We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room quality in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best room quality in Granada”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at most of the top rated hotel/B&Bs in Granada and we have been in Nicaragua for 5 weeks now. We stayed at La Gran Francia two days ago and the room quality was the best so far. The king bed was super comfortable, with great linens, many comfy pillows. The bed was to die for really. The room was large and tastefully decorated and well insulated so it kept cool and quiet. If you want a good night's sleep in Granada, you cannot beat this place!

The narrow courtyard and pool is nice, but not expansive. We liked swimming and reading here, but you won't be able to get any sun in this place. That's ok for us. The location is probably the most central and convenient you will find in Granada. The staff is helpful and friendly and more professional and polished than most places which was nice.

We are currently staying in Hotel Patio del Malinche which is nice and well run, but we want to return to La Gran Francia which currently has no vacancies. The room quality is just far superior to Malinche.

The only place in Granada I would rather stay than Gran Francia is Miss Margrits which is usually booked full. No place in Granada beats Miss Margrits for feeling at home and comfortable, and I will say now that Gran Francia is our personal number two! I will now list in order what we liked best in Granada.

1. Miss Margrits 2. La Gran Francia 3. Malinche 4. La Islita 5. Casa Cubana

We have looked at many places in Granada and chose not to stay at other places, so being on our list means they are all good. Of note, we heard that La Bocona was nice, but chose not to stay there because no air conditioning as rooms are too large an not insulated for that. The huge rooms have mosquito nets which adds to the heat. It is a big place, but we didn't like the vibe. It was also obvious that these rooms would be very noisy since they are on the main street where trucks and cars drive on all day AND night. We know from experience that this street is noisy because we stayed at Casa Cubana also on the same street. Casa Cuba is beautiful, although smallish courtyard. The rooms are nice, but very noisy and we won't stay there again because of this.

I hope this helps future travelers here!

Room Tip: Away from the street is best as always in Granada at any place you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    126
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
113
153
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a wonderful introduction to Granada. Our experience at this property and its amenities could not have been better. Thank you to the exceptional staff for anticipating our needs and tending to them with such hospitality. We will certainly return in November!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelGaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It was an amazing place. It felt like we were right in the center of it all. I would definitely visit again. Everything was authentic and it has a great sense of the culture. Definetly a strong recommend. Great eats and great service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberthandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed three nights at this wonderfully restored hotel. Rooms are nice (may be best to stay on the second floor in room with balcony overlooking the street). The hotel is very well situated, just of the main square, within short walking distance from anything you'd like to see in Granada. The restaurant was across the small street, in a wonderful little courtyard. Food was really great. We also took a trip organized by the hotel (hotel minivan and guide) to a nearby volcano (Masaya), the Masaya market, and pueblos blancos - very worthwhile.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room on the second floor on street side that has a little balcony. Same rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

What a gem! Beautiful architecture (colonial, high ceilings,tall wooden doors), great views( cathedral towers and mountains), and location (steps from the lively plaza). We spent five days the staff were most friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the lovely inner courtyard across the street among the flowers and bushes and relaxing in the pool. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Open the tall wooden doors and enter palatial room #3. With its grand hand carved wood bed, my 6' 6"" husband seems dwarfed. Our accomodations are elegantly appointed with antiques, lovely art and hand screened floor tiles. The location can't be beat- just off the main square near the cathedral in the heart of the city. Because of this, it is not always perfectly quiet, there may be some barking dogs, crying babies and early morning hawkers who serve as your wake up call. I am a light sleeper but this did not bother me. If you want quieter rooms, opt for one away from the street on the other side of the building. If staying in a restored 16th century building is a dream for you, stay here. If modern amenities
and a sterile atmosphere are your preference, stay elsewhere.
The staff here are exceptional, from the smiling greeting at reception by Jennifer Morales and manager, Jairo Robles who secured transport for us to San Jorge. They both also gave us taxi info advising us of the appropriate fares. On on parting day, an earlier breakfast was arranged by Jairo so that we would not be late for our ferry. Breakfast is served in a lovely tropical courtyard
across the street and is included in the room rate.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithrelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

La Gran Francia Hotel is very colonial,very classy hotel. beautiful rooms. Has a small pool inside the hotel. Good bar and restaurant. It is my favorite hotel in Granada.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs. They have a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing