We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa San Francisco”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa San Francisco”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a small and charming hotel, a few blocks away from the city center. We found it to be very clean, well managed, lots of greenery around the property, a family of turtles resides in the garden next to the cafe, and an excellent breakfast menu, with rich, dark coffee! High quality mattress and pillows assured a sound sleep each night! I would highly recommend Casa San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
112
285
88
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This quaint hotel off the main walking street was recommended to me by a friend. I could not have been more pleased with the location, the ambience, the rooms, or the service provided by the staff. Most impressive was the quality of the beds, the linens, and the down pillows. Very first class!!! The hotel is centrally located and just three blocks from where all the bars and restaurants are. I traveled with a girlfriend and never once did we feel it was unsafe to walk from the hotel to the main part of town, I would definitely stay there again, and have recommended it to others as well, The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, especially on the morning of our very early (5:30 a.m.) departure to catch a bus back to Costa Rica. The young man who was working the overnight shift gave us a wake-up knock on the door and handed us a cup of fresh-brewed coffee. That started the day off right! The hotel had a very relaxed yet elegant feel to it. The rooms were more than adequate in size, and the bathroom was very modern. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank poopiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is run by two sisters from San Francisco who are very hospitable and great care was put in the renovation. One of the sisters Kerry is an amazing travelers, who has been to 106 countries more or less, an I had some very interesting chats with her.

The hotel is slightly overpriced in my opinion but well located and with a friendly staff. There are some negative reviews of the hotel that are just silly, probably from disgruntled guests that are always complaining. The hotel is clean - sheets, towels, rooms - I don't know what their problem is with these guests but I would not take their reviews seriously. With over reviews there are bound to be some rotten apples in the bunch.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2013

When I visit Granada, I don't even bother staying elsewhere. I have stayed at Casa San Franciso three times since 2009, both with my family and solo, and have been delighted each time. It is small, quiet, and immaculately clean. Each room is unique and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a small, boutique hotel. The staff here are bilingual, super friendly and will help you with anything you want to do or with any situations that come up. The location is perfect for exploring the city and the restaurant is relaxed and superb. The hotel has an "annex" around the corner from the main hotel that is the former personal home of the owners. When the annex is not rented out for longer periods, it is the perfect place for a family to rent two or more rooms for a few nights and to enjoy the larger pool and sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Casa San Francisco has a very attentive and friendly staff, beautifully decorated rooms and a warm friendly atmosphere. Parrots and turtles enjoy the flower garden while guests enjoy their delicious meal or a beverage. Fabulous breakfast included. I was traveling with my sister who has returned numerous times. This was my first visit and I can see why this hotel is so special. I particularly enjoyed meeting Terry, one of the owners. She is wonderful story teller, fearless traveler and inspiration to all. I look forward to a return soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great hotel. Friendly staff. Great free breakfast. Very, very clean. Lots of hot water. Beyond all this, one of the highlights was meeting Terry, one of the two sisters that own this hotel. She is a fascinating person who is making such a difference in Nicaragua, Pakistan (setting up girls schools) and so many other places around the world.

We love this hotel. Oh, the pool is amazingly clean. It was something that the kids and I looked forward to every day after touring.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely grounds, sparkling clean and cool rooms and HOT showers. Casa San Francisco was the only place we had hot water in our two week vacation so we relished every second of it. In addition, the food in the restaurant downstairs is absolutely amazing. Rooms come with full breakfasts, but you can stay and pay for dinner if that fits in your plans. We highly recommend you do. All of the staff are helpful and sweet and the vibe of the place is exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenandBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#4 of 43 in Granada
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 43 in Granada
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing