We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah Alhambra”
Review of Hotel Alhambra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alhambra
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Granada
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ah Alhambra”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I had never been to Nicaragua before, and after staying at Hotel Alhambra and experiencing Granada I so want to go back and see more. The hotel is beautiful. It has been restored and maintained to perfection. The staff are friendly and helpful. It is centrally located on Central Park so you can basically walk to anything that you might want to see in the city. The pool is located inside within a garden area and at night the staff light beautiful candles everywhere to great you when come in. This is a beautiful gem in one of the oldest cities in Central America. If this was in New York, Chicago, Toronto or Montreal it would be over $250 a night, but for less than $100 a night, it ranks as one of the nicest places I have stayed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinasimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    80
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
58
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Really enjoyed staying in the Alhambra, with its beautifully restored building. Our room was comfortable and large, overlooking an internal garden and very quiet. The staff were very efficient and helpful with any requests. The lobby area is attractive with a small internal swimming pool and seating areas. The hotel has a generator, so although there was a power cut one evening, we still had lighting and TV in our room.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the central courtyard garden, as it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I had a nice overall experience here. However, I would recommend that you don't talk the guy that hangs out front and around the lobby who speaks close to perfect English. If you sense cheesey car salesman guy, that's him. He'll chat you up in the form of hospitality, but he's always angling a way to get money out of you. Rickey/Ricardo) is his name. He's a snake.

Besides him, the hotel is wonderful and nicely priced for such a wonderful location right on the plaza.

Room Tip: Get a room with a safe....And USE IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rampi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The Hotel Alhambra is a lovely property right on the Central Square of Granada. From the lovely terrace one has a perfect view of the street life of the square. Rooms are have all modern amenities, yet keeps the touches of the old world. The inner courtyard is lovely with antiques galore. The one disadvantage is the pool that has seen better days. The peeling paint on the pool floor was a bit of a turnoff. The restaurant's only positive is the view sitting on the terrace. I say go down to restaurant district on the other side of the square for great eats.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a two room, two bath room that is extremely quiet. Many want the views of the square, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLaurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

From the moment we walked in, I knew that I would enjoy my stay here. It was lovely. The room was fantastic, larger than most (319). The location couldn't be better, located right on the plaza. A quick walk around town.

I would stay here (and I am going back next year.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabird713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A great value hotel with the best location in Granada. You can't get more central. Very clean rooms, if you are lucky you might get a juliet balcony too. The common areas are wonderful, nicely kept and a small pool at the back of thre common areas. The breakfast was at the top end of the price range for Granada, but was of high standard. But if you ask for a second coffee you will be charged for it, no free refills. Overall a fabulous bargain for the location and a cool retreat from the heat outside. Nice seating areas outside (covered walkway) or semi-outside (part of the hotel, but all open - hard to explain!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Other than not enough reading light,,wonderful! Breakfast on the terrace is wonderful....ditto for cocktails, with plenty of optione for drinks and snacks.!

Room Tip: First floor suites off garden are best for convenience and access to lobby and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraAnnWordmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#14 of 43 in Granada
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Mar Dulce
Hotel La Mar Dulce
#33 of 43 in Granada
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alhambra

Property: Hotel Alhambra
Address: Costado oeste del parque central | West side of central park, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alhambra 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing