We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Granada, Nicaragua”
Review of Casa San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Francisco
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in Granada, Nicaragua”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

The Hotel Casa San Francisco has it all - clean, tastefully appointed rooms, wonderful bathrooms, flowers everywhere, and the friendliest, most helpful staff you will find anywhere. perfectly fresh breakfast is included in the cost of the room. The manager Melissa and the front desk receptionists Maria and Claudia could not have been more hospitable and friendly. If the main hotel is full, there is an annex around the corner with equally comfortable rooms and an even bigger swimming pool (a great way to end a hot day in Granada).

Inside the hotel is a restaurant called Las Chocoyas. You will meet the chef and his wife. The food is superb, with dinner specials starting at around $8. What's also nice about eating there is that you get to see and talk to other guests and diners, and generally be a part of the scene. I won't look for an alternative when I am next in Granada.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    108
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
282
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We arrived after dark and were taken down a dark street to their annex. We had requested to stay there. Since the hotel is a little off the beaten path the annex really was. We were the only guests there so it was great we had our own pool. The room we were given didn't have a closet, armoire or any way to hang anything. There was a closet, but it was crammed full and didn't have a rod or hangers. I hung my blouse, that I wanted to wear on the plane, on the curtain rod. We didn't have any tp so we had to break into another room in the dark. The towels were stiff, off color, and the ends were torn and frayed The deal breaker was when our room flooded. The water was left on in the laundry room next door. I turned off the water, picked up my wet luggage and left in a cab, forgeting some things in the bathroom.
The staff really tried to be helpful and were friendly, but the cleaning staff and kitchen staff need to work on their performance. Also the owners need to "dejunk" the place. There are things everywhere. Some of which are very interesting, but there is too much. We had expected this hotel to be similar to the LaPerla in Leon. Not even close. Next time we wil stay at the Plaza Colon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We really wanted to love this place. We were so excited to visit Granada, which we had heard great things about. The staff were friendly and I appreciated the email communication and offers to assist with transportation or activity recommendations ahead of time. I had done obsessive trip advisor research and have generally loved everywhere we've gone. We ended up choosing Casa San Francisco on the personal recommendation of someone. Unfortunately it wasn't the best fit.

The location is decent, an easy walk to lots of activities. The hotel itself has a pretty courtyard dense with gardens. We only saw one of the parrots which was free roaming, but that was fun for the kids. And we did enjoy the small pool and roof patio.

The room, however, was pretty tough. Small and dark by any standards, as a family of four they had to squeeze in two twin beds for us in addition to the double and there was barely room to move around. Our bed was located immediately under the temperamental A/C, which was needed with the high heat. So my husband froze under the direct fan all night and the rest of us roasted.

From the web site, I expected fun decor. They did have a cute lamp or two but one we never figured out how to turn on and the other was purely decorative with hanging wires. We barely used the tiny bathroom. Everyone kept telling us wireless internet should work everywhere but it only worked off and on in one corner of our room, and some common areas. I was supposed to be working remotely during our stay but ended up having to take time off for those days.

The details were also missing. There was a sign not to use the water, but no bottled water in the room. We eventually found a water dispenser by the pool area to fill our own containers with. The dinner there was *delicious*, though very slow. Also, no one told us ahead of time the restaurant had just separated ownership from the hotel and only accepted cash, which we did not have enough of (you can use american dollars freely in Nicaragua, but they can't accept any with the tiniest of damage. Our twenty had a slight tear and was worthless. Who knew! ). Thankfully I managed to convince them to wait until the next day for the last $20, I wasn't going out in the dark with sleepy crashing kids to find an ATM. Also, the two for one happy hour promotion literally meant we were each served two drinks (without asking if that is what we wanted). After a hot, long and exhausting day and an ongoing wait for any food, I couldn't look at a second margarita without feeling ill. Our breakfast was just OK, my small portion of rice and beans crunched and the toast took 20 minutes to come out and was small, burnt pieces. The kids wouldn't eat a thing.

Also, the room is supposed to have a security closet but the key we were given didn't work. The desk staff locked our computers and stuff up in a main closet but getting it in and out over and over as we came and went was an inconvenience. The next morning I asked a manager about it, and it turned out the right key was just on the other set. Don't know why no one thought to look at that the day before. It was just the little things like this that added up to make us feel out of sorts or confused most of the time we were there.

Overall, I think they should have referred us elsewhere or warned us that the rooms weren't really set up to accommodate the four of us (maybe they did and I missed it?). We also stayed at the San Simian (owned by the same people), which was a tight fit but we had been warned ahead of time and were ready for it. That place was a delight. With some small attention to detail I think this place could go from OK to something special. Again, the people were really nice and the building is pretty. Sounds like they might be going through some change so maybe it was just a time of transition.

We loved Granada, we thoroughly enjoyed the Isletas Tour and also a carriage ride with historical tour of the city. In both cases, we got better prices than quoted by the hotel by just walking up to the guys running it. Both were around $25 for all four of us for over an hour. Seems like there are some fantastic restaurants there as well. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkey_family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

At first blush, Casa San Francisco looks like a charming and quaint hotel - it is a beautiful place with lush landscaping and nice indoor/outdoor dining.

When I had asked for a triple room, they said they'd just need to bring in a bed. Sure, that's fine. What I didn't realize was that the room was small to begin with, so to add another bed made for some tight quarters. The decor in the room looked a bit old. The bathroom was very small and we had a problem with the toilet working properly.

The food was good at breakfast, however the service was very slow - we felt like we were forgotten.

While we didn't go in the pool, I must say the pool was the tiniest one I had ever seen. It did look refreshing, though.

Overall, it's a decent place to stay for the value. The hotel is a couple of blocks away from the city center so it's a good locale.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

It was an almost perfect stay at Casa SanFransico, Granada. The perfect stay would have included an experience in the kitchen with Octavio and Alma, exploring how they come up with those wonderful flavors in their dishes. Next stay! Many of the helpful and trustworthy staff were familiar from our last trip. The small hotel seems full with the most interesting of people, coming and going. It is centrally located in the old part of town, close to most everything I expected to find in Granada, and more; the Pure Health and Fitness Center with their personal trainers, judo program and more, civic and cultural centers, restaurants, a pedestrian only street, Miguel the shiatsu masssuse. All within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

As a hotel owner in Nicaraua, I was very pleased with this small and quiet hotel . The rooms were quiet , clean ...sitting areas around the hotel...a bonus was an excellent dinner on the roof patio. Very attentive waiter and away of the streets, vendors, horses, etc. A very good value for th price. I would highly recommend forthe business traveler, couples or families which may enjoy the small pool.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Very pleased with a large room,with a great shower that was just off of the sparkling pool.The breakfast's had a varied menu and staffed by a competent crew. The front desk took wake up calls at any hour,and was very eager to help with all requests.The location for a walking tourist is very good.I hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifebrandbartletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#4 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.1 mi away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 44 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Francisco

Property: Casa San Francisco
Address: Calle Corral # 207, Granada, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
#6 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#7 Family Hotel in Granada
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa San Francisco is a small charming boutique hotel located in the centre of the colonial city of Granada, in Nicaragua. Our guests enjoy not only the different atmosphere of each 9 fully equiped rooms (A/C, hot water, TV and cable) but also the delicious international cuisine of our restaurant Bocadillos, a tapas restaurant and bar, as well as the refreshing swimming-pool and the worthy views from our roof-top terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa San Francisco Granada
Casa San Francisco Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing