped us arrange almost everything from tours in Granada to hotels around the country, thank you so much for the kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smitty8861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Manager at Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your great comments and review. We appreciate the time you take to write and send us feedback. It was a pleasure having you at Casa Lucia and to experience Granada. We love it when our guests feel satisfied with their overall experience as this is what makes the work we do so rewarding. Let us know when you are coming back and we'll take good care of you again.
Warm Regards
Eloisa & Arantxa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments

Address: Calle Santa Lucia 135 | 1.5 blocks west of La Flor Panamena, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £55 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lucia offers boutique hotel suites and vacation apartments in the heart of the colonial city of Granada, Nicaragua. We are a natural hotel with a warm and sustainable approach. We care about health and wellness and we include a yoga class for every guest to enjoy. Our five beautiful hotel suites and vacation apartments are situated in a tropical oasis of flowers and coconut palms. They open to a private interior courtyard with a large Swimming Pool away from street noise. You may find us to be a tropical Paradise! We serve a healthy breakfast that is both authentic and nutritious with organic coffee and fresh fruits. Our Vacation Apartments are bright, spacious and comfortable, ideal for a long-term stay in Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casa Lucia Boutique Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing