We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in Nicaragua.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It was an amazing place. It felt like we were right in the center of it all. I would definitely visit again. Everything was authentic and it has a great sense of the culture. Definetly a strong recommend. Great eats and great service.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberthandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed three nights at this wonderfully restored hotel. Rooms are nice (may be best to stay on the second floor in room with balcony overlooking the street). The hotel is very well situated, just of the main square, within short walking distance from anything you'd like to see in Granada. The restaurant was across the small street, in a wonderful little courtyard. Food was really great. We also took a trip organized by the hotel (hotel minivan and guide) to a nearby volcano (Masaya), the Masaya market, and pueblos blancos - very worthwhile.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room on the second floor on street side that has a little balcony. Same rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

What a gem! Beautiful architecture (colonial, high ceilings,tall wooden doors), great views( cathedral towers and mountains), and location (steps from the lively plaza). We spent five days the staff were most friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the lovely inner courtyard across the street among the flowers and bushes and relaxing in the pool. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Open the tall wooden doors and enter palatial room #3. With its grand hand carved wood bed, my 6' 6"" husband seems dwarfed. Our accomodations are elegantly appointed with antiques, lovely art and hand screened floor tiles. The location can't be beat- just off the main square near the cathedral in the heart of the city. Because of this, it is not always perfectly quiet, there may be some barking dogs, crying babies and early morning hawkers who serve as your wake up call. I am a light sleeper but this did not bother me. If you want quieter rooms, opt for one away from the street on the other side of the building. If staying in a restored 16th century building is a dream for you, stay here. If modern amenities
and a sterile atmosphere are your preference, stay elsewhere.
The staff here are exceptional, from the smiling greeting at reception by Jennifer Morales and manager, Jairo Robles who secured transport for us to San Jorge. They both also gave us taxi info advising us of the appropriate fares. On on parting day, an earlier breakfast was arranged by Jairo so that we would not be late for our ferry. Breakfast is served in a lovely tropical courtyard
across the street and is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithrelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

La Gran Francia Hotel is very colonial,very classy hotel. beautiful rooms. Has a small pool inside the hotel. Good bar and restaurant. It is my favorite hotel in Granada.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs. They have a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I've traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels, but my experiences at La Gran Francia was top notch. My friend got married here and it was one of the most amazing weddings I have ever attended. The staff is very attentive and cater to your needs. The rooms are very rustic and cozy. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Granada!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bao Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

It´s an excelent hotel, with very good service; everyone at the hotel is very respectful, they take everything in consideration. Even for little kids!! I went with my wholw family and we´ll never regret our choice!!

Room Tip: Second floor is best because of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £52 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing