We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint, clean hideaway”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2012

At the last minute, our party of 10 decided to make a side trip to Granada. A travel group in San Juan del Sur recommended Casa San Francisco and a local agreed that this was the best choice in Granada. We were happy with the last minute accommodations; however, there were no two bed per room options available. Traveling with several children, this was a challenge. The hotel offered us a couple roll-aways, and we worked it out fine. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The best part was our dinner. The food was exceptional and the drinks very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a great hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a nice breakfast included for you to start your day with. The restaurant in the hotel called "Los Chocoyos" serves a superb dinner. The staff was most helpful in planning and setting up local tours and a trip to Ometepe Island. I highly recommend this place for short and long term stays.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fresh_Air31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa San Francisco. The hotel was very well appointed, comfortable, beautiful, and relaxing. The staff were VERY informative, helpful, and friendly. It seemed they greatly enjoyed working there. The breakfast was great, and the pool wonderful, and the location superb.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank 60878Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is one of the best hotel/guest experiences I have every had in Central America. Casa San Francisco is run by two expat sisters who are insanely friendly to the point the they invited me to have homemade dinners with them and and Easter dinner with friends and family. The place is not an ideal place for young travelers as the crowd tended to be 40's plus, but for the rates they are charging this is a steal. If you are traveling with a family, you should not stay anywhere else. If you are there for an extended time... this is the place. But for a couple nights in Granada, if you are young and looking for something a bit more up tempo, not so much. Great pool, great people, and great food are the highlights of Casa San Francisco.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The team of ladies, from the owner to the front desk staff at Casa San Francisco are AMAZING. Very charming, comfortable, and safe. The hotel is on a quiet street outside of the square HUB BUB but easily within walking distance. I felt that we are staying with "like minded" travelers that were open to visit, share ideas, as well as respected ones need for space and quiet time.

The separately owned restaurant offered up consistent tasty meals and great bar service. Go ask Franklin for the coldest TONA and chips!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

- At the check-in I was treated like a friend who was coming to visit. I knew instantly that I had made the right choice reserving this hotel.

- Super charming place. VERY CLEAN.

- Well designed rooms. Modern beds with comfortable mattresses. No detail missed.

- The hotel secure, secluded and quiet but still only a few blocks from center.

- The complimentary full breakfast with great coffee kept me fueled past lunch.

- The computer station which was available for guests was a bonus convenience for me.

- I was a solo traveler bouncing around Nicaragua. I stayed in three different rooms at the hotel. Each room was individually special. Everything is constructed using the best of materials. (The woodworking built like fine cabinetry!) The modern AC was a luxury and the TVs worked well in each room.

- The owner Terry was friendly and full of information. She has a great eye for design and a brain for business. She was on site but stayed behind the scenes letting her wonderful staff do their jobs.
She made very good choices with her employees. Certainly a well run operation.

- Claudia and Maria always attentive and friendly. Reservation and question emails were answered with speed and personal attention.

- I look forward to returning sometime in the future. I can't get the place out of my mind!

- Granada is definitely a place to visit and the Casa San Francisco is highly recommended.

Douglas in Connecticut,USA

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We spent a month at an apartment owned by one of the hotel's owners, just a few blocks away, and we stayed for almost a week there when my family came to visit. The hotel location is perfect, just blocks from the Calzada, but in a quiet area. The small pool is perfect for hot afternoons and the rooftop terrace for cold cocktails, the rooms are beautifully though simply decorated and immaculate. It's a good deal for the price, and you can ask about rooms of various sizes/prices. The breakfast menu is great! Plus, you can use the PureSpa gym with a complimentary membership during your stay. Most importantly for us, the staff is incredibly friendly, helpful, professional, and really care about making their guests' experience the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing