We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious Living”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious Living”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had previously visited Granada five years ago and being disappointed in the Hotel Alhambra, I used an evening to visit many hotels in the city at the time. I had been impressed with the beautiful architecture of La Gran Francia and decided to stay there on my return visit. I was not disappointed. It is one of the best examples of Spanish Colonial construction in Nicaragua dating back to afew years later than 1524. I have traveled to El Veijo in San Juan, Puerto Rico and El Casco Viejo in Panama City. This stands as a hotel in the finest tradition of ancient colonial cities in Latin America. The staff are diligent, polite and so eager to provide good service. The restaurant serves delicious food. You can not go wrong here. The tours they arranged for us were led by an excellent tour guide, Juan Ponco. Osnar at the desk of the hotel is a eager young man, most concerned that your service is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony , request the street side of the hotel upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Isabel W, It was so gratifying to read your review. My family was very meticulous in restoring the main building of La Gran Francia in as true a fashion to its original style as possible and it's very nice to hear you appreciated our "labor of love." I am also very proud to know our team exceeded your expectations and will immediately relay your review to them with my congratulations on their ongoing performance. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in La Gran Francia. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    126
    27
    5
    16
See reviews for
112
150
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After looking online at hotels, I decided on Gran Francia, mostly due to its historical connection to the City of Granada. I was more than satisfied. The hotel is beautifully and faithfully restored; the service is excellent; the adjacent patio bar/restaurant is delightful. A traveler will be happy in choosing Gran Francia over its rival on the main Granada square, a hotel that caters to tourists that wish for 1st world luxuries in less-than-1st world destinations. One note: the hotel is not based on a 'full Colonial' architectural style, so if you stay at Gran Francia, make sure you see other buildings in that style during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Mary V. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and visit us again very soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

adequate hotel; helpful staff; moderately quiet etc
this is a 3rd world country for all the recent historical reasons we know.
Costa Rica, not itself a first world country, has per cap income 4x Nicaragua.
not worth visiting except for a great church and most interesting resturant we visited

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Philip M.,
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your recent visit to Nicaragua. You're quite right in your observation, we are a third world country that has had many struggles in its past as well as many obstacles in its present but I'd like to think we have persevered and like to look ahead to a brighter future for Nicaragua. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Wishing you happy travels in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2013

La Gran Francia in Granada is a beautiful hotel with many of the amenities that are not normally found in hotels in Nicaragua. However, the staff--from the front desk to the cleaning staff--were exceptionally helpful. The dining room across the street is also beautiful. Both buildings have many art works that make the establishment stand out.
The food at the restaurant was good, but not up to the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Bob E.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the service our staff provided for you. They will be happy to know you appreciated their help and attention. I will also transmit your observation regarding our restaurant. It is only with the aid of candid feedback that we can constantly improve our service. Thank you again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Beautiful, upscale restaurant in Granada.

Came for dinner with my family (who are locals) while visiting Nicaragua.

Ordered the pork and it was delicious! Hubs had a fish entree that was just okay. Definitely recommend the pork. I cleaned my plate and I wasn't even that hungry!

Sangria was delicious but not very sweet.

Service was okay. When we were there it was a slow night, only three other tables which had already ordered. My aunt asked for the sauce on the side and when they brought the dish the sauce was on the meat. They offered to fix the mistake and brought her back the dish again with the sauce on it. That was a bit frustrating considering the fact that the restaurant was not busy.

Over the food and atmosphere is good so we will be back again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivera J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Olivera J,
Thank you so much for your kind review despite the glitches in our service during your visit to our restaurant. I will immediately share your experience with our head waiter so he can take steps to hopefully keep these kind of incidents from recurring. It is only through candid feedback, like yours, that we can hope to improve our service. Thank you for taking the time. And best wishes to your and your loved ones in the new year! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

What an amazing experience. My wife, 2yo son and I stayed one night and wished we planed more time in Granada. The staff all spoke english well and was nothing but helpful with all our needs. Had a late dinner in the restaurant, the food was amazing and so inexpensive... Will be back next year for a much longer trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear pauhazel, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us and for your very kind remarks. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you and your family a wonderful new year, filled with prosperity and new adventures! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I am a business traveler from Spain and stayed only one night - a weekend escape from Managua - but it was unforgetable. Great property, great staff & attention and the setting in the surreal city of Granada is unbeatable. And don´t miss the jewelry made by the owner and for sale at the hotel: the best buy in Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear Jorge E,
Wow! What a wonderful review! It put a smile on my face. Thank you! I will be sure to share your experience with our staff. They pride themselves in giving the best in Nicaraguan hospitality and will be very proud to know you had such a great experience with us. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#18 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing