We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Casa San Francisco is such a wonderful place to stay. The staff are great and I felt right at home. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, fun, clean and friendly place to stay. The hotel is in a great location, just a few blocks away from the Calsada. It also has a lot of tourist information, great for those who don't know where there going. Also the food is great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    106
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
108
278
81
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a charming little hotel. A real value for the price as well. During breakfast it is not unusual to strike up a conversation with the owner and her two parrots. All are very interesting. The staff is extremely helpful in arranging tours. One of the better guides is a former employee of the hotel and can be counted on for very informative and enjoyable tours. The hotel is well located in a very walkable part of the city. The first evening I was fortunate to be out admiring the nearby church by the light of the full moon.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. There are only two floors but carrying a suitcase can be a chore. A tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely rooms and public areas including pool. My room had plumbing problems which required my persistence to get fixed. (Shower not working) The restaurant served mediocre to poor food, but worse, the service staff was rude and uncooperative at times, especially in the evening. The management was helpful and nice, but didn't oversee the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ZebraBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patzcuaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a small and charming hotel, a few blocks away from the city center. We found it to be very clean, well managed, lots of greenery around the property, a family of turtles resides in the garden next to the cafe, and an excellent breakfast menu, with rich, dark coffee! High quality mattress and pillows assured a sound sleep each night! I would highly recommend Casa San Francisco!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This quaint hotel off the main walking street was recommended to me by a friend. I could not have been more pleased with the location, the ambience, the rooms, or the service provided by the staff. Most impressive was the quality of the beds, the linens, and the down pillows. Very first class!!! The hotel is centrally located and just three blocks from where all the bars and restaurants are. I traveled with a girlfriend and never once did we feel it was unsafe to walk from the hotel to the main part of town, I would definitely stay there again, and have recommended it to others as well, The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, especially on the morning of our very early (5:30 a.m.) departure to catch a bus back to Costa Rica. The young man who was working the overnight shift gave us a wake-up knock on the door and handed us a cup of fresh-brewed coffee. That started the day off right! The hotel had a very relaxed yet elegant feel to it. The rooms were more than adequate in size, and the bathroom was very modern. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank poopiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is run by two sisters from San Francisco who are very hospitable and great care was put in the renovation. One of the sisters Kerry is an amazing travelers, who has been to 106 countries more or less, an I had some very interesting chats with her.

The hotel is slightly overpriced in my opinion but well located and with a friendly staff. There are some negative reviews of the hotel that are just silly, probably from disgruntled guests that are always complaining. The hotel is clean - sheets, towels, rooms - I don't know what their problem is with these guests but I would not take their reviews seriously. With over reviews there are bound to be some rotten apples in the bunch.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

When I visit Granada, I don't even bother staying elsewhere. I have stayed at Casa San Franciso three times since 2009, both with my family and solo, and have been delighted each time. It is small, quiet, and immaculately clean. Each room is unique and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a small, boutique hotel. The staff here are bilingual, super friendly and will help you with anything you want to do or with any situations that come up. The location is perfect for exploring the city and the restaurant is relaxed and superb. The hotel has an "annex" around the corner from the main hotel that is the former personal home of the owners. When the annex is not rented out for longer periods, it is the perfect place for a family to rent two or more rooms for a few nights and to enjoy the larger pool and sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing