We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful All Around!”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful All Around!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our stay at Casa San Francisco really started our trip off right. The staff was wonderful, the location was perfect and the hotel was beautiful and very clean! Claudia helped us arrange several tours and was extremely helpful! Thank you for a wonderful stay Casa SF!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godzucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
88
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My sister and I stayed at Casa San Francisco for 8 nights in November, 2013. We shared a room with 2 twin beds on the second level. The hotel was absolutely the best! The room was lovely, extremely clean, modern and comfortable, and quiet. Air conditioner worked perfectly. The grounds were great - a series of small courtyards and a cute little pool with towels and chairs to relax. There's also a nice courtyard on the roof where you can sit and read, and stare at Volcan Masaya. The breakfasts (included in the rate) were delicious - eggs, fresh fruit (all safe to eat because they were melons, pineapple, bananas, etc.), oatmeal, toast, coffee. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (special thanks to Claudia for all her help). They spoke English very well and helped us with directions, taxis, etc. The location was perfect - two blocks to the central park where there are restaurants, stores, horse and carriage rides, etc. The hotel recently opened a tapas-type restaurant on its premises. We ate there one night and the food was some of the best we had in Granada! It was even delivered to our room! We felt very safe walking around the area at all times. We really loved our stay at Casa San Francisco and enthusiastically recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and overlooking the pool. It was very quite. But the entire hotel se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very comfortable room (#4) with a small balcony overlooking a quiet, lush courtyard with a pool the perfect size for a cool off after a day of sightseeing. Location couldn't be better.
They just started doing bar snacks in the evening and, to my surprise and delight, she made the dishes vegan for me! How's that for service!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbwdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Everything was great from the pool side room to the breakfast to the wonderful staff. Meeting both owners, sisters, was a great treat. Claudia was absolutely fantastic. Great stay!!!!! We will be back. Thanks San Francisco!!!!!!!
Excellent location too. Two blocks from the main square on a quiet street.
Rooftop Terrace as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was my second visit to Casa de San Francisco. Since my last visit, the restaurant has closed (sadly). However breakfast is still served by a friendly staff. Coffee and warm milk is brought to your table (I do this at home, so this is a very nice touch).

Thanks to Maria, Claudia, and Helena for all the helpful suggestions and phone calls made when we needed it. I speak a little Spanish, and they were very kind and helpful - in putting up with my Spanish, and helping in English!

The good news is that La Bocadilla will be opening in early December, and I was fortunate to be present during the Day of the Dead celebration that Nancy Bergman (one of the owners) always puts on. The owners of the Bocadilla were there to provide the food and drinks that will be part of their menu at the Casa de San Francisco. The Watermelon drink is HIGHLY recommended as are the bocadillas (like tapas).

I highly recommend this hotel and give it all the stars available. Love this place and the staff! Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Granada.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikakevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We'll definitely stay here again, the welcome my Claudia was superb! The room was beautiful, lovely deco with a little balcony, comfy bed, air con and two fans! Which were all needed as it's hot!!!
Perfect location! Safe to walk home at night, nice tree lined street away from main sq, tranquil setting.
We took a tour to the volcano with Giovana, it felt like we were going out with a friend, he was super friendly and very informative, plus it cost us only $5 more than other companies that don't include a guide taking you around. Must try their chocolate sold at reception!!! Best ever!!
Only down side was the free breakfast, a little poor, although nice bread the toast portions were ridiculously small along with the tiniest drop of jam, plus orange juice was not fresh. And the shower was powerful but never hot, not that we cared in the heat!!! Luke warm-warm was fine!
Make sure to head up to the top of the roof were there's a little balcony, nice sunbathing spot.

Room Tip: room 4 was lovely, up one level away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeying_inwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The rooms all had ceiling fans as well as AC. The decor was lovely and the pool fantastic. It was quiet with no outside street noises, and the hosts were wonderful. My only complaint was that the bar was not open because of remodeling and they didn't serve meals other than breakfast at the time we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing