We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Granada
washington dc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful, welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Three colleagues and I stayed for three nights at La Gran Francia when we were on business. The hotel made it feel like a vacation. Rooms and bathrooms are impeccably clean; water is hot; air conditioning is cold; Internet fast and free. The staff was unfailingly helpful in arranging transportation from the airport and to other towns. There's a gorgeous garden where we ate an excellent breakfast every morning. The hotel is right on the central park, next to the Cathedral: a perfect location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. We are very happy to hear that our staff and facilities met (and perhaps exceeded) your expectations. We hope you will visit us again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    124
    26
    5
    16
See reviews for
107
149
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night only and that was enough for is to say that this place is GREAT! Lovely rooms, good service, in the middle of Granada which is a beautiful city. The prices are justified by their quality. I highly recommend it. You need a place to stay, this is YOUR PLACE TO STAY.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our facilities to such an extent, and that you feel we offer a product of some value. Please visit us again soon.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this colonial style boutique hotel! The staff is very friendly and helpful, allthough sometimes we as guests had to participate quite a lot in coming up with how some problems should be solved :) At this price, we were really surprised of the great location location (just by parque central), high service level and beauty of the hotel. Try to get a room with a balcony if possible.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellertSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We're very glad you enjoyed your visit to Granada and your stay with us. Proactivity is one of the principles we try to instill in our employees. They should anticipate our guests' needs. We will keep working very hard on this matter. Thanks again for your candid remarks and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I visited Granada in December with my boyfriend and his parents for two nights. His dad (who is Nicaraguan) highly recommended this hotel but unfortunately it was only available one of the two nights.. so we stayed that one night! The hotel is beautiful and has rooms on two floors surrounding the middle of the hotel which is open aired and houses a pool. The room was very clean, and wonderful air conditioning, and was a large size! There's so much to explore in Granada so we didn't spend too much time in the room, but I really enjoyed the small amount of time we were there. Breakfast was served at their restaurant across the street, and you could sit and eat in the beautiful garden. It was included and a very good breakfast. It is in a great location and a short walk to the main square.
Wifi in the room was pretty weak, but when you walked out to the lobby it was fine.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We're sure your detailed review will be useful to many users.

We're aware of the slow internet service in the rooms and are currently working with our service provider on the problem. Thank you for bringing it to our attention though.

We're very glad to hear you enjoyed what little time you stayed with us and hope to welcome you for a longer stay in the future.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a junior suite, central location. Great that we had a pool to cool off in. Granada is a very, very hot and humid city year round. They included breakfast in our rate and it was really good, fruit, coffee, eggs, mango juice, gallo pinto and my husband swapped the eggs for french toast at no extra charge. The air conditioning in our room was really cold.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived without reservations. We stayed 2 nights on the second floor with balcony. The front desk and the bellhop were very accommodating. We travelled by motorcycle and needed secure parking for the time we were there- the bellhop rode with my husband to the parking facility to show the way.
Our Spanish is limited, but everyone we encountered on the staff spoke English. The pool was a great way to cool off after sightseeing; and there was welcoming AC in our room.
We watched the semi-final of the World Cup at the bar area, where other patrons and the bartender were all stunned at the Germany/Brazil game.
There is a sweet courtyard for dining, drinking, relaxing.
The location is perfect; within walking distance of everything you would want to see. (If you decide to do the Islet tour, you will need transportation to the launch area).
Breakfast is included and was good.
We did have one dinner at the restaurant, paella with seafood-delicious

Room Tip: Second floor with the balcony was nice, but the ones on the first floor may be equally good. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBY56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review our facilities and service. I am sure your comments will be of great help to Trip Advisor users. We're very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The architecture of the hotel is very well preserved, so you really get involved in the city´s colonial and historic vibe. The location is really convenient and centric. The staff was always ahead of our needs.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the second floor to have a great view over the city's colonial rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnaMaVillalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LigiaMV, Owner at La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Granada. We hope to see you again soon.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#18 of 44 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante

Property: La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Address: Esquina sureste del Parque Central, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right off the main square of the historical colonial city of Granada, La Gran Francia is a splendid ancestral building whose existence historians argue dates back to the years immediately following the founding of Granada, in 1524. This architectural jewel was restored during the decade of the 1990's, recovering the majesty and splendor of its heyday and today houses our hotel restaurant, bars and banquet hall facilities. In two distinct and centric settings, La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel offers its guests a total of 35 air-conditioned rooms, with all modern comforts and amenities. At La Gran Francia Colonial Hotel, you will be able to enjoy the best of Nicaraguan hospitality and the rustic elegance of colonial Granada. La Gran Francia has been recommended by Conde Nast Traveller and Samantha Brown from The Discovery Channel, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gran Francia Granada
La Gran Francia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing