We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Granada” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Thomas, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Boutique Hotel in Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My wife and I recently spent time in Granada on our honeymoon back in October. We stayed two nights at Casa San Francicso and throroughly enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel. The owner Terry was very cordial and made us feel extremely welcome, Claudia at the front desk was friendly, spoke good english, was a tremendous help. And what can I say about the restaurant - the food was tasty delicious and reasonably priced. Wish we could have stayed another two nights. What a great city, with lots of ex-pat Americans, We will return.

Steve K
Ft. Thomas, KY
USA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    105
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
104
270
80
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto On Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here for one night after having dinner there with friends earlier in the week. The meal was outstanding and service impeccable.
We stayed here on our last night in Granada and managed to get the last available room for $65 plus taxes. Parking was down the street for $2.
Our room was very nice with a tiny outside seating area. Breakfast was included and we chose the tipico with eggs.
We had dinner there that night with friends and again had a wonderful meal. We then took our wine upstairs to the roof patio and relaxed with great views of the cathedral.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geektrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Casa San Francisco is a great spot. Good location close to the central park and churches yet on a quiet street. The rooms are clean, comfortable and each one is unique. The pool is lovely and large enough for a relaxing dip. The restaurant serves excellent meals including the included breakfast and the bar makes a great mojito. Check out the roof top terrace for a great view of the city. The front desk staff speak excellent English. I'd recommend this to friends for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceibaforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I can't say enough good about the staff and the accommodations. Everyone is over the top helpful. They all give you a sincere greeting when they see you. Not because they have to for their job, but because they are good people. The food is amazing as well. We've tried many of the restaurants around town and always end up coming back home to eat at our hotel. We haven't found anything on the menu yet that isn't incredible (note, we have high standards for food by the way). We highly recommend Casa San Francisco!

Room Tip: We loved our room by the pool at the end on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at the Casa San Francisco in Granada, Nicaragua for 8 days recently. It is without a doubt one of the best boutique hotels in the world. Excellent location. Excellent food in restaurant. Extremely nice staff. Terry - co-owner - took such great care of us. Great value for the money. I will recommend to everyone I know!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

A great little hotel to stay in in Granada. Centrally located. Very nice staff. We really liked it. Moderate price.

Room Tip: Higher floor has view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We called Casa San Francisco (and a bunch of other places) on our way to Granada and were relieved that they said they would be able to accommodate us during a very busy time in the city. We made arrangements over the phone and took a taxi there specifically. when we arrived, with all our things, the woman at the front desk gave us a rate $10 higher per room than the rate we were given on the phone. She also said that tax would be added to the room rates, when the phone conversation made it pretty clear that tax was included (we travel a lot in Latin America-- this is an important question to ask at any hotel).

When we explained that we were quoted a different rate by someone else, she called the other woman on the phone and asked her about it. From hearing her side of the conversation, it was clear what happened-- the woman who quote the price made a mistake. This woman must not have expected that we understood her Spanish, because when she hung up, she accused my friend of giving her the wrong price!

The other woman, who I think is the owner, Kim, came to the desk and explained that she had made a mistake and would have to charge us the higher rate anyway. She was not apologetic nor did she seem to care that we had confirmed a rate and then taken a taxi there specifically and had very few other options. We left and stayed elsewhere

The problem for me was not that she made a mistake, but that their solution was first to purposefully try to blame us for misrepresenting a conversation, and then when that didn't work, to not take any responsibility for the error. It was a pain to trek around with our bags to find another place (which wasn't as nice, honestly) but we didn't want to condone this sort of business practice. There are plenty of places in Granada to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
csfgranada, Owner at Casa San Francisco, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, We are very sorry this happened. This is not our normal operating procedure. Kim our manager remembers this incident, she is new and did not know our that we always honor our commitments. Best, Terry Leary, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#1 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#14 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#15 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing