We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Gran Francia Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“La Gran Francia Hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

La Gran Francia Hotel is very colonial,very classy hotel. beautiful rooms. Has a small pool inside the hotel. Good bar and restaurant. It is my favorite hotel in Granada.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs. They have a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    126
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
112
150
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels, but my experiences at La Gran Francia was top notch. My friend got married here and it was one of the most amazing weddings I have ever attended. The staff is very attentive and cater to your needs. The rooms are very rustic and cozy. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Granada!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bao Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2011

It´s an excelent hotel, with very good service; everyone at the hotel is very respectful, they take everything in consideration. Even for little kids!! I went with my wholw family and we´ll never regret our choice!!

Room Tip: Second floor is best because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is in the central area of Granada's very active downtown. The hotel staff waited on us hand and foot. They were very conscious of our experience there and made sure we had everything we might need. We had beautifully decorated rooms and the balcony views of the town and streets were a great added bonus. As a hotel customer, a small complimentary breakfast was provided by their sister resaurant across the street. The price, service, and rooms were all excellent. I would definitely stay here the next time we travel to Nica.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify how many people you will need per room. They seemed to have a problem once we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucdavis_chick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottageville, WV
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Upon the recommendation of Alvaro Rodriguez, owner and operator of Northward Nicaraguan Tours, my family and I stayed at the La Gran Francia while vacationing in Granada.

As we entered the hotel the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and well maintained.

We had dinner at their resturant which is located across the street. The service as well as the food was excellent.

We would definately stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The hotel is conveniently placed near the central park. It has all the facilities that should be included in a hotel. I especially liked the colonial style. The food was delicious and the staff was kind and welcoming. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed at the Gran Francia in March and enjoyed the experience. Great location next to the main city plaza. The atmosphere is like a colonial palace. The room was large, clean and quiet. The bar & restaurant are across the street surrounding a quiet courtyard. The price was great and the service fantastic. I recommend this property to all who want a good value authentic experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#18 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing