We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just spent 2 nights at this delightful hotel with a family of 7 including 3 children. The building is historic and has been upgraded nicely with a great pool in the courtyard. The rooms are very spacious and clean. But the highlight was the incredible staff. Everyone was very friendly and anxious to attend to our every need, including early morning coffee. We were sad to say good bye!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the little extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEdBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Anne E,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm very glad to know you enjoyed our stay at La Gran Francia. Our staff really prides itself in making sure they offer the best in Nicaraguan hospitality. I will be sure to share your review with them.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights making day trips from Granada. Very clean hotel. Comfortable beds. AC worked very well in room. Breakfast was yummy. 4-5 choices. Coffee was good. Near central square. I highly recommend it. We are in the low season, few guests were here. It is not a luxury hotel but quite nice. Building is historic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jimmyihatetoregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jimmyihatetoregister,

Thank you for your review. I'm sure many will find your feedback helpful. We're glad you enjoyed La Gran Francia and the service our staff provided.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is definitely the best hotel in Granada. The history of the building, architecture, and spacious rooms give you the feeling like you stepped back in time. The staff are super attentive to your needs and seemed to be one step ahead. The hotel also has a restaurant which served up traditional Nica breakfast (fantastic fruit, coffee etc) If you want to eat like an American, you can do that to. Wonderful coffee which is locally grown on the owners coffee plantation - very nice touch. The hotel is superbly located right on the corner of the plaza. All activities are just outside the hotel entrance. You can walk down to the lake and enjoy plenty of water sports.

The new time I head down I will be certain to spend a couple of nights at La Gand -

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SURFnTURFrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear SURFnTURFrs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We're very happy you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will choose us again on your next trip down to Nicaragua.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel. It has the classical look that we were looking for. The pool and architecture is gorgeous. The staff and manager are extremely polite and accommodating. The hotel restaurant next door is delicious! Would definitely stay at La Gran on our next trip to Nicaragua!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank AMRgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear AMRgolf,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review La Gran Francia. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We loved this hotel. It was clean, quiet, had comfortable beds and the service was great. It is close to the center of town, restaurants, etc. The included breakfast was at a lovely restaurant across the street where the grounds and gardens were beautiful. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netmadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear NetMadre,

Thank you so much for your review.

The restaurant where you had your breakfast is part of La Gran Francia. Because of their historic significance, we couldn't change the architecture of our buildings, so we had to house our facilities in two different locations, but as you mention, they're just a quick hop across the street from one another.

We're very happy you enjoyed your stay, your breakfast, and hope you enjoyed your visit to Granada as well.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was a wonderful experience, we went to celebrated our third anniversary and we really enjoyed our visit to La Gran Francia. Francisco Pérez on the reception of the hotel was fantastic and helpful. I recommend 100% this place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Marcela T,

Happy Anniversary!

And thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience. I will be sure to share your words with Francisco.

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Great location next to the central square and one block from the walking/eating street.

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a nice, clean, big room (no. 9) on the inside ground floor. Beds were large and comfy...even had 4 pillows each.

The breakfast was served in the restaurant garden across the road. Lovely setting.

Staff here were all lovely, friendly and helpful. A special thank you to - Katia, Francisco, Gustavo and Antonio for their excellent service.

Only con....Cappuccinos at the restaurant need improving.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank kayjay176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear kayjay176,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a detailed review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and Katia, Francisco, Gustavo and Antonio will also be happy and proud to know that you mentioned them by name.

I will also make sure to share your thoughts on the cappuccinos with our head waiter. It is only through candid evaluations, such as yours, that we can improve our service.

Thanks again and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#3 of 45 in Granada
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £66 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing