We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, polite and helpful staff”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, polite and helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 February 2009

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our trip to Nicaragua. The staff was exceptionally helpful...finding us transportation and guided tours at discounted rates. The location was perfect, walking distance to the plaza. The hotel itself was beautiful and the rooms were nice and clean.

Best mojitos :)

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steluro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    109
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bosnia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at Casa San Francisco in January. We were only planning on spending 2 nights and were lucky enough to stay 5 nights. The place is lovely, with tons of attention to detail. The staff helped us plan so many of our day trips and gave us insight into the local culture, the food, breakfast, lunch and dinner were outstanding. Beautiful place, charming setting with fountains and the soothing sounds of water, the beds were comfortable, very quiet yet close to everything. I loved this place and plan to come back this year. This was our first trip to Nicaragua and we needed a break from our stressful jobs, this filled the bill. I recommend this place most highly, the prices were very reasonable and the value exceptional. Try it you will like it.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annelee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We have stayed at Casa San Francisco many times and were there on Jan 21st as well. In fact we had a wonderful dinner in the dining room that evening. We stayed at the annex this time but usually request the room above the kitchen. We love the sounds of the birds and find that the complimentary breakfast is perfect. Eggs with rice and beans or fruit with pastry and orange juice. They have other choices for a small fee. $2- $4. The bread is baked from a Frenchman in town and it is divine. The courtyard is just beautiful and the staff is WONDERFUL. Yes...Maria is the best. Often the water is out as well as electricity. This happens all over the city. Yes, there were problems with the internet. We went to the internet cafe on the square. I checked my email and it cost me 40 cents. It runs roughly 2 dollars for an hour. Also the location of the inn is 3 blocks from the center square.

We love it a CSF!

PBS
North Carolina

  • Liked — the small inn feeling...very quaint
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

The ONLY thing good about this B & B was Maria L. at the front desk. I had emailed with her, after I had to place a long distance call for the web site is being worked on. Based on Trip Advisor we booked in. Sadly MANY things prompted us to leave after one night.

ROOM..........given room, # 1, ABOVE the kitchen, which was also close to the street and the NOISE. The large bathroom window did NOT have glass nor a screen, bugs were easily into our room. The television was very small. A small patio where the dirty birds were, plus they tried to bite.... not pleasant. Requesting a different room, we moved father back, yet still on the second floor that being the top one, to room 8. The bathroom, same situation as far as the soap was used by a prior guest, and any soap that may have been new was not wrapped, thus not sanitary. No shampoo. Towels were OLD, and VERY thread-bare, plus they felt like they had been dried on a cloths line and were harsh on the body. Yet the topper was people walking by could look into our bathroom through low window.

FOOD..........ONLY two items to select from on the menu for the included breakfast.the balance to be PAID for. Plus the food is served where the birds are, once again not sanitary. Do not look forward to a meal in the evening......for they may have run out of the food that you'd like.... which is what happened to us. VERY disappointing.

POOL........ better known as a large bath tub.

LOCATION.... so, so. nothing to brag about.

VIEW.............from the roof balcony, was delightful. Now do recall that I said roof, and they only way to get up there is via stairs and you are now walking onto top of a couple of the rooms.... making more NOISE.

PRICE / VALUE.... MANY other places much better in not only location, yet VALUE.

  • Liked — Maria L. front desk
  • Disliked — see review....... many items
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank leila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Casa San Fransisco is a charming, peaceful hotel in an excellent location. All the staff were wonderful, helpful and friendly, and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable, with lots of personal touches, and the restaurant served excellent meals. I would recommend Casa San Fransisco to anyone visiting Granada.

  • Liked — warm welcome, personal touches, great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Casa San Francisco is a lovely hotel in a peaceful and well-located neighborhood of Granada. However, the thing that really makes this hotel great is the staff ... all of them, but particularly Geovanny (extraordinarily knowledgeable, patient, and friendly guide (we had a really great day with him visiting Volcan Mombacho), and responsible for providing us with a tasty breakfast and a big smile at 4 am before we left for an early flight home) and the lady (whose name I sadly forget) who was so incredibly gracious about having to come into the hotel at 4 am to get our passports out of the safe because we forgot to take them out the night before. Thanks to all the staff for a really memorable stay. We'd love to return.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emma094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2009

I stayed in this hotel for my one night in Granada when traveling with friends. The room was clean and well appointed, and the shower was amazing (strong force, hot water). In addition, the courtyard area as well as the lobby of the hotel are beautiful and the staff members were beyond helpful. And finally, breakfast was included and while the menu was simple it was beautifully prepared and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SweetMer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#15 of 43 in Granada
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing