We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Comfortable”
Review of Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar
Description: Shi Sha offers a unique dining experience with Moroccan inspired tapas, specialty cocktails, South American and European wines, Moroccan mint tea, smoothies and espresso based drinks.Our tapas menu is a mouth-watering fusion of dishes inspired by the flavors of Spain, North Africa and Nicaragua. Located in Casa Lucia, a boutique hotel and yoga retreat opening soon in Granada, Nicaragua.
Restaurant details
Description: Shi Sha offers a unique dining experience with Moroccan inspired tapas, specialty cocktails, South American and European wines, Moroccan mint tea, smoothies and espresso based drinks.Our tapas menu is a mouth-watering fusion of dishes inspired by the flavors of Spain, North Africa and Nicaragua. Located in Casa Lucia, a boutique hotel and yoga retreat opening soon in Granada, Nicaragua.
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went with a group of people and had a very enjoyable time. Liked the decor with numerous different seating options. The service was good and the food and beverages are consistently good. Check it out, you wont be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lyn1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Owner at Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review, we are glad you all had an enjoyable experience at Shi Sha bar and the service and food met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Eloisa & Arantxa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very conflicted about this one. We visited here two weeks ago and had a great experience in terms of the service and style but the food was only OK. Tonight we visited and had better food but much worse service.

The restaurant is owned by two sisters from Bermuda. On our first visit, both were extremely friendly and the experience, despite so-so food, would have garnered a four or five stars from me only because of their charm. But yesterday we visited for a second time and found the service and friendliness to be a different story. One sister, as soon as she saw us, moved to the back of the restaurant and refused to speak to us again. What??? We paid and tipped well and have no idea what her problem was. The other sister was much more cordial and friendly but being on her own really had a hard time keeping up on things despite the fact we were the only patrons in the restaurant. In addition, our appetizer took well more than 30 minutes to come, despite being a carpaccio (it's raw, you know); when it came it was offered without any explanation for the delay.

The animus coming from the second sister was hard to ignore and made us both uncomfortable for the entire visit. On this visit, our food was actually better overall. I can highly recommend the corvina carpaccio as well as the red snapper, but would steer you far away from the brochettes (incredibly overcooked) or the shrimp cocktail (which seems to be bathes in a Thousand Island dressing). Had we had last night's food with the original night's service, this potentially could have been a five-star review.

In all, this is a three-star experience based on horrible waits from the kitchen (there is no excuse for taking 30+ minutes for a raw dish when we're the only patrons), hit-or-miss dining that seems to be trending more toward hits now, and somewhat hostile atmosphere. The "nice" owner is a really interesting and cool person and deserves better from her kitchen and co-owner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Owner at Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Hello Krista & Dylan,
We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent experience at Shi Sha Bar. We enjoyed both of your visits and meeting you. We were proud that we had made your list of the few places in Granada that you like to eat.
We noted your concerns about the food and are taking the appropriate measures to change things to ensure we give clients faster service. I am sorry you did not like the beef kebabs. I offered to change the dish for another when you told me it was overcooked but you declined telling me if you really didn't like it you would ‘send it back’. We use a mayonnaise based sauce for the shrimp cocktails and it is not a bottled Thousand Island Dressing. It is the chef’s own recipe. We could have easily changed this for something else if you had let us know.
At this current time we are finishing a large construction project and my sister cannot always be in the bar with customers. She in no way meant to be rude or unapproachable and she left it in the hands of myself to manage. She was very upset reading the review as she sincerely enjoyed chatting with you and told me she hopes you come back soon. I am not sure what you mean by keeping up on things. I served the drinks promptly so I feel this is another unnecessary personal comment.
From reading this review, I think that you have made a personal attack on my sister who is 7 months pregnant and is in the process of finishing a large project with me. I am proud of her skills and I think these personal comments towards her are very unreasonable.
The other comments about the food and service are noted and have been taken into consideration. However I am disappointed you did not tell me this in person on both visits so we could have the opportunity made your experience more enjoyable.
Have a nice trip back to the US & Best wishes in your new life.
Eloisa & Arantxa Mayers
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife had noticed that two sisters from the island of Bermuda had opened a Tapas Bar in Granada and since we had lived in Bermuda several years previous we decided to check out their establishment while we were in Granada. The owners are lovely and provided the excellent service we had known in Bermuda, they even have island favorites like Bermuda Rum Swizzle and Dark'n Stormies on the drinks menu.
We enjoyed ourselves and the tapas were excellent. The hotel and yoga studio at the rear of the cafe are scheduled to open soon so it should become a hot spot in Granada. Highly Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ECW31961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Owner at Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Hi Eric & Susan, Thanks so much for your great review, we really appreciate you visiting us and of course chatting about Bermuda is always a pleasure. Also sharing your construction and building expertise has resulted in a beautifully tiled floor in one of our new bedrooms.
We hope to see you soon again during your travels, best wishes and come again soon. Eloisa & Arantxa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

What a surprise when we walked into this bar - such beautiful decor, nice music playing and a great ambience. We ordered tapas and wine. I had the ceviche while my husband tried the sea bass with shrimp sauce.
We also ordered Argentinian wine, which we'd never tried before, and it was excellent. The food came very quickly and was really good - we tasted each other's plates. Although it's listed as tapas, there was so much food I felt I'd eaten a full dinner. We'd definately go there again on our next trip. Of all the cafes and restaurants we visited in Granada-- and there are a lot in this city- Shi Sha was the top choice for us. My neice is coming here in July & I will certainly recommend this tapas bar to her. Reasonable pricing too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Owner at Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Hi Meredith,
Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to write about us on Trip Advisor, especially as we are a new business. We look forward to seeing you and your husband on your next trip to Granada. Thank you, best wishes, Eloisa & Arantxa Mayers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloisa M, Owner at Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shi Sha Cafe & Tapas Bar also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing