We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 01/06
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Colonial(Granada)
Free cancellation until 30/05
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada(Isletas de Granada)
US$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$407/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 30/05
Book now, pay at stay
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Padrino Hotel(Granada)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
321
143
34
5
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
143
34
5
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingbeautiful hotelantique furniturehotel restaurantthe main squarecolonial architecturecourtyard gardenvisited granadathe ground floorcentral parkthe general managerhot waterroom was largethree nightsplunge poolbreakfast is servedfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The rooms are air conditioned with private baths. Colonial Nicaragua and only 35 minutes from Managua to Granada. If you have a late arriving flight or an early departing flight, it is much better to overnight in Granada than Managua. The hotel is central on the main park and across from the cathedral. Out the front door and to the right and a ten minute car ride is the base of Mombacho volcano and tours to the top for nature hikes are readily available. The view is incredible and it is a live volcano, complete with steam holes in the canopy.
The staff speaks english, are incredibly accomodating and the hotel restaurant, just out the front door in a separate building, has a fantastic balcony overlooking the square. We enjoyed the view of two big festivals above the street on the balcony in August of 2009, even though I was at another property experimenting with other hotels. Room rates are great also. Balcony rooms on the street or more quiet rooms on the back, all clean, safe and well maintained with colonial furniture for a true colonial Nicaraguan feel. No spa and I never asked about any arrangement but it was not a spa kind of trip.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooner86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

For Central America standards this is a classy hotel. It is v centrally located in the main square & has a restaurant & bar with a balcony overlooking the square. Staff were v friendly & breakfast was good with seating around a small lush courtyard. Pool is small but nice to have. Rooms were nice -only downside was poor showers but we do get spoilt in the US with our showers. I would def. stay there again. As a aside a few blocks away was a wonderful Thai restaurant called El Tercer Ojo (it's a couple of blocks away from the row of restaurants).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazzer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Very centrally located, just 30 second walk to the central park. Restored mansion that is in good shape. Two floors. A nice looking place with a large pool in the main area. Double occupancy on the ground floor at $100 plus tax.

Decent size room with high ceiling, individual a/c and ceiling fan. Fairly large size TV. Plumbing worked well although could have used better light by the sink and mirror. Comfortable king sized bed. Clean. Our room in the rear was very quiet but with no view. There was a decorative terrace.

Staff was very accommodating when we asked for a restaurant booking in Granada and a hotel booking on Isla Ometepe. They pre-arranged airport pickup when we arrived in Managua for less money than Paxeos Travel Agency (we paid the hotel $30 total for two people).

Beware of a “propina” charge on the room bill. It came out to $30 for 5 days, as a way of tipping the entire staff. It was not mentioned anywhere beforehand. I contested that when I returned home and it was removed with an apology.

Complimentary breakfast is held across the street in a nice garden but was ordinary, a disappointment, except for the pancakes and bacon. The juices were abysmal. The fruit cocktail had no taste. The coffee was weak. Dinner, which we had once at their a/c upstairs establishment, was only half successful. My steak was well prepared and tasty, although the mashed potatoes were tepid, for about $12. The coffee flan was superb, but the hot coffee was again weak. My wife’s pomodoro pasta was adequate but suffered dearly from lack of balance of ingredients, for $8. Service was just okay. Overall price was right, though: $40 total for steak, pasta, 2 or 3 drinks, dessert, coffee and service, to eat at one of the best places in town. However, the best place, in my experience, is El Saquan for the steak.

Overall score: A-.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylesfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

I must say that I had difficulty relating our stay at this hotel to a review recently posted of the hotel. We stayed at the hotel on 2 occasions for a total of 3 nights over a period of 6 days. From the onset, we found the reception staff, porters & restaurant staff extremely friendly & helpful. We asked for a quiet room, above all else; we were given a room on the 1st floor at the rear of the hotel, although the room had no view, it was very well lit by natural light and it was totally quiet.

Recognising that our arrival coincided with Valentine's Day - we asked for a dinner reservation at the restaurant. Unfortunately for us there was a very upmarket evening wedding at the cathedral with the reception at the hotel. However the hotel receptionist managed to arrange a reservation at El Zaguan, the best in town, which I would recommend to all. We had 2 meals at El Zaguan (outstanding) and 1 at La Gran Francia (very good). We also had a beer at the bar on the 1st floor, it overlooks the street scene & as a consequence suffers from some air pollution. The swimming pool looked very nice, but it's size & position did not entice.

The hotel's restaurant is across the street and we enjoyed our breakfast on the covered terrace, the garden was simply too hot, even at that time of a morning. What the hotel has going for it is that it is adjacent to the Parque Colon, you can return to the hotel at any time to recover from the heat.

I would also recommend to you Kathy's Waffle House.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Firstly, I have to say that I've stayed on several occasions in this hotel..and until last week, all went well.

Not a "first class" hotel they claim to be, by far, though the price would lead you to believe otherwise.

While this has been the most expensive place in Granada it was only tolerable because of the "o.k." service they provide and the relative comfort coming from the fact that they have back-up power generators when power goes off, as if often does in Nicaragua.

Unfortunately, this last visit was the most unpleasant. The service, which was hard to come by is not TOTALLY EXTINCT! I understand that the place is now being managed by a relative of the owner, perhaps to save on cost, who knows, and as a paying guest, I could care less. The restaurant staff is totally untrained and when asked about the choices of breakfast, they basically led me to an empty table with what looked liked was old bread, fruit with flies all over it and juices that were warm and tasteless. When asked about the choices, we were told there were no choices. Quite a contrast to the previous time I'd stayed there where the staff went out of its way to accomodate special requests.

The other and most unpleasant of surprises was finding that my luggage was thoroughly rummaged through by the hotel employees. While I had nothing of value, it is quite disturbing that a place calling itself "the best hotel in Granada" actually has dishonest employees in its staff.

Furthermore, when I encountered this incident I immediately called on the Manager on duty who was totally none caring, and she was rather obstinate about brushing off my complaint. This is totally pathetic and unacceptable from a place that bills itself as “first rate”. I proceeded to checkout immediately!

Stay away from this place and look elsewhere to stay in Granada. If you stay there, LOCK YOUR BAGS!! Best still, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Angel
ansolo@aol.com

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnsoloMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews