We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Convivial!”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This captivating boutique hotel was one of the highlights of my trip to Nicaragua. It combines a central location with an oasis of peace and tranquility. The courtyard opens to tropical greenery, and private plunge pool, with lovely cafe, and friendly bar aside. The staff was endearing with excellent service and a delightful attitude. The rooms were comfortable, full of character and decorated with imagination. As a woman traveling alone, I felt secure and at ease, and appreciated the hostesses effort to make introductions to other guests when appropriate. The cafe food was light and delicious - perfect for the warm climate. Cocktails were imaginative and yummy and the bar atmosphere was respectful yet fun. Room service and cleanliness were impeccable.

I have traveled to over 80 countries, and I can count Hotel Casa San Francisco at the very top of my list. I recommend it without hesitation. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Let me start by saying this hotel has a really good location a few blocks away from the main square. The problem is the owners are trying to make this a funky boutique hotel, but unfortunately it just doesn't work. We really did not like this place, or the way we were treated. It's really overpriced and just not worth it.
We booked a deluxe Queen room which was described as: a spacious room with flat-screen tv and a working desk,and a large balcony. The description was totally bogus. The room was very small with only 3 ft and 4 ft on either side of the bed. Hardly spacious, I would call it small. The flat screen TV was the smallest one you can buy,18 inches across diagonally. There is no room to sit and watch it, so you have to lie on the bed to watch TV, but the 4 poster gets in the way! Yes there was a small writing desk.... but it was very small and stuck in the corner with the said TV on it, so you cannot actually use it as a writing desk. The balcony was very small and cramped with barely room for 2 chairs. The 4 poster bed was very uncomfortable with a cheap lumpy matress. My wife bruises easily and had bruises on her hips from the springs! The rooms from the original mansion have been renovated, but you get the impression it has been very cheaply done.

You enter the hotel through a bar area, which we found quite uncomfortable for dealing with reception and having people at the bar monitoring your conversations. Coming back to the hotel at night, you have to walk through the bar again, not pleasant if people have been drinking, and then you have to work your way through the tables of the restaurant in the back in order to get to your room. Again, not very private or pleasant for patrons sitting having dinner... or you squeezing by them.
The room itself was not very clean. The maid just swabs the floor with a dirty mop, pushing all the hair and stuff on the bathroom floor into the corners. they don't sweep first, then wash. The sink had the tell-tale brown ring of dirt around the plug showing it is not being properly cleaned. The "romantic" mosquito net covering the 4 poster bed would have been a lot more romantic if they bothered to clean the myriad of dead mosquito's off the top of the net! Again, I blame poor management. Staff need to be shown how to clean the room properly.

The hotel has a pool, but it's nothing more than a small plunge pool in a small courtyard at the back. there is nowhere to sit or lie, and it's right in front of two rooms at the back, so if guests in the two rooms are out sitting on their balcony you are literally 3 feet away from them. We never saw anyone use the pool in the entire 3 days we were there.

The free breakfast was aweful. the restaurant has a full breakfast menu, but guests are restricted to only two choices. Typico : eggs, rice & beans, toast and coffee, or fruit plate. If you want anything different ...you have to pay again. Yes! You already paid for breakfast, but if you want something different like pancakes, you have to pay again. Hang on... you already paid! What a scam. In over 50 years of world travel this was a first for me. The owners figured out how to charge patrons twice for breakfast in order to get what they want to eat. How tricky is that! The food itself was pitiful. As other reviewers have described, the food was mediocre. The rice and beans tasted stale, like yesterdays warm-up. The 2 pieces of toast were rock hard and literally only 2 inches square. A tiny teaspoon of butter and a tiny teaspoon of marmalade were offered. My wife had the fruit. All you get is fruit! No honey, yogurt on the side like you get at other quality boutique hotels. I spoke to the owner about this and she made some lame excuse that the breakfast menu was restricted to the 2 choices because that is all her staff could handle. If I were the owner I would get new staff!

We gave up on the breakfasts here and went across the street to Kathy's Waffle House which I highly recommend. Great food, endless free mugs of great nicaraguan coffee! they treat you right!

We were glad to check-out of Casa San Francisco and decided to take advantage of the 5% discount for cash payment that was offered in the room information package. When I went to pay, the once friendly desk clerk became quite stern and unfriendly and refused to give us the discount as we had booked online through a booking company, and not directly to the hotel. This contradicted the hotel policy of offering a 5% discount for cash payment which made no mention of this exception. It just came out of the blue. So we paid by Visa and the owner is going to pay visa 5% anyway. Not very smart business sense in my opinion, and certainly not a good way to treat a paying guest. We left with a bad taste in our mouths.

Out on the street we saw the owner and told her that we were quite upset with this treatment from her staff. She did attempt to rectify the situation and did give us the discount for cash, but really the owners need to pay more attention to payment policies. If you are not going to offer discount to people who use booking.com you need to state this. Just poor management.

Overall, this was definitely the worst hotel in our entire trip to Nicaragua. It is really overpriced and is only worth $45 a night at best. I would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone. There are much nicer places to stay in Granada.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, get a hotel that looks after you better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helena g, Manager at Casa San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Good morning. This is Helena Gil, general manager at Casa San Francisco Hotel. I would like to answer this review but let me first comment that these guests did not comment on anything until the very last moment when they were checking out, although they stayed 4 nights with us. We would have loved to improve their experience with us but when asked about their stay they never said a word until the very last moment. The owner, Terry is at breakfast every morning to ensure the guests are well taken care of and she helps guests plan their day. These guests never spoke of being dissatisfied until check out. We work very hard to attend to our guests wishes.

The description of the room in booking.com is literally this: "Air-conditioned and spacious room that offers flat-screen TV with cable channels, a safe and a working desk. The bathroom has a shower and free toiletries. This room also has a large balcony. Room Size: 25 m² Bed Size(s): 1 queen". The TV is in fact on the table, but there is enough place to work on a laptop or writing. All our matresses are high quality, it is not true that you can feel the springs. Cleaning is a priority for us, and of course the floors are first swept and then washed. If you ever come to Nicaragua in the dry season you will notice that dust comes from everywhere the moment you open a window, that is part of the conditions in this season. This is nat season but they do not bite, this is reproduction time, and mamy of them die every day, and of course they are removed from the mosquito net every morning. There are some tiles in the bathroom that have been sanded so often they have a yellow colouration, I agree they need to be changed soon, but both the shower and the sink are deeply cleaned everyday. No one has complained about any of these issues before.

The breakfast included is either continental (which includes fruits, toast, orange juice and tea or coffee) or typical (2 eggs, gallopinto = rice and beans, cheese, toast, and tea or coffe) We have artisan bread toasted just before being served, we offer two small toasts at first and give more if guests require so (which they seldom ask for). For stays of one week or more free menu is offered to our clients, choosing any of the options for no extra charge. Most people not only enjoy our breakfast but really love it.

In our website we specify that reservations through booking.com does not get the 5% cash discount (http://hotelcasasanfrancisco.com/accomodations-rates/) However we had not changed the information in the room folders and therefore we did apply the discount to these guests.

We really do our best to accomodate our guests, and are really sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. We will take into considerations all your comments to improve our service. As you can see 93% of our guests are very satisfied with our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just spent four very pleasant nights at Casa San Francisco. Close to all the main streets, historical sights and fantastic restaurants. An easy walk to everything. Yet, the hotel is an oasis of calm, excellent service and always friendly and helpful staff.
The young couple - from San Francisco in the US - who run the in-house (bar were also fantastic and we enjoyed their conversation and their easy manner. They also also make a wicked Mohito and word on the street is their Bloody Mary is "the best."
Our room was spacious and comfortable, breakfast included in the fee was very good and the tone set by the hotel made it a lovely sojourn in Granada. Thanks Casa San Fran for your first class attitude and elegance.

Room Tip: Try to request a room with an exterior balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueNorth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We completely lucked out when we were able to book this hotel on short notice during the 1st 2 nights of the very important annual Poets conference. We were impressed by the staff, the room, the solitude, the nice rooftop and the food and beverage run by Shane and his wife, Corrine. Everyone at this hotel, from the owner on down just exceeded our expectation in their desire to make our stay the best it could be. We would happily stay here again and look forward to that opportunity. They are just blocks from the core of the city, but far enough to be out of the fray so it is a very peaceful location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VashonBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The first entrance to this small and intimate hotel made you feel the coziness and friendly atmosphere. It only got better as we spent four nights enjoying our stay. The staff was so friendly and efficient, we felt we were leaving friends when we said goodbye.
The location is perfect with everything you would want to see or do within easy walking distance. It is just a few blocks from the central park with many good restaurants in the area. Casa San Francisco has a cozy bar and tapa restaurant also, which made for a special evening on the roof patio with drinks and tapas brought to us.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a "home away from home" atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room # 2 was larger, I believe, but the rooms across from the pool were also lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a very charming, peaceful hotel close to Parc Central. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The rooms are creatively furnished. The terrace on the roof is lovely. There is a small pool in a pretty courtyard, They serve a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked Casa San Francisco knowing only its reception area and location hoping it would work for six women in Granada on a humanitarian trip. It was the perfect hotel! The superb staff went out of their way to help us. The breakfasts were delicious. The roof top deck for evening cocktails and the convenient bar and tapa restaurant made it possible to stay put after a refreshing dip in the pool. I would recommend it for its great location and a staff ready to serve you.

Room Tip: They only have three rooms with two beds so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#12 of 45 in Granada
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 45 in Granada
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £48 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing